We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Madrid Este
Ranked #89 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great Internet through out the hotel
Fitness center has basic cardio and weight machines but open 24 x 7 (on request from the front desk)
About 15 mins car ride from the downtown
Restaurant is closed on Saturday night
Breakfast bar has a good variety
The front desk is very welcoming and helpful
Easy access from the airport
Very good deal for the price charged

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 732 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very nice hotel at a more than reasonable price. Only con is that it takes 40 mins to get to Puerta del Sol if you take the underground and bus. Nevertheless, for the quality you get and price you pay is more than worth it.
Does not have a great breakfast but still offers good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matias82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Very nice hotel as long as you do not want to eat.Food in bar edible but very expensive for what you get.Resturant not open on Saturday and food available in the bar very limited and would not bother again sad to say a real let down for an otherwise very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Travelling to the Hotel:
A little out of town, but if you don't mind a walk to the tube and you have a tube map with you, then you will be fine! Just make a note of the END station so you know you are travelling in the right direction. Travelling from the airport / aeropuerto on the pink line travel to mar de cristal on the dark red/burgandy line travel to avenida de america, yellow line travel to pueblo nuevo, green line to ciudad lineal, get off at this station, it is the one we found easier and exit on the left stairs out of the metro,you will come up next to the local shopping centre (this will be on your right) just keep walking in a straight line after you exit the metro and cross the road when you can, you will pass local shops and Lidl and a local supermarket, a car garage etc etc and when you reach the petrol station on a junction you have found the road you need, turn left and keep walking down until you found the hotel.
The Hotel:
This hotel was lovely, very modern and clean. It only has a lift, we couldn't find any stair access, not that we looked too hard though. The staff spoke excellent english and where very helpful. Although a little warm in the room our stay was pleasent. The bed was MASSIVE!!! The bathroom was big and the shower was brilliant. Breakfast was a little strange to us, cold meats and cereal and even sweets where laid out but with spanish and english labels. The food was fresh and gorgeous! Times for eating where better than anywhere I we have stayed previous, there is no rush to get up early incase you miss it!
The Area:
It is the industrial section and there are a lot of buildings, factories and business blocks around, but at weekends it is deserted! There is a Lidl and another supermarket on the walk to and from the hotel so you can grab any other food or drink items you want.
We really enjoyed our stay and our trip to Mardid and even though our stay was with our Tesco vouchers and we didn't have much say in the hotel choice, we thought it was an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lou t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This hotel is located in a residential area about 10 min metro ride to downtown. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the metro station. Rooms are modern and clean a bit on the small side but that's standard to European rooms. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We visit this Barcelo hotel during the weekend (Fri-Mon), using Tesco voucher so it was free for us. The front staff at the hotel was welcoming, spoke good English and provided us with loads of information when asked. The room itself was clean and comfortable with big, massaging shower head, was kind of plus point.

The area itself is practically dead during the weekend. It is a short, decent walk to the metro station though. Took about 15 minutes for us (and if feeling lazy, you can catch a bus to and from the Metro). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we think it was quite expensive (13 Euro!) but we ate at Jamaica cafe (on the way to the metro) which was cheap and cheerful. (It closed on Sunday though).

We had lunch and dinner in central Madrid everyday.

The best way to and from the airport is via bus, (I can't remember exactly which number to take, I think it is 105 then change to 101 or 200, you can ask the hotel front for exact info).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaruprapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was a lovely hotel is a quiet suburb of Madrid. This hotel is not in the centre of Madrid but we actually liked the location. It was about a ten-fifteen minute walk to the underground which took about 15-20mins to the centre of Madrid. Each jouney was only 1 euro so it was good value. There is supermarkets and a shopping centre on the walk to the underground station too. At the weekend it's very quiet as its surrounded by offices but that was nice - you could escape from hustle and bustle. Coming home from the centre of Madrid at night it cost about 15euros in a taxi. Rooms were big and spacious with good amenities. We didn't have the breakfast here so can't comment on that. I have previously stayed in the centre of Madrid so can compare the two. This hotel you get a bigger,higher standard of room than in the centre and if you don’t mind the 15 minute walk to underground each way then this is a good value option for a weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lightyearz_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#115 of 440 in Madrid
724 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#107 of 440 in Madrid
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#130 of 440 in Madrid
866 reviews
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#259 of 440 in Madrid
484 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Madrid Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Madrid Este

Address: Calle Julian Camarillo 19-21, 28037 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Torre Arias)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#67 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#72 Family Hotel in Madrid
#79 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#91 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $66 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Madrid Este 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Madrid Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Torre Arias Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Torre Arias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing