We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE MADRID”
Review of Hostal La Plata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal La Plata
Ranked #88 of 276 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    84
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
57
70
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I visited Madrid for the second time this year. This time I wanted to find the cheap hotel which was close to the Plaza de Cibeles. So it was the perfect choice for this. I slept there only one night. The room was almost at the roof, very tiny, and the bathroom would not be apprioprate for someone who is more than 1,80 m tall :) The bath was just too tiny :) And I did not like the wooden stairs which were necessary to use to get to my room. Not recommend it for people with small children - to tricky! But for one night - just great location.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the 4th floor and at the 5th (which was the attic before I guess). If you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I visited Madrid at the start of September - the Hostal could be a little tricky to find the first time but once you find it (not far from the bus or metro stop) you won't miss it again.

The rooms were very tidy - well decorated and cosy for a single person and/or a couple that are looking for a place to stay. The size is tiny, but it was more than enough. The bathroom could have been a dissapointment but you get what you pay for!

Have the door man down the bottom is good as well as feeling a bit more secure - he was more than happy to help after knowing you were staying there rather than being a simple door man.

If I was to come back to Madrid, I would visit this place as the room and location was about the best of my four week trip throughout Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service desk - otherwise you may have a bit of noise from all the comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desiderious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Location: Great, in Gran via, walking distance to many of the attraccions and main sights. Grand building.
Cleanliness: Good enough. Shower was leaking, they didn't change the towels in 3 nights.I think that the cleaner had a lazy weekend.
Service: very nice people, friendly and helpful.
Value: we couldn't find a double room so we had to stay on a triple (eur60 a night)
The walls are thin, yes, not easy to sleep when you have a drunk man next door shouting at 5am on a Sunday morning.
All in all, good enough, we will go back.
Madrid is one of the best cities I've ever visited, I had a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia; Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hostal is very decently priced but you are getting what you are paying for. The rooms are tiny, but cozy(ish) and very clean. It was nice to have a private bath. The downside is that the hostal itself is has thin walls and thus can be very loud if people are in the halls. On the upside the location could not be better. It is located on the Gran Via and just one small street from Puerta del Sol. The majority of the staff is very friendly, although there was one woman who was rude. The security is also excellent, during the day you must be buzzed in and in the night there is a 24hr. doorman. For people on budget I would highly recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2008

this hostal was in a great location, walking distance to most of madrid and very close to both metro and bus stops.
the only downside is the very small bathrooms and the badly maintained shower. its quite easy to overlook the size of the bathroom if they were well maintained. they were in working condition but the shower handles and the telephone style shower handles they like to use in europe are cumbersome if they have to be handheld the whole time.
there are two women who take turns handling reception at night, the older one is quite rude. i hope the owners do something about this.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rude older woman at reception
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inxs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Felipe V
Hostal Felipe V
#285 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
#388 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Pereda Hs
Hostal Pereda Hs
#316 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Jerez
Hostal Jerez
#39 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Centro
Hostal Avenida
Hostal Avenida
#105 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Centro
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
#89 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Plata

Property: Hostal La Plata
Address: Calle Gran Via 4B, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal La Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Plata Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing