We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacking essential amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace President Castellana
Ranked #139 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, breakfast buffet has a good selection.
Rooms are modern and nice, beds firm but still comfortable. No view from window but I don't expect much from a city hotel.

Major draw back; no tea, coffee or water in rooms. Disappointing for a hotel of this price and standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickJones001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htpre, Gerente at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Mr. Keynes,

First off all thank you very much for your comment given that help us to improve our services.

Above all, Mr. Keyness, I would like to express my regret and offer my apologies for the fact that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We will take under consideration your assessment about the coffee service in the room.

I would be most pleased to attend you personally in case you would like to make a new reservation in our hotel assuring you our best attention and conditions. .

Yours Sincerely,

Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 984 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a previous trip - it's so ideally located in the Salamanca district for shopping. Walking distance to other more touristy areas like Chueca, Fuencarral, Gran Via, Puerta del Sol etc. Hotel room is more than satisfactory; this is an urban city hotel it's not a resort so it's good and comfy enough for your stay: rooms are modern and clean. I do believe that the bathrooms could be refurbished from wear and tear and it could use more shelf space and a large dressing mirror. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ylean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htpre, Director General at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Ylean,

Thank you very much for your comment. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the service.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again.

King Regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great room with modern furnishings and decor, central location and nice bar in the lobby. Note that housekeeping stops at 12:30pm, so don't expect to get up late and have the option for housekeeping to clean the room later.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raingal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htpre, Director General at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Customer:

Thank you very much for your nice review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid and that you were especially pleased with the room facilities and the service.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Small hotel in good central location. Modern style, but a little faded finish. Mattress in the bed firm, and too firm for most people. (Not for me)

Drain in the shower was partially clogged, and could not drain the water when turned up to max flow, making water run everywhere on the floor.

Breakfast typical continental quality

Room Tip: Ask for room facing back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice neighbourhood,close to the main sites of Madrid, the interior was kind of dated, dark, not very wel maintained,and with the hardest matress we ever slept on, the checking staff was friendly, to bad the breakfast wasn' t included in the rate, it should have been for this price,i will not return to this hotel, my back still hurts.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardLVDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The High Tech President Castellana is just 30 steps away from Paseo de la Castellana. This is a great location if you wish to walk & explore Madrid's poshest neighborhood without depending on public transport.
Despite of the many reviews complaining about "hard beds" I found the mattress perfectly firm for a good night sleep. I guess it's a matter of personal preference. Some people like to sleep on rather soft beds, other do not. I loved the overall sleep quality and silence.
Wifi is free and works well. There is also a laptop in the room, which I reckon is just a gimmick if you carry your own equipment.
I found the room and bathroom both very clean and well equipped with plenty of amenities. Zapping a couple of minutes across all channels I noticed plenty of international TV stations in many languages.
Unfortunately I had to skip breakfast early in the morning. Maybe next time. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Gerente at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your very complimentary review of HT. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

I look forward to meeting you upon your return.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for business for one night. For a hotel in such a central location we got a great rate at Euro 85 per night. But the hotel didn't meet expectations. No gym, a mattress as hard as a wooden board, and a shower where the shower head was broken and I couldn't adjust the temperature. Hence my verdict: Won't stay there again. On the positive side: It was clean and staff was friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#116 of 442 in Madrid
856 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#164 of 442 in Madrid
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace President Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace President Castellana

Address: Calle Marques de Villamagna 4, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech President Castellana)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#141 Business Hotel in Madrid
#147 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $108 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace President Castellana 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace President Castellana Hotel is a luxury hotel on Paseo de la Castellana, with a modern design devised for business and weekend trips to Madrid. Located in the most exclusive commercial area of Madrid, this innovative hotel in La Castellana offers you luxury services and unique spaces for events: à la carte restaurants, free wifi, iPad in the room, iPod and iPhone docking station, meeting rooms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace President Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tech President Castellana Hotel Madrid
High Tech President Villamagna Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing