We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #109 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved the location! Located less than a minute from Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, this hotel is right in the middle of everything. There is great food all around, shopping, bus and train stations within a 3 minute walk. The breakfast is reasonably priced and offers a wonderful selection. We received a smoking room, but there was no smell.

Room Tip: Floors 1&2 were non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and for making us your feedback about it. We're glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay. As you say, the hotel is situated in the heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions. Hoping you come back soon.

Merry Christmas,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    375
    136
    61
    32
See reviews for
274
343
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
313 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pros:
- Great location, very close to Plaza Mayor and Sol, and most other Madrid attractions are walkable. Sol is less than an hour from the airport on the metro.
- Free wifi (code available at front desk)
- Comfortable beds
- Warm room
- Large bathroom with powerful shower

Cons:
- Room is quite small for the price
- Slightly dated
- Lot of noise from outside, being so close to main square

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for choosing Petit Palace Posada del Peine for your stay in Madrid. We are glad to read that the hotel has details that they were to your liking. We will work in your comment to improve the cons, as we work for maximum customer satisfaction. Wishing you a happy 2013.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno
Level Contributor
178 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The best thing of this hotel is great localization near the most famous place in Madrid - plaza Mayor. It's easy to take a trip from this place, because few steps from hotel is metro station - Sol. Hotel building is very old but rooms have different style - very modern. Doble room costs around 150euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your feedback. Your comments are very important for improve our services and facilities. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations. As you say, Petit Palace Posada del Peine is located in the heart of the city, close to Plaza Mayor, the Mercado de San Miguel, the Puerta del Sol and the main tourist attractions of the city as the Royal Palace and Gran Via St.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Petit Palace, Posada del Peine is a wonderful hotel in the heart of Old Town Madrid. It is located half a block to the Plaza Major and a couple of blocks to Puerta Del Sol. Direct access to the hotel with baggage can be tricky because after 11:00am, no cars or taxis are able to access Calle Postas, and you must walk the last long block to the hotel over a rough cobblestone street. However, the hotel is definitely worth the trouble to get there. The hotel consumes most of a very old, triangle-shaped building which encompasses several old buildings linked together inside; there are multiple levels of each floor with several different staircases and hallways on each floor - easy to get lost in the hallways until you learn your way around.

The rooms are not huge, but very modern, well-organized and comfortable with large baths and step-out balconies. The hotel offers free internet access and even provides a laptop in each room! Bed and linen quality was very good, as should be expected for a 4-star hotel. Although, for the additional cost of 10 Euros/person, I would not recommend their breakfast because there are so many wonderful cafés nearby which serve breakfast. The front-desk staff was extremely helpful with advice and a map. I look forward to staying at the Petit Palace again!

Room Tip: From what I learned, most of the rooms are the same size and they all would have the same view; your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenaswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace Posada del Peine.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop was of help to you.

We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!

Best regards
Eri Martinez Varela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel itself is an old building, so there are some expectable issues with the upkeep, but we didn't spend much time in the hotel room. The morning buffet was good, the staff friendly, and there was another cafe right outside the hotel doors. Our main reason for booking this hotel was that it's a stone's throw from the Plaza Mayor, which was our base for touring Madrid. Close to the Puerta del Sol, also, for mass transit.

No WiFi in rooms, but there was a laptop there for personal use that we used to access the internet during our stay. I found the bed comfortable. Room tight and we would have liked to have luggage racks, but bathroom larger than many we've seen in older buildings. Good shower. Plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Upper floors are likely smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKCOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest:

We appreciate your comments and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion .

All the staff works hard in the hotel to ensure the majority of our guests have an enjoyable stay. I am sorry we couldn’t fulfil your all expectations.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Prado Nombela Barroso ( Gerente)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just finished a week at the petit palace posada del peine in central Madrid. If you are visiting for the tourist attractions it couldn't be better situated. - just off e Plaza Mayor, a block from e Puerta del sol. An easy walk to museums, Cheuca (gay and lesbian district), La Latina, etc. in fact we only took a cab once when it was late and raining.

The hotel is clean and modern wIth wifi in all rooms - they also have a laptop in your room if you aren't traveling with a computer or pad. The rooms are a little small, but clean, nice barrooms, great water pressure, hot water, heat and ac, and a little balcony that opened up. There we're lots of lights in the room and lots of outlets.

The beds were not great, but clean and adequate. Our king was two separately made twins shoved together. I don't know about other rooms.

Youmay have to negotiate a few stairs as this place is several buildings that have been pulled together and so the elevator stops often require 3 or 4 steps to get to your level.

It was also very quiet which is a big deal in Madrid Centro. We were right over a sports bat in the alley and you could hear the noise when the futbol games were on, but it wasn't obnoxious.

The staff is curteous and helpful but not warm or in your business which I happen to like.

I wouldn't call it luxury, but we got a reservation on orbitz for just under $100 US dollars/ night. I really don't think you can beat it for that price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMDuende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Departamento ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Remind you we have other hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo, and as you know here in Madrid

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Back East
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a business trip that I was able to add some vacation time onto the back end. We stayed at the Hotel Petit Palace Posada Del Peine. This hotel is right next to the Plaza Mayor. So if you want to be in the midst of Madrid, this is a great place for that. Unfortunately, that is all it has going for it.

PROS:
Great location- very close to the Sol Metro stop making it easy to go anywhere

Breakfast- basic breakfast in Europe. Scrambled eggs, bacon (very, very, very soft.....), meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, juice, coffee, etc. It costs 9 Euros per person and is not worth that unless you make a little snack lunch from the bread and meats to take with you.

Water cooler in the lobby- great to save a few euros by filling up the water bottle before a long day of sightseeing.

CONS:
SMALL rooms. Did I mention small?? Expected due to location.

Hot water (lack of) - we found that if you sleep in, forget it. It is lukewarm at best. Probably due to them doing laundry after 9AM or so.

Beds- uncomfortable is kind. They are hard and the pillows are lacking. If you get a double, it is the typical two twins pushed together.

Thermostat- difficult to find a good setting for sleep

Walls- thin. Could hear the lovely baby next door crying all night for 2 evenings. Why would you take a baby to this hotel??

Room location- if unlucky to be on the front side of the hotel (rooms 205-209, for example), you will hear the street noise to 4 AM easily everyday. On Friday and Saturday, it is the worst. No good sleep is possible.

WIFI- Depends on the room. Some of my co-workers had no issue. I had NO wifi due to my room. This was annoying for handheld devices (IPhone, iPad). One could get internet via one's computer via the Ethernet connection but that does not help the other devices. I had to go to the lobby to get connected. Certainly NOT high tech as their name explains.

No ironing board in room- I am sick of European hotels not providing an iron I had to use a iron from the front desk on a travel ironing board the size of a pair of boxers set on the floor. Not the best thing for your back to iron your shirts and pants for business meetings!

Location- What? You said it was a PRO? It is also a CON since the city of Madrid does not sleep.

All things considered, it was OK but I would find a better hotel next time so I could rest after a long day of work and/or sightseeing.

Good luck!

Room Tip: DO not stay in the front part of the hotel unless you don't like to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Misplaced_Childhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest;

After your stay in our Hotel, I do not want to miss the opportunity to send you this message with my apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.
Our mission is for you to enjoy your trip in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. I am sorry that we could not be successful in your case. For this reason I would like to thank you for your opinion and comments, as this is the only way to improve the quality of our property and change any mistakes that have been made.

Kindest regards.

Prado Nombela Barroso ( Gerente )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#91 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#132 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Property: Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing