We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalonia Goya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Goya
Ranked #120 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this location because it was directly across the street from our daughter's apartment (she was studying abroad in Madrid). It was a good location because the Retiro Park (beautiful!!) was within walking distance as were many other wonderful sites and nice avenues for strolling. The hotel itself, however, was just adequate. The beds were minimally comfortable and the room was quite small. The price was right so it's true that you get what you pay for. If you're going to Madrid for a special occasion or really want to stay someplace nice, I wouldn't recommend this place. If however, you're on a budget and simply need a place to sleep, this will do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJPgh_412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good morning. We appreciate you´ve taken a few minutes to make some comments about the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you in an upcoming occasion.

Meanwhile, I send you my cordial greetings.

Santiago A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    310
    102
    26
    9
See reviews for
127
226
60
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This Hotel is fairly well situated in a lively area. It is walking distance from Parque del Retiro and Alcal Gate. We even walked all the way through the centre of Madrid to Plaza de Espana, the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol, but there is a quite efficient subway from Parque del Retiro that you can take to and from the centre of the city.
The hotel room was quite adequate and air-conditioned and breakfast was ample. A positive was that, despite the hotel being located on a main street, the room was absolutely quiet. A negative was the lack of coffee in the room which I expect from a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good morning. Thanks a lot for your comments about the hotel and surroundings. Referring to the coffee machine in the room, it is not usually requested by our customers, but we´ll propose to ownership of the property buying some to meet your expectations.

Best regards,

Santiago A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located on the Goya street, perfect for shopping and visiting Madrid center. I would say location is the best. However this is a very small hotel and at your entrance there is no lobby or reception area. Just the reception desk. Rooms ar OK sized and relatively good standard the bathroom need some maintainance work but generally rooms are good. Staff is very welcoming and friendly.
A good choice for Madrid center and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisbcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Good morning. I appreciate your comments regarding the location and characteristics of the rooms, but mainly about the staff, which is always a satisfaction to know that are working in the right direction to give an excellent service.

Best regards,

Santiago A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
450 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located in the elegant Salamanca Barrio, with two metro stations of different lines within walking distance, is a standard 4 * friendly hotel. Room average size, as well as the bathroom, good bed. I stay fan for my trips to Madrid - 75 euros without breakfast.
Beware the car - from 19h to 9h in working days and in not working days it seems to be free street parking, but we parked on Saturday morning which apparently is useful period and get 90 euros to pay….
There’s a public park nearby, but is expensive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good morning. I appreciate your kind comments to our hotel and I still doubt 90 € you have commented about parking, since there is no fee for this amount, unless you have been fined for not paying the ticket ...

The cost of a full day in the parking lot, located at 200 meters, is 36 €. On the other hand, if you prefer to park in the area reserved for residents, has the following costs from Monday to Friday (9 a.m. - 9 p.m.) and Saturday from 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.: One hour € 1.20, two hours € 2.95 and 4 € for the supplement if it exceeds two hours.

I hope these lines serve to provide further information.

Take this opportunity to send you my warmest regards.

Sincerely,

Santiago A.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Prospect, IL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel rooms in Madrid can be quite expensive. We found the Catalonia Goya reasonable with free wifi and breakfast included in our rate.
The pros:
clean
excellent location
excellent front desk staff
excellent housekeeping
bathrobes
good choice at breakfast: eggs, bacon, breads, ham, cheese, cereal, 3 juices, coffee, pastries, fruit (there were other items as well - anyone should be able to be satisfied.)

Room for improvement:
Tissues in room are in a little sealed plastic bag. I would prefer a box, easier to get out, and more plentiful.
At breakfast there is a staff member who will make you an omelette or makes pancakes. We came down one morning and the pancakes were already made, but cold, and getting stale. We asked for more and he said he didn't have any batter mixed. Hmm, we didn't make a fuss, it just seemed weird. Churros also are premade and cold. It's my opinion that if you can't make them at the time you wish to eat them, it's a wasted effort.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. For two people, it get's a bit tight because when one person is working at the desk, another cannot walk to that side of the room freely. Mattress are Very firm, but that seems to be the standard throughout Europe. However, for the money, I think it's a great place to stay and definitely very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Good afternoon. We really appreciate your comments so detailed and will continue working in this direction to continue to satisfy our customers and employees.

In relation to the pancakes we will not have this problem again because from today Monday we cook instantly in the show cooking. As for churros, I do not know cooking like the pros, but we´ll send your proposal to the Food and Beverage department to study possible solutions.

We will study how we can keep warm or cook at the time.

Thank you very much again. Take this opportunity to send my cordial greetings.

Sincerely,

Santiago A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was just there overnight but the room was spacious and the bathroom excellent. Because I was leaving early, before breakfast, they packed me a breakfast box. However, there was no spoon for the yoghurt and security at the airport confiscated it - the officer rushed off with it as if it were about to explode! I have stayed here in the past but this time found it friendlier and the room (601) was nicer than my previous one. I had a bath, watched BBC News 24 and felt very relaxed. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good afternoon. First, we welcome you to stay with us for more days and not left with the feeling of having lost something of this wonderful and welcoming city.

In any case, you will be welcome again in our hotel and we hope that this third stay with us you perceive even better sensations than in your two previous visits, as we continue to improve our facilities daily and we have an enviable service.

Meanwhile, take the opportunity to send you my warmest greetings.

Santiago A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a couple of days in Madrid.
Very friendly front desk.
All speak good english will help you too with your map to mark nice places to visit.
Near metro station and bus station.
In a street with lots of shopping options, places to have a nice breakfast or dinner.
Near Retiro park walking like 1 km only.
I enjoyed my room very much clean simple and have a view of a nice church and the main street but with no noise with the double glass insulation system.
I recommend for couple days stay in Madrid very much.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AhmedBlasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_A_G_, Gerente at Catalonia Goya, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good afternoon. I have no words to thank you these lines as well have described our hotel and its surroundings.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Santiago A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#74 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Vincci Soma
Vincci Soma
#173 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#193 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#170 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Goya

Property: Catalonia Goya
Address: Calle Goya 49 | Barrio de Salamanca, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#116 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#130 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Goya 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Centro hotel, inaugurated in June 2005, is located in a building from late 19th century and situated in the centre of Madrid, the Salamanca quarter, the best commercial and business area of the city. The hotel has six floors that display the typical housing of the Barrio de Salamanca. Its brick facade has glass balconies with lattices, also typical of Madrid. It has 88 modern and comfortable rooms with all facilities with wooden floor and furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Goya Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Centro Madrid
Catalonia Centro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing