We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric Tapas Restaurant”

Las Brasas De Vulcano
Ranked #2,301 of 10,916 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $9 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Huertas
Description: Parrillada y Carnes a las Brasas por la manos de Vulcano! En la mitologia griega, el mito que explica el origen del fuego es el mito de Prometeo, un titan hijo de Japeto y Climene, cuyo nombre, en griego, significa Vidente. En cierta ocasion estallo una disputa sobre que parte de la victima de un sacrificio correspondia a los dioses y cual a los humanos. Prometeo, elegido juez, hizo dos bolsas con el pellejo del animal, en una deposito su carne tapada por las visceras y en la otra puso los huesos cubiertos con la grasa atractivamente colocada. Entonces, le pidio a Zeus que eligiera una de ellas. Este selecciono la de huesos, pues le parecio la mas atractiva, pero cuando se dio cuenta del engano, arrebato el fuego a los hombres. La cultura griega veneraba a dos dioses del fuego: Hestia (en la mitologia romana, Vesta) y Hefestos (Vulcano). Las Brasas de Vulcano se la devuelven de forma carnal y satisfactoria... Vente a conocernos!
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Tapas Restaurant”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On our last night in Madrid we found this great restaurant just off Plaza Santa Ana. We had intended to just have a beer, so sat outside in the narrow street watching the world go by with a plate of complimentary chicken wings. When it started to pour with rain we ducked inside and decided to try a few tapas - deep fried croquettes, Spanish tortilla etc.
Friendly waiter who made sure we didn't order too much, I wish we'd found this earlier as I would have liked to return and for Madrid the price was extremely reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    107
    54
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good prices”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and were happy that we did. Good paella, excellent gazpacho de Andalusia and fried anchovies. Cold beer, tasty sangria, great service. We ate here twice! Under 20€ for two people each time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmiersbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special. The bull's tail is tasty to eat it but you must not think ... The paella is not nothing special! The sangria is tasty and the place is typical.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aegleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Amience, Friendly Servers”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I first ate here with a group, which I would recommend in the future. We had a variety of the raciones and sangria. I returned as a single diner, and had a great Ribera del Duoro, but wasn't really hungry and thought that I'd order an empanada, which turned out to be huge. The restaurant is in a beautiful building in central Madrid with beautiful furnishings. The staff are a kick. I think that this restaurant is really best for a group, but do recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Looking touristy, tasting fab.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the outside, a tourist restaurant in the heart of Madrid: with typical Spanish tiles decor, and offers paella and sangria. However, the menu offers much more than that: their tender battered calamari, their delicious oxtail (try it!), mussels in vinaigrette, octopus salad and its grilled fish or meat. The service is quick and by no means inattentive. Excellent value for money hard to find in the area. Highly recommended for visitors or locals. It has a small terrace in summer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterElbaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Brasas De Vulcano also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Las Brasas De Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing