We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bravo!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro
Ranked #323 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bravo!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I found probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Fantastic matress & pillow, the design is superb, after staying at this hotel you will lack of something in the rest, soul, this place has been made with real attention to details and design, luxurious of course but with human touch.

Well just praying for finding another one similar to this one in the rest of our holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    125
    64
    41
    58
See reviews for
38
227
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in a Superior room which netted us an apartment ACROSS THE STREET from the hotel. While at first we were put off being across the street, the apartment itself was FANTASTIC. From great balconies to a great jacuzzi and even having two bedrooms, this was a great space. The room was 212. It was WAY more space than any couple would need and could sleep 3 couples without any crowding. The only downside of the stay was the front desk service wasn't too helpful for us. Being that we were in a separate building, we only needed them twice: check in and check out and neither time was memorable. They weren't very accommodating during check in and the night rep gave us misleading information about taxis for an early checkout. Other than that, we'd stay again - and definitely in the apartment side!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior! Get an apartment! They come with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaughterofLDTC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Abalu in Madrid on two separate occasions. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The service was magnificent. Antonio & Beatriz helped us with everything from where to catch the city's tour busses and metro to excellent restaurants within walking distance to booking a room in Segovia before we continued to the northern coast. We give this beautiful place our highest recommendation! (Didn't rate the breakfast or spa high or low because we didn't use them.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked this hotel looking for a unique stay on our Madrid stopover. The check in, location and rooms where all good. The stay only turned bad when around 1am we heard the neighbours come home and then start talking. They followed this up with another hour of "intermate time", then finally at 3am they continued talking and laughing. None of this is a problem to me as they can do whatever they want in thier room, the fact that it kept us awake and we heard everysingle detail was not good. Ensure you to not get Room 109. Things turned very bad in the morning when we went to check out; 1, breakfast doesn't start till 9:30am! 2, the receptionist started dry-reaching during the check out process and then before they got to swipe my card, ran out from behind the desk and ran into the little ajoining cafe where they vomitted all over the floor and continued to vomit in the kitchen there. Once he returned to swap my card my partner joined me in the lobby and we left the hotel as he came back around to the cafe to clean up his mess. In one word the last couple of hours of our stay can be described as a "JOKE". Think again before booking here.

Room Tip: Don't choose 109. Ensure your room is soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendoindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments/suites at this hotel and I couldn't have more positive words about it. The entire stay was positive and our favourite stay on our 3 week trip.

Location: This hotel is conveniently located and close to good nightlife, the metro (for easy transportation), minutes from Gran Via, and it's so lively at night. Some would say it's loud but I never found it obnoxious because if I'm in Madrid, I'm there to have a good time. Besides, once you closed those shutters, there was no sound/no light and it was phenomenal.

Suite: The interior decorations are gorgeous and so cute. The kitchen is perfect to use and comes with all the utensils already needed. The bathroom was very nice. The beds were so comfortable. For the time we spent in our apartment, it was perfect for what we needed.

Staff: The staff was incredible. Beatriz, Antonio, all of them were so helpful with our questions and helping us with anything we needed. If we called for something, we would have it in a moment's notice. If we needed directions, never failed to help. The amazing staff made this hotel even better than it was. Even offered us great advice about wifi. :)

I think the only downfall would be when we were on the balcony something was leaking from above (a/c?) but besides that, I loved this hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend it to everyone. Love, love, love this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnbacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a nice boutique hotel close to many indie shops/bars and about 5 mins walk from Gran Via. Though the rooms are a little on the small side, the hotel makes up for this with it's friendly staff and charming interior. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estepona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

It's the position in Madrid that makes this hotel really worthwhile. We stayed in one of the apartments and it was fine, clean, you had all you needed and reasonably priced. Service was quite good.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank miboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#89 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#102 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#84 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro

Property: Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing