We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #15 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, loads of activities and good wifi. The bar sells drinks really cheap and everyone is very friendly. Noisy at night if you want an early one, but hey, you're in Madrid right? The courtyard area is really nice and the location of the hostel is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaypig13121987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 967 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Originally I booked a two bed private room, but silly me - it was for the wrong night. The staff was very helpful in switching it for me, and although the two bed private's were all taken for the night I would be there, they switched me to a four bed room.

We arrived early (8 a.m.) and they let us check into the room early and nap before we explored Madrid for the day. We really appreciated that since we had taken an overnight bus from Barcelona to Madrid and were exhausted.

The room was great, apart from my friend being a little afraid of the top bunk since there was no railing. But the sheets were clean, the room was clean and we couldn't ask for much else.

The one problem we had was the shower - my friend said you had to hold the shower handle down to get any water, and once you let go you had maybe 10 seconds before the water automatically shut off.

It's definitely a party hostel - everyone was playing beer pong in the bar when we got back to the hostel that night, and a bar crawl starts at 1 a.m. I had another friend who stayed here a month before I did and she had an amazing time on the bar crawl. Discos in Madrid are pretty expensive (Kapitol is $20 on the weekends for entry and one free drink) but with the hostel you pay something like $12 and get admission to a few bars and a club and get a free drink or shot at each one. Expect noise whenever people get back drunk - a fight happened outside our room.

Wifi not great from second floor, but there's a common area downstairs.

Staff is very friendly! Helped us with our train ticket back home and printed it for us.

Room Tip: I prefer privates, so I'm not sure how the dorms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at 'Estacion Sur Autobuses' and were able to catch a bus (on the street just outside the terminal, i think bus 102? for 1.50 euro) to Atocha. It was a roughly 15 minute walk up Calle de Atocha to get to Cats Hostel. It was really simple to just rock up and find our way here.

Warning: Dont stay here if you want sleep.
This place is extremely noisy until the early, early hours of the morning, and the only brief period of peace is when everyone leaves for the pubcrawl at 11. On the flip side, if you (like us) have to catch a bus at 4am for the airport (google Plaza de Cibeles airport bus) it is really busy on the streets and a pretty safe walk.

Cant complain about hostel facilities. Staff were average.

Room Tip: Avoid groundfloor dorms, NOISY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackpackerNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

location is decent but there are tons of hostels in the area. I had a 10 person room and my bed was on the wall of the bar which is great unless you have a flight to catch early. Music was cranked well past 12-1 am. Every toilet was clogged upon my arrival, showers were decent. Staff was fine all I really asked for was a map...personally (if youve read this far) book a hostel nearby, come to the bar at cats to meet other travelers without dealing with the chaos yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went with a big group and loved to location and the vibe, the lounge is also very cool. A great place to go with friends and have a good time but please only stay here if you r up for partying and are not planning on having early nights and stuff otherwise it might be frustrating. Also ask for the rooms on top floor so you won't have to deal with noise issues. I had a great time but I knew what I was in for. Toilets were clean. Its got a student vibe to it so dont come expecting to find a Hilton standard at a hostel price. Location was great.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hostel had lots of activities for people to do, like free walking tours and bar crawls. I really enjoyed the free walking tour and got to meet people in the hostel. The planned activities made it a lot easier to meet and talk to people. It was nice that they have a bar in the hostel because even if you don't do the organized activities, you can meet people there over cheap (good) drinks (have the sangria). I thought it was pretty affordable for all of the extra services/activities/fun they provided.

The only negative was that the bathrooms weren't kept up very well and it was very far away from my room. It was also kind of noisy in general.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Caroline_R_12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had an awesome time. I met at least 4 people that were staying in other hostels and they actually decided to hang out over at Cat's. This place is great for partying and meeting people. The common area is really comfy which is a key for hanging out with fellow backpackers between adventures. Very centrally located and near train stations. Next time in Madrid, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#2 of 420 in Madrid
371 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#11 of 420 in Madrid
581 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 420 in Madrid
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#12 of 420 in Madrid
1,299 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 420 in Madrid
884 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#9 of 420 in Madrid
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $20 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing