We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hostal, good location & good staff / En Madrid, Hostal La Plata”
Review of Hostal La Plata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal La Plata
Ranked #88 of 276 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ejido, Merida, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hostal, good location & good staff / En Madrid, Hostal La Plata”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

For its location and for its quality, Hostal La Plata is an ideal place to stay in the heart of Madrid. In Gran Via 15, a short walk from the station "Gran Vía" metro (line 5) and Puerta del Sol, with nearby bus stops and numerous shops, has to reach the main tourist attractions of the Spanish capital. This, coupled with the cleanliness of the place and the warm and friendly service of its staff makes arriving at Madrid the best option is La Plata.

Very pleasant experience to repeat.
-----

Por su ubicación y por su calidad, Hostal La Plata es un lugar ideal para hospedarse en pleno corazón de Madrid. En Gran Vía 15, a pocos pasos de la estación "Gran Vía" del metro (línea 5) y de la Puerta del Sol, con paradas de autobuses cercanas e innumerables tiendas comerciales próximas, posee al alcance del turista los principales lugares de interés de la capital hispana. Todo ello, aunado a la pulcritud del lugar y la cálida y amable atención de su personal hace que al llegar a Madrid la mejor opción sea La Plata.

Gratísima experiencia para repetirla.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OscarEFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    84
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
57
70
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Camelia and her daughter were very friendly, caring and helpful. The location of the hostal is on Gran Via and close to subway station Gran Via, may be one or to minutes on foot. I offer anyone to ask Camelia or her daughter where to go and eat. The owner is also helpful. On the subway, I was robbed. He called the police and tell the all story in Spanish and then told us what to do. Do not forget this: ring the bell once as written although your little boy ring the bell twice. otherwise Camelia will warn you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank nka-nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a very nice stay in hostel la plata. Extremly good location and very friendley staff. The room was kept nice and clean. And the price is very affordable. We will defenately stay here again the next time we go to Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanneGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezolano
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

it was more like a pension, very confortable, the owners or managers are very nice people. The beds might not be the best, but enough to have a sleep. It is very well located on the Gran Via, a few steps from a subway station and Chueca, the gay neighborhood. There are many shops and restaurant around so it would be easy to pick a place to eat every day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Right on Gran Via close to Montera, a walk or subway ride to everything you'd want to do in the middle of Madrid: Museums, the Park, shopping, restaurants, el Rastro on Sunday. Elevators (to the 4th floor, laPlata has a few rooms one flight up) and night door security. Don't let the word "hostal' put you off, it is NOT the dormitory free-for-all of our or your parents' lost youth. LaPlata is more like a 'pensione', a small family run bank of rooms, each with its own bath and most with tiny walk-out balconies overlooking the street behind Gran Via. Best part of laPlata besides location and price (45euro for a double!!) is the management. Fernando, Juliana, and Camelia (who all speak English!!) just made our stay so much more personal; they directed us to restaurants the locals frequent and helped us get an interim room for our return stay (we had a few days in Madrid then 2+weeks in Morocco with another 3 nights in Madrid on our return...we could only get 2 nights with them and they found a spot for us for the 3d at one of the other hostals in the building).
Downsides (if you live long enough you will see there are ALWAYS pluses and minuses): only one outlet in the room...but I had brought a converter and a 3 outlet plug-in so I was able to charge the cell, my Kindle and computer at once...just make sure you shut the toilet, outlet's in the bathroom!! The street out back Caballero de Gracia can get a bit raucous...there are 2 sets of windows to shut out the party and those work pretty well. Rooms are small and bath tiny but friends were paying upwards of 150euro for the equivalent of a Red Roof room...I would take the warmth, location and money saved at laPlata ANYday!!
Just a little bonus here: there is a WONDERFUL set of shops tucked upstairs from a standard grocery store. I only know how to get there like this:
out the door at laPlata, turn right and cross Gran Via at Clavel...go up Clavel 4-5 long blocks to Figueroa and turn right one block and find Mercado de San Anton...there is a COR supermarket at street level but UPstairs is a WONDERFUL stall market with cheese and fab meats, pastries...we bought wine, fruit and goodies, took it all to the beautiful park and had a fab dinner where people have picniced for hundreds of years...
Also there is the Gloria Montera restaurant on Caballero de Gracia behind laPlata with pretty good food and prices...the waiters are snotty but so what...another block back on los Jardines is a little Internet place to get a SIM card if you brought an unlocked euro phone or you can just get a cheap phone for 20euro from them and save a bundle on cell calls!! These only work in Spain as far as I know but the minutes are dirt cheap and you can call the US no problem!!
I would stay at laPlata any time I am in Madrid...clean and warm!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crux101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I visited Madrid for the second time this year. This time I wanted to find the cheap hotel which was close to the Plaza de Cibeles. So it was the perfect choice for this. I slept there only one night. The room was almost at the roof, very tiny, and the bathroom would not be apprioprate for someone who is more than 1,80 m tall :) The bath was just too tiny :) And I did not like the wooden stairs which were necessary to use to get to my room. Not recommend it for people with small children - to tricky! But for one night - just great location.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the 4th floor and at the 5th (which was the attic before I guess). If you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Felipe V
Hostal Felipe V
#285 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
#388 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Pereda Hs
Hostal Pereda Hs
#316 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Jerez
Hostal Jerez
#39 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Centro
Hostal Avenida
Hostal Avenida
#105 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Centro
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
#89 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Plata

Property: Hostal La Plata
Address: Calle Gran Via 4B, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal La Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Plata Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing