We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel but don't order room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Puerta America
Ranked #113 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

On arrival the room we chose from the 'menu' wasn't available so we were invited to have a drink in the bar. The bar staff were excellent, great sense of humour and really made us feel at home. The bonus was that drinks are still poured free style so an extremely healthy measure was had. We visited the bar a few times during our stay and on the whole the staff were excellent and the hotel should be very proud of them.

We chose a room on the 8th floor, a Scottish designer, which was entirely white with curves, straight lines and a large picture window in front of the bed to gaze out of at the captivating landscape. It's like being on a space ship and my tip is to ask for a room on the south side of the building if you want to see the sunset.

We ate in the restaurant once and found the service to be first class. The Maitre made sure we felt special as we were seated, the waitress looked after our every need and the somellier was so enthusiastic about wine, showing an indepth knowledge with his recommendations first class. The food was mostly top notch although the last two courses differed from the menu and one contained my most hated ingedient - passion fruit, yuk! That said it was an excellent meal and the other seven courses were delicious.

After a long day sight seeing we decided to order room service and that was an experience! We began the conversation in English and then strangely the lady at the other end started speaking to me in French when I gave my surname - now I know it's French for bath but that doesn't mean I'm French! The food when it came 30/40 minutes later was delivered on a lovely table with all dishes covered by their respective silver domes and we were excited to uncover our treasures. How disappointed were we - the food was cold, tastless and brown. This was the only disappointment of the stay but was wholey unacceptable for a 5 star establishment.

We were only up in time for breakfast once but it was well worth the cost - a huge selction of anything you could wish at breakfas and as much as you want to enjoy. The rooms and indeed the hotel are spotlessly clean. We never tried the spa.

Room Tip: Choose a room from the 7th floor upwards on the south side of the building to see the sunset but bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Other reviewers have covered of quirky and unique design of the the rooms and halls in the hotel, and it is worth staying here for at least one night to experience this. We stayed for 3 nights on a fabulous deal via a secret hotel bidding site (do your homework!) and sadly the downside in the functionality of the room design were most evident.

Staff were very helpful and courteous and the hotel was very clean, with other positives, mentioned in other reviews, but here's a few "functional" issues we encountered;

1. There's a lot of residual noise from other guests, even if they aren't being noise. The walls, especially in the bathroom area must be paper thin, as we even heard the guests using the bathroom facilities ....

2. Bring a boat to navigate around the bathroom if you plan to take a shower - the seals on the shower door were non-existent and called for using up floor towels each time a shower was taken. As enough towels replacement weren't provided by maid service each day, this was double hassle.

3. There are electric shutters on the main windows in each room and these are very noisy. If the guests in the next room decided to open their shutters at 6am, then that was your early alarm call.

4. A bed with a floating headboard, and hence a huge gap below it, is not conducive to a good nights sleep, especially when there nothing to stop the pillows sliding below it onto the floor.

5. The standard wifi is web-only access and very slow. No emails via Outlook or any email program. If you need full internet access, eg for business, you need to pay for it (for wifi), or ask for a wired connection (which is free). Take an ethernet cable with you!

6. The table/desk in the room is the size of a decent tray. Hardly big enough for a laptop plus A4 pad.

Location was a bit out of town, but accessible OK by nearby Metro station.

We would recommend staying one night to experience it, if you get a good deal.

Room Tip: Take an ethernet cable with you and ask for full internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antrimman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this as a surprise for my partner's 30th birthday as he's an architect and the fact so many architects had an input on this was appealing. Only 20euros from the airport in a taxi. Staff were polite but not friendly, my previous email of it being a special occasion was also ignored.

The hotel room was beautiful - we stayed on floor 2 the Norman Foster floor and was able to choose the room from photos on an ipad - a great idea. The room was spacious with an open shower - fantastic design for a weekend but missing some of the things you'd be used to in a hotel - bath robes, towel holders, shower gel holders in the shower and little privacy for the loo.

Super high end though and a great base with tube stop really close by. Extremely quiet rooms. Fantastic breakfast - probably the best I've had anywhere in Europe.

Room Tip: I'd go for a room high up for the view, but each floor has it's own good points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 201,011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Puerta America, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear

We're glad you have chose us for such a special day!

Our hotel offers a wide range of amenities to make your stay even more special, please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department and they will be more than happy to inform you about all the possibilities to upgrade your stay.

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Compare to the usual hotel set up, this hotel owns it's strong characteristic in term of their design concept. However, there's no hotel transfer to or from airport provided they mentioned there was part of the service. So, do bear in mind ..

Design is nice, however not very practical. The acoustic control is really bad in the hotel so if you are light sleeper make sure you bring urself an ear plug especially during the weekend !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeamMie_Kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria K, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Puerta America, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear BeamMie_Kerr,

First of all, we would like to thank your for posting your experience during your stay in our Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our design!

Since we do not offer a transfer service, we would like to ask you, if it is possible to inform us in which web page the information was provided, in order to solve the mistake (rrpp.puertamerica@hoteles-silken.com)

We hope to welcome you back very soon!


Valeria Knop
PR & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you want to enjoy an hotel with its unique design both interior and exterior. Myself with my wife and 2 kids had a good break in this hotel and we wanted to enjoy the stay rather than the city life.

Although its little out of city, very convenient with transportation and restaurants around.

No words to explain the interiors or design of this unique hotel. check it out at the website.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashmath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Did stay at this hotel a weekend. Was on the 10th floor in a Zen room. Had a nice view of the northern side of the city and mountains. The room was well equiped and clean. Maybe the delicate decoration, although good design and quality, seemed a little tired. Hotel is very well located on an edge of the city as you enter the town from the airport and with access to the underground close by and a bus station. No opinion on penthouse club or restaurants as did not use it. Wpuld use this hotel on a next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrid-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice hotel although a bit out of the way of the centre, although its very well serviced by the metro. We were given a choice of rooms and the one we chose on the seventh floor was very nice and modern but could not even get a wifi connection.
The Reception staff are extremely helpful & knowledgable as were all other staff we came into contact with.
Special mention to Christian from the Marmo Bar who was very enthusiastic and knowledgable about how drink should be served and excels at "Sangria".

Rooms were spotless as was all of hotel.
Came in late after football and all staff were more than helpful in organising food for us in the Lagrimas Negras restaurant and it was lovely.

Neil & Pam

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#126 of 440 in Madrid
2,207 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#91 of 440 in Madrid
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Puerta de Madrid
#178 of 440 in Madrid
759 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
610 reviews
Hesperia Madrid
#17 of 440 in Madrid
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Puerta America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta America

Address: Avenida America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Madrid
#76 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#81 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#133 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $115 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Puerta America 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silken Puerta America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta America Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing