We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great”
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #15 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great location, great building, great staff, great service. Also clean across the board. And good size bathrooms, meaning even at full mid-August capacity there was never a shortage of toilets or showers.

BUT not nearly enough hot water. It would come and go. The only consistently hot shower I had was at 5:30am.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The postive is that you get a clean bed and there are plenty of showers and bathrooms, that is about it. This is a party hostel so if you want to sleep at night, good luck. I caught about 3-4 hours of sleep because of the loud music and people right outside, eventhough I slept on the far side of the hostel. People were in and out of the room all night long and switching on the main lights constantly. The service was okay at best, often there was no staff at the reception either because they were in the bar too. The WiFi did not work in the rooms and it was average at best in the common areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leendert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very nice, the building is from the 18 century, but it is all new.
The bedroom and the bathroom are very clean. :)
The rooms are big and have lockers, the beds comfortable and have clean sheets.
The staff is very friendly and respectful and helpful. they give good recommendations for places to eat.
The hostel has a big and beautiful common room and good internet.
the hostel is located in the center of madrid.
The roommates are open/friendly people. and is a good place to know people from every part of the world.
you will not regret! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great for fun and meeting cool people to have a brilliant time with in Madrid.

Toilets have a big problem with skid marks... And could be cleaned a lot more.

The Portuguese girl on reception was lovely and extremely helpful. Other staff were mostly nice, but could have been friendlier.

The hostel lacks a kitchen or a decent place to store food

Good comfy bed. Great central location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, loads of activities and good wifi. The bar sells drinks really cheap and everyone is very friendly. Noisy at night if you want an early one, but hey, you're in Madrid right? The courtyard area is really nice and the location of the hostel is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaypig13121987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Originally I booked a two bed private room, but silly me - it was for the wrong night. The staff was very helpful in switching it for me, and although the two bed private's were all taken for the night I would be there, they switched me to a four bed room.

We arrived early (8 a.m.) and they let us check into the room early and nap before we explored Madrid for the day. We really appreciated that since we had taken an overnight bus from Barcelona to Madrid and were exhausted.

The room was great, apart from my friend being a little afraid of the top bunk since there was no railing. But the sheets were clean, the room was clean and we couldn't ask for much else.

The one problem we had was the shower - my friend said you had to hold the shower handle down to get any water, and once you let go you had maybe 10 seconds before the water automatically shut off.

It's definitely a party hostel - everyone was playing beer pong in the bar when we got back to the hostel that night, and a bar crawl starts at 1 a.m. I had another friend who stayed here a month before I did and she had an amazing time on the bar crawl. Discos in Madrid are pretty expensive (Kapitol is $20 on the weekends for entry and one free drink) but with the hostel you pay something like $12 and get admission to a few bars and a club and get a free drink or shot at each one. Expect noise whenever people get back drunk - a fight happened outside our room.

Wifi not great from second floor, but there's a common area downstairs.

Staff is very friendly! Helped us with our train ticket back home and printed it for us.

Room Tip: I prefer privates, so I'm not sure how the dorms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at 'Estacion Sur Autobuses' and were able to catch a bus (on the street just outside the terminal, i think bus 102? for 1.50 euro) to Atocha. It was a roughly 15 minute walk up Calle de Atocha to get to Cats Hostel. It was really simple to just rock up and find our way here.

Warning: Dont stay here if you want sleep.
This place is extremely noisy until the early, early hours of the morning, and the only brief period of peace is when everyone leaves for the pubcrawl at 11. On the flip side, if you (like us) have to catch a bus at 4am for the airport (google Plaza de Cibeles airport bus) it is really busy on the streets and a pretty safe walk.

Cant complain about hostel facilities. Staff were average.

Room Tip: Avoid groundfloor dorms, NOISY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackpackerNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#4 of 424 in Madrid
379 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 424 in Madrid
902 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 424 in Madrid
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#9 of 424 in Madrid
590 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#10 of 424 in Madrid
917 reviews
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#11 of 424 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $22 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing