We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“two very nice nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro
Ranked #326 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“two very nice nights”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just a quick note:

We had a very relaxing and pleasant stay at Abalu. Beatriz from the desk was great and really looked after us! The location was just right.

Muy rapido...

Todo fue buenisimo. Beatriz, quien trabaja en la recepcion, era super amable! Esta localizado perfectamente. Gracias!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinjanIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    126
    65
    41
    58
See reviews for
38
229
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived at 11.30pm on Thursday night. On entering the hotel, we were quite impressed. Check in was simple and straight forward. We were shown to a lift to get to our apartment, that's where our impression changed. The lift was tiny and dirty. We could barely fit the two of us and our hand luggage in. The room seemed ok - on first look! It was obviously a self catering room and the small seating area was visible with a curtain over the galley style kitchen. The bathroom was the size of a shoe box. I had to sit sideways on the toilet to fit in and I have no idea how my husband was going to fit in the shower (he's under 6 foot so that is saying something). We were greeted with two single beds and enough walking space around the bed to get to the other side.

As this trip was a surprise for my 30th birthday from my husband and he had paid quite a bit for the room (he was swayed to go for this hotel over others due to the misleading photos on their website), I asked for our room to be swapped. This was done with no hassle what so ever and we were transferred to an apartment around the corner. We were assured that this would not cost anymore as it was the same price as the room we had paid for… The new room had a living room/kitchen area, a separate bed and a Jacuzzi! So how that can be the same price as the shoe box we were first given, I’m not sure. Anyway, the new room was better apart from the toilet. This was still tiny with not much room to get in and out the sliding door but the French doors from the bedroom made it a little bit easier. There was also a projector screen in the bedroom but this cost an extra 10 euros a day to get the remote control!

We also had breakfast included in our deal. This was the worst breakfast I have ever seen and we only had it the first day we were there. On walking over to the main hotel, we entered the Beauty Bar to be given a small glass of orange juice and offered one of the items from a small list. We chose a croissant (thinking we would be given more than one item) and when they came they were burnt and we couldn’t eat them. This was very disappointing as I was expecting a little bit more to fill up on for my day of sightseeing. We didn’t have breakfast there again despite it being free. I would suggest saving your money.

All in all, the new room we stayed in was clean and served its purpose for our short stay in Madrid. I would consider staying here again if I it wasn’t so overpriced (for the basic room) and I certainly wouldn’t waste 6/8 euros a day on the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbax1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved this hotel, really modern, cosy rooms with hi tech showers... The location is great, with a 5 minute walk to grand via which connects you to all the sites in madrid. There is a great cafe on the ground floor for guests which does low cost breakfasts. Rooms are modern and clean, the hotel has really friendly staff. The bars and cafes within a five minute walk are awesome.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I found probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Fantastic matress & pillow, the design is superb, after staying at this hotel you will lack of something in the rest, soul, this place has been made with real attention to details and design, luxurious of course but with human touch.

Well just praying for finding another one similar to this one in the rest of our holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in a Superior room which netted us an apartment ACROSS THE STREET from the hotel. While at first we were put off being across the street, the apartment itself was FANTASTIC. From great balconies to a great jacuzzi and even having two bedrooms, this was a great space. The room was 212. It was WAY more space than any couple would need and could sleep 3 couples without any crowding. The only downside of the stay was the front desk service wasn't too helpful for us. Being that we were in a separate building, we only needed them twice: check in and check out and neither time was memorable. They weren't very accommodating during check in and the night rep gave us misleading information about taxis for an early checkout. Other than that, we'd stay again - and definitely in the apartment side!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior! Get an apartment! They come with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaughterofLDTC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Abalu in Madrid on two separate occasions. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The service was magnificent. Antonio & Beatriz helped us with everything from where to catch the city's tour busses and metro to excellent restaurants within walking distance to booking a room in Segovia before we continued to the northern coast. We give this beautiful place our highest recommendation! (Didn't rate the breakfast or spa high or low because we didn't use them.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked this hotel looking for a unique stay on our Madrid stopover. The check in, location and rooms where all good. The stay only turned bad when around 1am we heard the neighbours come home and then start talking. They followed this up with another hour of "intermate time", then finally at 3am they continued talking and laughing. None of this is a problem to me as they can do whatever they want in thier room, the fact that it kept us awake and we heard everysingle detail was not good. Ensure you to not get Room 109. Things turned very bad in the morning when we went to check out; 1, breakfast doesn't start till 9:30am! 2, the receptionist started dry-reaching during the check out process and then before they got to swipe my card, ran out from behind the desk and ran into the little ajoining cafe where they vomitted all over the floor and continued to vomit in the kitchen there. Once he returned to swap my card my partner joined me in the lobby and we left the hotel as he came back around to the cafe to clean up his mess. In one word the last couple of hours of our stay can be described as a "JOKE". Think again before booking here.

Room Tip: Don't choose 109. Ensure your room is soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendoindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#80 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#139 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#99 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#87 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#86 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro

Property: Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing