We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than just a place to stay”
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #19 of 414 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hostel had lots of activities for people to do, like free walking tours and bar crawls. I really enjoyed the free walking tour and got to meet people in the hostel. The planned activities made it a lot easier to meet and talk to people. It was nice that they have a bar in the hostel because even if you don't do the organized activities, you can meet people there over cheap (good) drinks (have the sangria). I thought it was pretty affordable for all of the extra services/activities/fun they provided.

The only negative was that the bathrooms weren't kept up very well and it was very far away from my room. It was also kind of noisy in general.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Caroline_R_12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 864 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had an awesome time. I met at least 4 people that were staying in other hostels and they actually decided to hang out over at Cat's. This place is great for partying and meeting people. The common area is really comfy which is a key for hanging out with fellow backpackers between adventures. Very centrally located and near train stations. Next time in Madrid, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a very nice building in a very convenient location in Madrid. But that's just about it.

The beds are low quality. People come and go at all hours of the night. Doors slam constantly, drunk people streaming in and out at all hours making lots of noise with staff seeming not to mind.

The bar is a plus. Nice and big with inexpensive drinks. The drinks, while listed as 1 litre are about 3/4 beer and 1/4 foam. It's never a full pour.

The staff is nice as well. If you want a party hostel, this is replaced and you will really enjoy it. If you want peace and quiet after a long day of being out and around the town, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mldemmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a large (13) group of friends. We had two dorm rooms, number 12 and number 14. Overall I was really disappointed with the hostel - the building itself is beautiful, with stained glass roof in the atrium, and it is very well located in the centre of Madrid - not far at all from Plaza Mayor. However, the bunk beds were very squeaky, so whenever anyone rolled in the middle of the night, it woke others up, and there were no guard rails on top bunks, which meant real worries people might roll out in their sleep.

The hostel was VERY noisy, with people coming back at 4am and making huge amounts of noise, without any remonstration from hostel staff - not helped by the fact that all the doors to the dorm rooms slam shut, making the windows rattle. The showers have very low water pressure - it's essentially just a trickle, and the temperature varied depending on how many people were using the showers. The shower cubicles are small, and so changing in them is very difficult.

A redeeming feature, which makes it two stars, was the bar, which is very cheap (€3.50 for a litre of beer/sangria), and had plenty of space to sit and chat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street, as it's very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday. The hostel is in a good location in the centre of Madrid. The building itself is beautiful with a lovely indoor courtyard in the centre. The bedrooms and the toilets/showers were very basic but clean. It was very noisy during our stay and the breakfast was poor which would put me off going back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in the Cat’s hostel for one night and found it a decent experience. The room we stayed in was large but crammed with beds, so it got quite stuffy during the night. However there are options of smaller rooms but we were on a budget. The main common area was nice with plenty of couches and places to sit in a courtyard-like room. The breakfast was ok - cereal, toast, baked buns and tea/coffee/OJ. Enough to get us by until lunch.

Overall a nice place and good location but if you are staying here make sure to book a small dorm.

Room Tip: Book small dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagab0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here twice and really enjoyed it. The building itself is really cool, with a large circular atrium and stained glass roof, and interior balconies looking over onto this. The bathrooms are really nice and have hair dryers for women. The front desk staff were helpful in providing suggestions on where to go and what days/times things are cheaper. The hostel has a dungeon bar which smells like a mouldy wine cellar but it was kind of cool too. Location is ok if you are happy to use the metro, otherwise you'll be walking a bit, and it's up a hill if you're trying to get there from the main train station!

Room Tip: Apparently every female except me selected female-only dorm... so I was the lone girl in a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavieenrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#47 of 414 in Madrid
365 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#12 of 414 in Madrid
573 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 414 in Madrid
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#3 of 414 in Madrid
355 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 414 in Madrid
866 reviews
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#24 of 414 in Madrid
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 414 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $14 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing