We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there: mediocre hotel and poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palace Alcala
Ranked #112 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights in this hotel in Madrid this week. I chose this hotel as it was ideally located in the heart of Madrid and right next to a tube station.
The first receptionist was a nice guy, he made us fill-in a lot of papers with our names and address during the check-in, which is weird as we made the reservation via their webiste and had to provide the same information... the room was just OK. The typical old hotel that has been quickly renovated by adding layers of painting on top of the old ones. As a result you get this weirdly furnished and decorated rooms that could seem quirky at first sight but that never really meet your expectations. There was a nasty smell in the corridors, probably due to the products they use to clean the carpets.
The icing on the cake was the receptionists we had on the last day. These 2 women were hasty, rude, and so uninterested. They talked to me like if I was a 5 year old that was getting on their nerves whereas I was only there to make my check-out and hand back my room keys. When I asked for a taxi, with the same impolite tone, they told me to get on in the street... my wife and I had 4 suitcases and wouldn't mind a bit of help or a bit of customer service... just forget about this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptitjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 833 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent location in the center. Very nice and helpful front desk staff. Laptop in a room is a big advantage. An earlier request was fulfilled nice room, I got a room with a balcony, which in comparison with others is a big advantage. At the end of advantages. The room was very small. I do not know how to meet the standard of 4 stars. The room was dirty, smelly cigarettes curtains, cobwebs. Window frame covered with black dirt. Price quite high, definitely worth to live farther from the city center for less money, in much better conditions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysztof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights 23-26 August. check in went really smooth, pleasant friendly helpful staff. bit disappointed with the room firstly only on the 4th floor (no higher floors available that day) which is a smoking floor and we don't smoke! secondly no view out of window so had to go onto the small balcony to see anything! room ok, bed really comfy, just a wardrobe to put things in, no draws to put anything in, and no mirror in room! bathroom wow that was modern, spacious and clean with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer! but has the only mirror so if 2 people are getting ready and one is using the bathroom the other has to wait!!!!! on the plus side there is a lap top in the room for you to use free of charge and also there is free wi-fi in the hotel! although busy outside day and night once you close the balcony doors you don't hear any noise. continental breakfast was included in our room rate and had plenty to choose from although the breakfast room could do with a lick of paint in places i.e. the steps and the chipped plates could be removed also light shades looked grubby!!! The hotel itself is in a fab location with plenty of sights within walking distance. do i recommend this hotel yes for location, as for rooms don't expect to much (obviously can only judge on our room) but then your not in Madrid to spend a lot of time in your room!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for recommending our hotel. Hope see you again in one of ours hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great Communication when air conditioner went out they were very prompt at getting us in another near by hotel of equal or better value

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review of HT. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel earlier this year. I've had the opportunity to travel around the world and stay at many hotels. This hotel really fits in the category of "two ends of the spectrum." On one hand the hotel is located in a great location in close proximity to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor, as well as many other great tourist streets and buildings nearby. On the other hand, the hotel does not meet the expectations of a "4-star" hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful and very nice. Raquel, in particular, was always smiling and very knowledgeable, and was definitely the most professional staff member I encountered at the hotel. She worked above and beyond what you would expect from the front desk, but really they are far overworked, and the hotel doesn´t support their hard work. The manager at the front desk was rude and unpolite, and I question her credentials and education to be in the position she is in. However, despite all Raquel's effort to give us the best experience at the hotel, sadly the hotel itself does not meet up to the expectations of a hotel that is "4-stars." I have a hard time believing this hotel is a 4-star hotel, because management decisions are extremely poor, some of the rooms are extremely small, and the maintenance and upkeep of the hotel is in poor condition (the showers were plugged, the heater didn´t work, the internet hardly ever works, and the beds are super uncomfortable). My first room was so small that I mistaked it for a maintenance closet. Thankfully, Raquel was wonderful and my room changed! Note there is no fitness area, the elevators are extremely small, and there is no bell-boy to help you carry your luggage up the stairs. Also, be prepared for an extremely expensive breakfast. It's much wiser for you to go outside the hotel, around the corner or across the street for breakfast for half the price. It's puzzling that a hotel that claims it is a 4-star hotel can have as many problems as this one does. I would come to expect some of these deficiencies from a 3-star hotel. Although the front desk staff and the location are great, the price you are paying to stay at this hotel is extremely high for the quality of this hotel. It's not a high tech hotel, as their name suggests. Don't be fooled by the beautiful lobby...the rest of the hotel does not meet these same standards. I would recommend this hotel only if you are coming to Madrid for a few days, with very little luggage. However, if you plan to stay more than 2 days, there's other great hotels in the same location for the city, with comparable prices for a better value for your dollar.

Room Tip: Hope you have Raquel at the front desk to help you. Otherwise, if you have to deal with their manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear guest:

First of all, thank you for your comment and your kind words to our reception department, because they always try their best to make your stay the best. On the other hand, we regret not having met your expectations. We promise to work on your comment to improve our services. Finally, thank you to recommend us for future stays. We hope to see you again in order to show the improvements that we will make.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights.
The hotel has several advantages:
1. Great location! Walking sistance from Puerto-del-sol square.
2. Underground (Metro) station near the hotel.
3. It's a high-tech hotel. There's a laptop in every room, two in the lobby and all the hotel has free Wi-Fi.
4. Good, clean rooms for those who reserve 2 beds in the rood. There are family rooms as well.
5. Good breakfast, nice view from the restaurant.
6. Free hot&cold drinks in the lobby between 10:00-20:00.
7. A free safe in every room, activated by using a credit card.
6. Starbucks+ Faborit in front of the hotel.
7. Great, helpful staff.

Some points to take into account:
1. Rooms with matrimonial beds are so small that it's impossible for a couple to get along in them.
2. There is a smoking floor. We don't smoke yet got a room in this floor. You should ask specifically not to be at the 4th floor if you don't smoke!
3. There is nowhere to put the suitcases on... we had to put them on the floor, which was highly inconvenient.
3. Breakfast is served till 10:30. We came late the first day, at about 9:45, there were no eggs anymore and it appears they order a certain amount and when it finishes, that's it.

overall, it's a great value for the money... enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms with matrimonial (one double) bed are really tiny and not suitable for a couple. We asked to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0niCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear guest:
Thank you very much for your comment and for the confidence placed in High Tech for your stay in Madrid. As you point out our hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Madrid. We note the disadvantages of your stay to future improvements.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#124 of 441 in Madrid
3,574 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#109 of 441 in Madrid
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace President Castellana
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Alcala

Address: Calle Virgen de los Peligros 2 | (Esquina con Alcala, 23), 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Alcala Torre)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $104 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Alcala 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Petit Palace Alcala!! The hotel is situated it the heart of the city centre, in the well known "Alcala" street, right next to the famous "Puerta del Sol" in the historic and monumental district of the city. The outstanding building is a replica of a well known sky scraper found in Chicago and has a total of 12 floors, allowing privileged views of Madrid from the top 5 floors. All of the 60 modern rooms are equipped with the latest technological innovations; like hydro-massage showers, free Wifi Premium connection. Free use of Ipad (under request) With a complete renovation in 2008, the hotel is proud to offer comfortable accommodation with modern, designer furniture and decoration. Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants and shopping and possibilities to reserve local excursions. Double, triple or quadruple, with views of the city or interior - don't hesitate to contact us with your special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Palace Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing