We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in old Madrid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #110 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location in old Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

If what you want is to be right in the heart of old Madrid, this is the place! Just meters away from the Plaza Mayor and two minutes walk from Puerta del Sol. The hotel is located in a charming pedestrian area and close to lots of outdoor cafes/restaurants where to enjoy a good breakfast, meal, or drink. The hotel, although rated four stars, is nothing special. The rooms are pretty small (kind of expected for an hotel in the old part of the city) and if you are traveling with a big suitcase, you'll be challenged to find a place for it.

One thing that I didn't enjoy much was how the bathroom was separated from the room. It was with a wall of glass, and even though it was translucent, you could still see the silhouette from the other side of the wall. If I wouldn't have been with my husband, that would have been a great inhibitor for me to use the bathroom, so I would definitively not recommend it for couples who are just getting to know each other.

I can't review breakfast since I didn't dine at the hotel. The people at the front desk were very nice, accommodating, and very helpful. There was a mistake with the reservation and they worked with us to provide us what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Mani1810,

Thank you very much for choosing us, and for spending your time leaving your review at tripadvisor.com
I am glad you liked our location, you really got the essence of staying in the city center. As you said, being in an historical building (we are the oldest hotel in Spain), made very dificult for us to modify the rooms size and distribution when we restored the building in 2006. When we restored the rooms we also decided to use that translucent glass in the bathroom, in order to avoid losing natural light in the room and bathroom. Unfortunately this solution can not be for everybody´s likings.
It is great to read that our staff was nice, and able to solve the problem with your booking.

It will be a pleasure to see you back at Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Best Regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    369
    133
    61
    32
See reviews for
269
334
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
480 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have visited Posada del Peine several years and the whole Spain about 15 years. If you are searching very central location this is the best choice near Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol. Staff is always friendly. Breakfast is excellent comparing other four star hotels in Spain. Rooms are modern and spacious. The hotel building is an important part of the history of Madrid. In this hotel the air-condition really works well which is important in Madrid in summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mr, Ari,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing us, and for spending your time filling up our survey.

We really thank you for your kind review. Our hotel is located in the best possible situation and. That fact, help our customers to enjoy the city life. We also have the honor of been the oldest hotel in the city. Taking all this into consideration, you will find in our hotel, an unique emplacement in the downtown.

It will be a pleasure to see you back in our Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Best regards,
Ana Sanz
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near London, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We will always stay here on future trips to Madrid. Price eminently reasonable. The building inside combines its history with thoughtful modernity. Bedroom comfortable, quiet, well maintained, and relaxing and with efficient and fully controlable quiet c/h. Wi-fi works well. Staff could not have been more amiable and helpful both at the desk (in Spanish and English) and at breakfast (in attentive Spanish). The location is ideal - midway between Sol and Plaza Mayor - for getting to everywhere and for a vibrant surrounding street life. One serious fault - breakfast food overall is fine BUT the scrambled eggs are solid slabs, a mockery of proper moist and fluffy scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: We had an interior room - it was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, ront Office Manager en Petit Palace Posada del Peine at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear MisterNev,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing us. I was absolutey deligted to read such as feedback regarding your say. As I can read, you enjoyed your lodging in our hotel. We always work to give the best service at the best price. As far as the scrambel eggs is concened, we take note of your observations, to improve our service.

It will be a pleasure to see you back in our Petit Palace Posada del Peine.

Best regards,

David Chía

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014


This hotel was situated in a perfect spot - close to Piazza Mayor and close to plenty of great places to eat, shop or just stroll by. The hotel staff was very nice and always had an English speaking person at the front desk. Everyone was happy to help and made our party of 9 feel comfortable. The rooms were roomy (for European standard) and clean. Although the rooms were on the street side, they were very quiet and we could not hear the noise from the street - including the Mariachi band playing at midnight outside the window. Of note was the price - we thought it was a bargain and expect it will be one of the least expensive places we stay on our trip through Spain and Italy.

The one issue we had is a broken toilette seat (which was not a real issue) and a broken latch on a bunk bed - which may have been an issue. One of our party was sleeping in it when the bed collapsed and folded into the wall, trapping the person between the closed bed and the wall. Luckily there were no injuries and the staff at the hotel gave us an extra room in addition to the room we had ad no extra charge.

Make sure to get a ham sandwich across the hotel (probably the best sandwich I had in a long time) and stop in to the sweet shop for a cookie sample. And, if you are a foodie and like wine - you must go to the food market across the way.

Note the 3 star Ratzinger in Europe is a pretty good rating for a hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Tdiso,
Thank you for choosing us and for leaving your coments on tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you liked our location, and that being in such a lively area, as the city center, was not a problem for you. I am very glad to see that the atention given by our staff was nice and helpful.
I am sorry about the problem with the toilet seat, it is a small problem that we have already fixed, but it should not happened. But I am really sorry about the problem with the bunk bed, I do not know how could it happens, but our maintenance has already inspected and fixed the problem.
It will be a pleasure to see you back if you decide to come back.
Thanks again for your time. Best regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We often come to Madrid enroute or returning from trips elsewhere in Spain. We have stayed at the Petit Palace Posada several times now and the experience is always wonderful. The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The location is amazing - right of the Plaza Mayor and steps from Puerto del Sol. To make it even better, the front door faces my favorite galleteria. The amenities, shower (BIG!), service and reasonable price make it one of my favorite hotels. For an American - it is even more exciting to stay in a hotel that has been in business since 1610.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Joanne r,
It is really wonderful to read such kind words from a repetitive guests. You know us, the hotel and the area better than ourselves. I can only add that it will be a pleasure to see you back again whenever you want to come back.
Best regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Consider this: on arrival access to the hotel is partially blocked by street vendors who periodically are cleared out by the police. On checking in the staff is monosyllabic and perfunctory. Our room was on the 2nd floor...on approaching it we were aware of the darkness of the hallway, the grubby carpet and the faint smell of disinfectant in the air. On entering the room we noted the same darkness, the same carpet and window curtains worthy of the Addams family. The bathroom was large and modern and nearly as large as the bedroom, which contained a firm bed, suspiciously grey sheets and mismatched second hand furniture. Add to this a healthy dollop of street noise and what would you do? What we did was check out and go immediately to a modern 4 star which at the same price gave us all we might expect. As we checked out the only thing that interested the staff was that our bill was properly paid. Then - despite the persistence of sunlight - the door was locked behind us as we gladly walked away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Michael R,
I am really sorry about the stay you spent with us. Obviously this is not the feeling that we want for our guests. You are right about the lights on the second floor corridor, we had a problem with this, which has been already fixed up. Last month we started a hard cleaning process for the carpets in the corridors and rooms, but unfortunately during your stay we still had the second and forth floor left to clean. I am really worry about the atention given by our staff, and I would like to know more about your booking (name and date of arrival above all) in order to take the actions needed to improve this area, so I will appreciate if you can send me this information to my email: posadadelpeine@petitpalace.com
I apologize again for the inconveniences and bad feeling about yout stay. If you give us a second chance we will try our best to make you feel like at home.
Thanks for your time. Best regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for a visit to Madrid.Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast with great variety.Helpful and efficient staff.There are many good local restaurants especially in the local plaza.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jscoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado jscoates,
Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras. Es fantastico ver que le ha gustado nuestra centrica ubicacion, nuestro desayuno buffet y sobretodo la atencion de nuestro personal.
Sera un placer volvereles a ver de nuevo por nuestro Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Reciba un cordial saludo,
David Chia
Jefe de Recepcion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#96 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#133 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Property: Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing