We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Hotel Victoria 4

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria 4
Ranked #214 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my prospective Spanish boyfriend. I myself am finnish. The room was bearable, but very odd t-shaped with around 2-3 m2 of space so shallow you can't use even for sitting, with a window so high up you couldn't look out, nor open or close it without climbing up a chair. Had I travelled alone I would have changed the room, but being with someone i didnt yet know that well didn't want to take a risk of starting a scene if it came to that. Anyway the personnel seemed very friendly so i don't think that would have happened. Although I speak Spanish and have witnessed it makes some difference in attitudes.
Can't understand some people's remarks on adequate breakfast! I don't think so! Only one coffeemat (mind you, the coffee is from a machine and u certainly can tell that!) Working with one sort of coffee. No espresso to add a little power to the plain and watery drink. I would settle for churros or croissants with god coffee, instead there was bread and tomato-spread, which is quite alright just not what i desire in the mornings. Too garlicy to have first thing in the morning. Some fruit were offered, they seemed to have had better days. So I didn't repeat the experience but decided to eat elsewhere if i wanted breakfast. Plenty of options for that.
Had no issues with the wifi i remember, and the room was clean enough, but by no means spotless. The sink's desing is idiotic, it's impossible to wash your face or teeth without a mess, leaving water all over the sink. I hated it! And the fact there's no place for your toiletries let alone makeup. It'll all get wet in a jiffy. The shower was ok. I think we did have shower caps, so the cleaning lady probably just forgot them from the other room, whose review I read.
There was no don't disturb-sign. We would have needed one. But then again, we weren't disturbed, but attentive cleaners were on the lookout.
Safe worked fine and i appreciate the fact there is one.
Everyone's praising the location. I don't see the use os that information said a 100 times in TripAdvisor, since you see that one on the map!
All in all, I'm going to Madrid again in few weeks, and will try another hotel. There are plenty to choose from with as good location/s. Love!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank keisarinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 724 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our room was cleaned every day, The bathroom was clean and spacious,The shower was strong, plenty of hot water all day and night, the air conditioner was so strong we had to shut it down sometimes , the stuff was very polite and willing to help , the location was great , right in the middle of the old city. Weekend nights might be noisy but we asked for a high floor and got it, so it was OK.
All in one it was good value for money.The one thing that was just OK was Breakfast, it is continental breakfast, and we have seen more variety on other 3 star hotels in Spain, But I guess for the price we paid it was OK.

Room Tip: The noise was only strong on Friday, other weekdays not so much. ask for a high floor.also the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ef30900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I could not have asked for a better location for exploring Madrid, literally one minute from Puerta de Sol in the middle of the Old City. Walking distance to many things, including the Prada Museum. My room--a single--was absolutely tiny (I laughed when I first opened the door), but that's OK for one person, and it was squeaky clean. Staff (especially the cleaners) was friendly and spoke good English.
Despite these positives, the noise within the hotel was unbearable. The way the doors and locks are constructed meant that every time a door opened or closed nearby, it sounded like a gun going off next to my head. Sleeping past 7 or taking an afternoon nap was impossible. Conversations in the hall sounded as if they were in my room, and when a large group of 10-year-old boys came to stay in six rooms adjacent to mine . . . Because of this noise, I won't choose this hotel again.
I would note that, although the area surrounding the hotel is very noisy until 4 or 5 in the morning, my room faced what was either a tiny courtyard or a large airshaft, so I heard no street noise. I also had a problem with the electric outlets. The only free outlet was so high on the wall I had to stand on a chair. I could not leave something to charge while I was out as the keycard controls all of the power in the room. Since I need to use a CPAP machine at night, recharging my iPhone and eBook was a hassle.
So--Great location, good staff, very clean, but noise from inside the hotel made this an unhappy stay for me.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room that does NOT face the street, or you will contend with that noise too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very well located close to the puerta del sol and not far (walking distance) from most of the attractions in madrid as the prado museum , palacio real and the plaza maior
Good breakfast
Clean and confortable rooms
Located in a quiet street

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jairor876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The localization is excelllent near the Puerta do Sol, the metro and tourism bus . The staff are very helpful. The breakfast is very good with a great variety. The room is very clean. I strongly recommend this hotel in Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria4AMG, Gerente at Hotel Victoria 4, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por sus comentarios. Esperamos poder recibirles nuevamente en un futuro próximo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel Victoria 4 is situated off Puerto del Sol which is a wonderfully convenient location for sightseeing in central Madrid. The hotel is clean and functional. Breakfast is adequate if a little lacking in imagination. But the staff at reception made a great difference to our holiday as they were helpful and became our tour guides over the days we were there. They advised on trips in the city, and also outside of Madrid, including train times and opportunities to visit places of historical interest. They were always friendly and courteous and they helped make our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank VOM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel Victoria IV is situated just a stone throw from Puerta Del Sol. You can reach a lot of the great sights of Madrid very easy, since they are in walking distance.
The rooms have a good size, nice bathrooms and it is clean. The windows protect nicely from street noise.
Breaskfast table also adequate, however, somewhat uniform after a couple of days.
Staff of the hotel are all very kind and helpfull,
Highly recommended for a stay just in the middle of the busy old part of Madrid.

Room Tip: You can choose a room towards the street. The windows protect nicely against the noise, and you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
El Pasaje
El Pasaje
#320 of 441 in Madrid
203 reviews
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#216 of 441 in Madrid
195 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#117 of 441 in Madrid
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Centro
Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#99 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria 4

Address: Calle Victoria 4, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $67 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 4 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Victoria 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria 4 Hotel
Victoria 4 Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing