We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in central location”
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #97 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in the superior room.

1) Location. Easy to find as it's situated right in front of Gran Via station if you're traveling via their metro/trains. Taking a cab is easy too as it's next to a main road.
Easily accessible to cafes and fast food. Macdonalds is located on the first floor of the hotel building. Zara, H&M is just along the stretch of street.

2) WiFi. Strong signal even in the room! Fast and reliable.

3) Pillows! This hotel provide four pillows for my queen size bed. I stayed in 3 hotels throughout my stay in Spain and all but Praktik Metropol provide a two measly and flat pillows.

4) Smart concept of maximizing space. The room is small but there's enough wardrobe to place your small bags or utilities.

5) There's hairdryer, safe box, and body wash and shampoo provided. The latter are packaged in cool bottles too, I must say!

The only downside is that the heater didn't work so well when I was there in the cold months of Jan.

Do check out their roof garden for a fantastic view of Madrid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidah_sgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice review about Praktik Metropol.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we apologize fir the inconvenience you had withe the heating. We always invite our guests to ask for help to our staff at anytime, so we can check and try to solve the problem right away.

We lok forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards from Madrid!

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I highly recommend Hotel Praktik Metropol in Madrid. I went over the new year with girlfriends and we had the most fantastic stay. Perfectly situated - in the heart of it all, we walked everywhere from this location.
The hotel itself is effortless stylish and the staff Mari & Javier were simply outstanding. Polite, helpful and charming they really made the stay for us.
The rooms are small but beautifully furbished to maximise space. We had a balcony overlooking the Gran Via and the small ensuite was squeaky clean and and had a deluxe finish. The roof top balcony is the cherry on the top. It really is the most impressive 'budget' hotel I have ever stayed in.
The only negative is that the aircon units are pretty noisy - you can sometimes hear running water and it can really get on your nerves. When mentioning this to reception they apologised and offered to move me to another room - it was better but I could still hear it.
Despite this I wouldnt hesitate to stay again, I really loved it. Thank you Mari & Javier!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your beautiful review about Praktik Metropol.

We are really glad to know that you had a wonderful time here in Madrid and that you enjoyed our design, location and service!

We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future!

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Praktik is located in Gran Via with Montera, definitely the best location you can hope for. The hotel is a renovated building with a big care for design.

White rooms are beautiful, simple and a real delight. Very clean rooms and a good bedding.

We had a bit of inconvenient with service as the girl in reception was not the best.
She was not helpful when we needed to get some tickets for Real Madrid and the web page wasn't working, could had helped us by phone.
When we called to confirm our taxi for the airport, the other girl told us she had forgotten to book our taxi.

It is a very good hotel, and will definitely go back! Just hope next time the girl is more into helping!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaefdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

It's really a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Metropol, and thank you very much for sharing your experience with other users.
We are really glad to know you found attractive and comfortable our design and style.
We are sorry for the inconvenience you had with the service, I'll personally investigate about it and I truly apologize for that. We really work hard to provide the best service that we can, it might have been an unfortunate circumstance.

We hope to see you again and in the meantime wesend you our best regards from Madrid!

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a beautiful room we had, one of three corner rooms available directly facing the Gran Via. We were treated to a wall of windows that opened up onto a narrow wrap-around balcony. Really, the architecture of the space was stunning, even if it might be commonplace in historical Madrid. This hotel really is a super glorified hostel though. For anybody who has been to the Hotel Michelberger in Berlin, this is that same concept of affordable rooms, with a common area for hipsters on their laptops to congregate. As beautiful as that common area is however, without hotel bar or cafe, staying around to enjoy the hotel really is difficult. Service is bare-bones but friendly. Biggest drawback is the location which is just off Calle Montera which is full of prostitutes, their suitors, and the policeman that heckle them, at night. I can recommend this hotel if you are on a strict budget.

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review about your stay at Praktik Metropol.

As you mentioned, our concept is to provide a comfortable rooms in a listed building nicely decorated, in a very centric location at an affordable price. We do not provide services like bar or restaurant because we are surrounded by infinitive food choices. However, we do allow guests eat or drink in the common areas.

About the location that you consider a drawback, we actually find it very convenient to explore Madrid. Just in front of the Hotel you have Gran Via metro station, we are also very close to Puerta del Sol and a lot of points of interest. As in other big towns, being in the very center can mean having to deal with this kind of situations. The most important thing is however, that is safe in the day and night.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in madrid twice on December and I wish I stayed here on both occasions. This hotel is funky but I loved it. Loved the terrace and the views. Room was small but comfortable with a walk in closet. Bed was comfortable. We requested a taxi for 5 in the morning and it was there on time to take us to the airport. Customer service was the best! We got there early and we were able to check in with no problem. Location is the best, right next to the metro station and very close to Chueca the gay area. Loved the decor in the hallways and the lobby. From now on I will stay in this hotel every time I go to Madrid.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Pasquale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your nice review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and you like the design, the convenient location, the roof terrace with its amazing view and the service of the hotel.
Thank you again for your wonderful review and we really look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have some very negative opinions about Madrid, but in terms of this hotel, I have nothing but praise of what they are trying to do. It resides in a building that houses two other hostels, but this is where the similarities end. Hotel Praktik has an excellent feel to it. From the funky reception come meeting space to the rooms themselves this place really works. Being right on a busy square you would think that the rooms would be noisy and uncomfortable. Not so! Our room looked right onto the square and you could barely hear a thing. The hotel also has full acces to the roof top with some sensational views of this side of the city; for example a view down to the Metropol. If you come in summer (probably the better time of the year), the added touch of a rooftop shower to cool of with is a nice touch. Have to say that this has been the highlight of Madrid in an otherwise disappointing visit to this city.

Room Tip: Definitely want a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about Praktik Metropol.
We are sorry to hear that your visit to Madrid was disappointing but we are glad to know that at least you were happy with the accommodation.
It's a pleasure to hear that the hotel style matched with your tastes and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!

Best Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 438 in Madrid
1,763 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#124 of 438 in Madrid
3,553 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
#148 of 438 in Madrid
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Address: C/ Montera 47, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#88 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $72 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing