We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #99 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very well located next to plaza mayor and puerta del sol, very close to metro stations, and at walking distance from attractions. Very practical for a night out in trendy streets of madrid. However, this is not the most comfortable hotel. It is located on a very busy street, with performers and musicians that can be heard all night long. The room was very small for two persons and the bathroom alike. The bed was not comfortable and the rooms were dusty. Service at the hotel was not bad. Wifi is terrible in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gugablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that our location were to your liking. We will pass along your praise to our entire staff.

We regret, however, that certain details like room size and bath were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every complaints always with the aim of improving.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced as a result.

Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.

We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

The very finest location in Madrid with a comfortable , clean and very quiet room . The provided laptop was a godsend as my phone never connected to the internet .
The staff were very helpful and my only minor gripe was a lack of an information pack showing location and times for breakfast ( very good ) and the phone number for reception.
I enjoyed my trip and would recommend this hotel .


  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your experience in our hotel. It helps us to improve.

We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the little information about pack showing location and times for breakfast.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Madrid.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our family of 3, 2 adults and 1 twelve year old, stayed on a room only basis for 5 nights.
We wanted to be in the centre of things and definitely were in this location a few minutes from Sol and Placa Major. We were on the fourth floor in an attic room.
First impressions of the room weren't great. It badly needs decorating. The ceiling (which slopes almost to the floor on one side of the room) is painted black with strange white figures sketched over it. Looks like the cover of a homemade cassette from the 80s. With a dark patterned carpet and one small window it felt claustrophobic.
The beds were comfy though and the room was clean and being on the 4th floor the noise from the busy street was fine.
Great places for breakfast nearby included the San Miguel market and LA Mallorquina. You can walk to all the main tourist destinations from this hotel though walking back at night you run the gamut of street artists and vendors, feels like a medieval carnival.

So overall an ok base to explore from but our black painted room with one small window facing a wall didn't really feel like 4 stars...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandraev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Ok to be fair I did not choose this place, rather on a business trip it was chosen for me. The location was superb. Next to Plaza Mayor and near to everything. You can walk or easily take the nearby metro to Prado and Reina Sophia museums. Nearby parks and strolls allow plenty of exercise. The hotel dad a few bikes you can borrow which sounded cool until I saw how traffic works here: bikes are like targets so no thanks. The bfasts were awesome self serv buffets. While I was here there was outdoor opera in the plaza mayor every night and it went late. While going to sleep at night I would open my windows and hear the Opera from afar(not too loud) which was nice to lull me to sleep. I was warned by friends to not be an obvious clueless tourist and not carry shopping bags which put me on guard. However I always felt safe and never saw any incidents the week I was there. There are lots of street vendors near the hotel, some colorful and some aggressive and there are dozens of street artists- faking to be a statue Etc. fun. Anyway my room was mega tiny, not in a cozy way but in a constantly stub your toe to get to the toilet or open a window way. Net net I would stay here again even though my room was just OK.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Steve,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us such a detailed review. It is very nice to hear that you will come back. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your trip and stay with us.

Petit Palace Posada del Peine will always be there to welcome you back.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tis is a stylish hotel with a great location--steps from the Plaza mayor and a 15 minute walk to the Prado.

The hotel is part of the Hoteles High Tech chain and they provided a laptop (chained down) in the room. This was a nice touch but other high tech aspects did not work so well. The "P' key on the laptop was broken and they had to bring up a new machine. I liked the electronic safe they provided but the third day it failed to open.

Otherwise, a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate a lot your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the computer and the electronic safe. We would like to inform you that both were immediately fixed.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel right near the Plaza Mayor which is surrounded by lots of restaurants, entertainment and San Miguel Tapas markets.
The hotel reception although dark was welcoming and staff were very helpful providing maps and advice on tourist attractions including Madrid walks.
Room was very nice , clean, and comfortable with a wonderful hydromassage shower . Would definetely return to this hotel

Room Tip: Request a room on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 139daisymiller139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

I appreciate a lot your wonderful review. I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our services and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was an excellent location, walk out of the hotel and right into the tourist attraction's, If you staying in Madrid for a few days and like to visit the museums, walk through the cathedral, take the tours, this is the perfect place to stay
I recommend taken the tourist bus, it will take you to all important locations, you can get out to any location and back on the bus for the next one
we also took the tour to Escorial, valley of the dead and Toledo, Toledo is a must visit town, we took a half day tour, it was great but you may need a full day for this one

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wesajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Deparment at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your very complimentary review. We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#89 of 438 in Madrid
979 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 438 in Madrid
1,763 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#113 of 438 in Madrid
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $95 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Splitty, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing