We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolce Vita
Ranked #35 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hostel has a rooftop terrace, which was beautiful! There are potted plants everywhere, and it offers a great view. Madrid generally has great weather, so my boyfriend and I were able to have breakfast up there several times (even in November). The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The hostel is less than a 5-minute walk from Gran Via and only about a 10- or 15-minute walk from Sol, so it's in a great location. The rooms are cute and colorful and the lobby has a very warm feeling. Now that it's the holiday season, the owners put up a Christmas tree at the top of the stairway and lights both there and in the lobby. There was a bathroom in the room with a great shower (a nice stream from the showerhead!), which was also great. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is a rooftop terrace, it is amazing! I think it is one of the best views in Madrid, and you can use it for free.
Dolcevita falls somewhere between a hostal and a hotel. It offers the budget friendly accommodation of a hostel, but you get your own beautifully decorated room.
I stayed there for more than a week, and the service was amazing the entire time. I don't think you can find a more kind staff. They helped me understand Spain, and how to enjoy my stay not only in the Hostel, but also how to enjoy the city.
I think previous reviewers were insane, the hostel was very clean. The sheets were cleaned between each use, and the bathrooms were cleaned multiple times a day.
Fun neighborhood!
The decorations are beautiful, who ever decorated the hostel has an amazing eye.
I will stay in this Hostel again when I return to Madrid!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samesilvermoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed 3 nights, in a single bed with shared bath and had a nice experience. The walk up the stairs would be difficult if you had a lot of luggage (I did not).
The room was charming, clean, and had a cute little balcony overlooking the street.
The staff was very friendly, and helpful, and it felt secure. They are very careful who gets past the desk.
The only downside was the street was incredibly noisy. I live in NYC, and I am used to street noise, but this was very loud. Still, to me it added to the charm of the city. But if you have issues with noise, request not to look out on the street, I believe they had rooms that looked inward.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

colorful rooms, internet, confy bad.
Reception 24hrs a day.
It's a very friendly place. Didn't want to live, I felt like at home!!!
It's not far from Plaza del Sol, in the CHUECA area.
Great experience! If I'll ever go back to Mdrid, I'll book a room again!
(nb: it's located on the 4th floor and there is no lift!)
One thing to add: the only thing missing in the room was a hairdryer!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We are a couple, and we visited the dolce vita hostel, and I would like to know everybody that is dirty!!!! NOT RECOMENED! and rude personal service!!! and my bed was dirty, I guess was used from somebody else and it doesn't clean it before my use.
Was missing 2 pants of my bags!!!!!!... (my favourites) :(

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank habia_una_vez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignazio g, Gerente at Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada señorita, dudo mucho que haya estado en este noble Hostal, seguramente ha estado en otros sitios.Nadie de la gente que trabaja aquí la han vista. Ademas es imposible que aquí le roben algo.
Si supiera la ropa que regalamos a quien lo necesita, también le digo algo mas, nos da bastante asco ponernos ropa usada .
También le digo algo mas ,si me robaran algo en un hotel como mínimo hablaría con el propietario y después lo denunciaría a la policía.
Que sea feliz señorita que todos lo necesitamos, pero, deje en paz a quien esta trabajando honestamente.
Muchos saludos Querida .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here for only 1 night and was pleasantly surprised by how well I slept and how nice the facilities were considering it was so cheap. It's true that it's on the 2nd floor and there is no lift, so if you have a big suitcase then maybe this isn't the place for you. My single room had 3 beds, a fireplace and a table and chairs and was very nicely decorated. It wasn't the cleanest hotel room ever but it wasn't disgusting and was very good for the price paid. The shared bathroom was right next to my room and I didn't have to wait to use it. It was very clean and the shower was hot and powerful. There is free wi-fi which reached my room and was fast enough. The only weird thing is that you have to leave your key at reception when you go out but that wasn't really a problem.
My room (307) faced out onto the street but with the shutters closed it was very quiet and I slept well. I didn't find noise from other guests to be a problem either (possibly because I was next to the bathroom, not another room).
The location is good, very close to Chueca metro station and within walking distance of all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My stay at Dolcevita was great! The room 407, where I stayed, is this cute, cozy challet-like bedroom with private bathroom, with a romantic decoration. The hostal is located in one of the coolest neighbourhoods in Madrid - Chueca - with walking distance to all the main touristic sites, as well as tapa bars, restaurants, etc. The Staff was very kind and helpful, and were very understanding when I had to leave earlier than planned and cancel my last night. All in all, a great experience. Would definetely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 424 in Madrid
267 reviews
Centro
Mucho Madrid
Mucho Madrid
#57 of 424 in Madrid
157 reviews
Huertas
Far Home Atocha Hostel
Far Home Atocha Hostel
#37 of 424 in Madrid
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#20 of 424 in Madrid
550 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#4 of 424 in Madrid
380 reviews
Malasana
Mad4You Hostel
Mad4You Hostel
#28 of 424 in Madrid
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Vita

Address: Calle San Bartolome 4 | Esquina con calle de San Marcos, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $48 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the chirpy bedrooms of the Dolce Vita. Bright colours will lift your mood and quirky lamps mounted on the walls will create a warm, tinted glow. Corridors are illuminated with heart-shaped lights and the impressive staircase is adorned with fresh plants. The Dolce Vita is housed within a building typical of Madrid with wooden beams, attractive sloped ceilings, floor-length French windows and pretty balconies overlooking the streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Dolcevita Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing