We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #110 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great central location, free bikes, free Wi-Fi, free safe, good breakfasts, great for a city break. Spa shower, housekeeping daily, very firm beds which were the only downside to a great stay. Take the bikes to the rio for a great, safe bike ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Public Relations Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sue C,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Borrowing our bikes is a great way to visit the city center, or as you did, to visit Madrid Rio, a very beatifull area of the city plenty of gardens, and not far from the hotel.
Our beds are from a very good brand (Pikolin) but, unfortunately, depending on the guest preferences and likes it may not be to everybody liking.
Thanks for choosing us, it will be a pleasure to see you back again here. Best regards,
David Chía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    369
    133
    61
    32
See reviews for
269
334
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

nice botic hotel in the center of Madrid, very close to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del sol.
The room- no heat system, noise from the street.
The shower is great- like a standing jacuzzi with strong currents and hot water
very good breakfast
they didn't save the type of room that we ordered, so we had to wait until they cleaned the right room

Room Tip: don't take a room in the side of the street because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear oferta10,
I am glad you liked our location in the very center of the typical Madrid, just one step walking to lots of interesting and historical places, and sorrounded of lots of bars and restaurants. Nevertheless being in this lively area of the city can ocassionaly become a little crowdy.
All our Petit Palace hotels has this kind of shower that you found great.
Check In time is after 14:00. We try our best to have the rooms ready as soon as possible, even before 14:00. But if the guest arrives earlier sometimes they have to wait a little, so that we can prepare correctly the right room for them.
Thank you for coming, and for your kind words. Best regards,
David Chía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Petit Palace Posada del Peine two weeks ago when we were visiting my cousin who is at Uni in Madrid. My sister and brother in law had stayed before and were with me, my dad, my auntie and uncle.
We had 4 rooms, we all paid the same price yet as always the two rooms for two got views of the street whilst the two rooms my dad and I had got views of the ventilation shafts. It is the same in most hotels and not unique to this hotel.
The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The bathrooms were large with a great shower. They were let down by the sink which was a square box on a table. Looked great, but totally impractical. There was no overflow outlet and therefore the plugs had all been removed to stop them overflowing if the tap was left running and causing a flood. Nice selection of toiletries. In room safe was operated by sliding the magnetic strip of your credit card down it. I have never seen one like this before and must admit to liking it. There were a bunch of 5 chocolates on the bed on arrival. Very nice touch.
The breakfast was served in the basement with old style brickwork, typical of so many of the cellar bars and restaurants in the Plaza Mayor. The was a vast choice including cereals, local meats and chorizo, hot cooked breakfast which varied day to day, tortilla and fruits. There was a toaster for the variety of breads and as much tea, coffee and juice as you could drink. My sister was pleased that they had breakfast puddings too.
The location is superb. Just 50m from the Plaza Mayor. A three minute walk to the Puerta del Sol and it's Metro Station and it's many street performers (if you like that sort of thing). There are also hundreds of African street vendors selling counterfeit goods from white sheets on the floor. Ignore them and the don't hassle you. They can be seen running from the police in swarms, a sight that amused us no end.
The hotel doesn't have a bar but there was one about 5 yards away from the front door which seemed to never close.
One of the other reviewers for this hotel said there were bikes in the lobby. These were free for the patrons of the hotel to use and not just dumped there . The same reviewer also said there is no vehicular access, that's probably like so much of Madrid it is in a pedestrianised zone. There was a street about 40 yards away.
Couple of negative points. The hot drinks machine in the lobby didn't work. There was a French couple in the room next door to my Auntie and Uncle that rowed from us arriving on Tuesday to us leaving on Sunday including banging on doors at two in the morning, and 40 loud American teenagers who were going to sue everyone's butt but that's probably because they were "AWESOME".

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who want a good time in a really central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Peakster,
Thank you very much for your kind words and detailed reveiw.
It is great that you liked our very center location, our high tech shower and large bathrooms and our breakfast.
We had a breakdown for several days in the hot drinks machine at the lobby, which has already been fixed, and now this machine is fully working (except for breakfast time).
We are having a strong maintenaince campaign, in order to fix some problems like the ones related by you in your review.
Thanks again for your review and for choosing us. Best regards,
David Chía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel; however, I found the beds and pillows to be substandard, even for this level of hotel. I like a firm bed, but this was a stone tablet. By night's end, I was ready to divulge all state secrets after this enhanced interrogation technique of sleeping on this bed and trying to get comfortable. The bathroom in our room did not provide enough privacy, because although the glass walls are fogged, the door is not sealed. The shower itself is modern, but like many European showers, the door does not fully enclose the shower. The sink is square bottomed and impractical.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, General Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you to let Tripadvisor users and us know about your experience in our Hotel.
We are pleased to know that you are especially satisfied with our location.
We regret that in the room, all was not to your liking. We have forwarded your comments to the Head of Department for their improvement.
We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced as a result.
We work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic as it is right next to Plaza Mayor which is a must visit site in Madrid. However, this hotel did not quite meet up to my expectations. You would think that a hotel so close to the city center would be perfect but instead the rooms were rather small, the showers slightly difficult to maneuver, the beds slightly uncomfortable including bunk beds (which is odd for a 4 star hotel I would think?), and though the balcony was very nice, the sounds from outside really traveled into your room so if you're a light sleeper, try to get a room deep inside the building because the streets surrounding the hotel is always packed with people!

The reception were overall helpful, most of them were very nice and tried their best to fulfill our needs, however, a limited few were annoyed when we asked for a simple assistance which we felt was extremely unnecessary. The smell of the sewer also takes up the whole restaurant and general basement area even traveling up to the lobby and the elevator area. Every time we needed to take an elevator to go up to our floor, we always had to withstand the stench coming from the bathroom.

Overall, I don't quite regret staying there because of the location, but I would never go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

A beautiful looking building in a great location next to the Plaza Mayor. The reception staff were excellent, helpful, and polite and the breakfast was very good. However, having stayed in over a dozen 4 star hotels in Madrid this one was the most disappointing. Firstly, there is no vehicle access during the day and most of the night, so if you have difficulty in walking or are laden with luggage this may be a problem. Our room had two delightful balconies but was incredibly small and cramped, there was a large modern shower-room, but I would have preferred more bedroom space. The television did not work as someone had removed the aerial cable, something that should have been noticed by Housekeeping. Although there are many bars and restaurants on the doorstep, I find it hard to understand how a hotel can gain a 4 star rating without a comfortable lounge area or a restaurant. The reception area was untidy with bicycles propped up against a wall and a coffee machine in another corner behind a small scruffy sofa. Disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Average staff, bit out of date hotel (doors make bad noise when opening, special suggestion is on a glass door of bathroom!) but those things could be easily improved. Laptops in rooms /very nice/ and comfortable beds and pillows.And location is more than perfect for tourists....so I would recommend it for people who are not particular about room but who are interested in sightseeing of beautiful Madrid ::))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#96 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#133 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Property: Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing