We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Ibis Madrid Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ranked #84 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
northwest
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an ibis and they are quite similar. The service was excellent and there is an underground car park which was very convienient.
There was a limited choice of food, but next door was a supermarket and there was a great traditional spainish tapas bar a few doors down. Our room had a great view overlooking the bull ring. Its in a great part of town. As Ibis basic hotels go this was a good one, great service and great location.

Room Tip: book a car park space as its really easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLancashire41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    574
    112
    14
    5
See reviews for
240
512
96
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you have stayed in an Ibis hotel before you probably know that Ibis hotels in Europe generally have a standard design. The things that set them apart are staff and location.
In terms of staff, Ibis Madrid Centro is really blessed. The staff are professional yet very warm. We had a problem with getting some bullfight tickets we had ordered from an external vendor. Even though it had nothing to do with the hotel, the staff worked diligently to help us obtain our tickets. They did not have to do this - but they did. This is the kind of service that sets a hotel apart. Beyond this they were always happy to help us out with directions and ideas of things to do - really knowledgeable and happy to help out.
In terms of location, when one is new to Madrid, the name Bilbao does not mean anything to you. What does mean something is that it is just 10 metres off a main street - Calle Fuenecarral - which is lined with shops and restaurants and will take you directly to Puerto del Sol -one of Madrid's key sites. We actually ended up walking pretty much everywhere in Madrid. It is a safe location and can arrive home late into the night and not be worried.
Bilbao metro station itself is actually about 10 metres for the hotel and the Madrid subway is clean, safe and efficient (North American subway systems take note!).
Hotel itself lovely and clean. Breakfast at the hotel was great - excellent selection for a great price.
Our room was also lovely and clean - standard Ibis layout. It isn't 5 star, but it is very comfortable. Bed was lovely and room quiet - great quality of sleep.
Shower-gel is provided (it's actually pretty good), but don't expect a range of mini soaps and shower gels - this is Europe!
Housekeeping also kept the room really clean for us. Just remember that when you stay here it is not a luxury hotel - but it is a clean, efficient, safe and comfortable Ibis hotel with great staff and an excellent location!
Would we stay again? I sure hope so!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a lovely time at the hotel , it is close to evertthing. McDonalds and Starbucks just around the corner. The only thing we missed was a minibar. We bought a small piece of cake and asked if they could keep it for us in a fridge for the afternoon , and it was rudely denied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lizelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We really liked and enjoyed staying in Ibis Madrid Centro. The location was nice, centrally located, very close to the Bilbao Metro stop, and we walked easily to Sol. Neighborhood was reassuringly quiet and safe.

The room was spacious, a great bed and pillows, and clean. The bathroom was spacious enough, with a great shower. Free wifi was nice to have. The breakfast buffet was sufficient and a good selection with a good selection of breakfast items.

If you love a warm room, you may it a little cool because the hotel shuts off the heat starting in April,

I will definitely use this hotel again and would recommend this to anyone looking for a Madrijd place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RamonRdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you have ever stayed in an ibis hotel before, you know exactly what to expect here. The room was spacious enough and it was like any other ibis hotels.

The staffs were really friendly and professional. All my emails prior to my stay were answered efficiently. They graciously helped in making restaurant reservations for me as I do not speak Spanish and although there was some issue during check-out, they handled the situation well and were very polite.

The location of the hotel is also convenient for those who like to explore Madrid by foot. Overall, I would recommend a stay here and the rates are value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A smart hotel, ideally located for exploring Madrid on foot, only a short walk to the city centre with lots to see and do. The room was spacious comfortable and clean and the buffet breakfast good value for money. The friendly and efficient staff were very helpful, with good tips on local restaurants. The only minor niggle was a cramped breakfast area with a rather uncomfortable seating arrangement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Everywhereman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Ibis almost always never let's you down... Going there you expect clean rooms, quick service, helpful staff and value for the money .. Which this hotel delivers... + additionally awesome location ... The breakfast also serves croissants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalyanM445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#59 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#23 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Madrid Centro

Property: Ibis Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Manuela Malasana 6, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#50 Family Hotel in Madrid
#53 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Madrid Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Madrid Centro hotel is located right in the city centre of Madrid, next to Plaza Bilbao, close to the historical centre of Madrid, a 10 minute walk to Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes from the Castellana and Plaza Colon. Ideal for bussiness or leisure trips. It is just a 20minute walk to the main museums, the Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemisza. In the Malasaña Road, next the restaurants, bars and shops. It offers 64 airconditioned rooms, a bar and snacks 24 hours, public parking 50 m away and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Madrid Centro Hotel Madrid
Accor Madrid Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing