We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good security”
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #19 of 414 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in madrid for 3 nights at this hostel and was very pleased with our stay. The building itself was beautiful and very welcoming. We were in a 12 bed dorm which was very clean and all had our own locker which was a great security benefit. For 12 people with multiple devices our room only had one plug hole which was quite difficult at times. Additionally we had no windows so by the end of the three days, the room began to smell and needed fresh air. The bar downstairs was great and had a good vibe, similarly breakfast was good, however the biggest downside was no kitchen. Bathrooms were clean, shower fairly average. Overall a good hostel, one of the better few I have stayed in. Would come back to this hostel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 864 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hostel is beautiful, with an Alhambra Atrio Style which is the icing on the cake. Location cannot be better if you are looking for an inexpensive place close to the centre, Lavapies, Sol, Train Station...
They play some music in the bar and was full of people.

I only did not like the Bfast, busy a and only lates 1 hr.

It is a nice hostel, in general and the staff is friedly and handly.
Regards

Room Tip: Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had a great time there. I spent one day only , it is a hostel but feel like a hotel . Clean bathroom , friendly staff, I'm the morning around 6am wren I check out Sergio was at reception , he was made a nice coffe for the breakfast , I would stay there again :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The hostel was pretty basic, good location to everything, we never had to take the metro even to the train station. There's no kitchen but there is 1 euro beers in the vending machine so that's a plus. There's a fun bar with lots of people to meet so it's a really fun and welcoming vibe. Bathrooms are not the cleanest and the showers are awful but it's a hostel what do you expect. All in all I would recommend if you don't mind eating out everyday.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank christinemichael1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

3 nights in madrid. .Cats is in a great location to explore. .Marco on recption was super friendly and helpful. .bathrooms a little on the small side but good secirity and a warm feeling for a relatively large hostel. . Nice, chilled vibe. .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildandwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in Madrid. Actually I had booked another hostel in the same area. It was so dull and boring. I discovered that everybody is going to the cat's hostel's bar at night to have some fun. After spending one night in that boring hostel, I cancelled the rest of my booking and move to cat's. I could only find a bed in 20 bed mixed dorm but i never regret it. I made many friends while having drink at the bar. Spent the best time in Madrid in here. I was also told that the hostel building was originally a palace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serhat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This charming hostel is llocated in the heart of Madrid. share bathroom is OK, usually very clean. I stayed in a private room for 2 so my experience as quite different. The host el is quite safe as you need a code to access the lobby.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank camillitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#47 of 414 in Madrid
365 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#12 of 414 in Madrid
571 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 414 in Madrid
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#3 of 414 in Madrid
355 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 414 in Madrid
866 reviews
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#24 of 414 in Madrid
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 414 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $14 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing