We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but not accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Triball
Ranked #71 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location, but not accessible”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, at the corner of Gran Via and Calle Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada. It's just a short walk to Puerta del Sol and all the main sights in Madrid are within walking distance.

The Tourist Office in Madrid sent me a list of hotels with adapted rooms According to the list, three Petit Palace hotels have spacious bathrooms with good accessibility. However, the information about Petit Palace Italia was not correct. The bathroom in the "adapted room" was not accessible, it was impossible for my wife and friends to transfer me from the wheelchair!

Fortunately, there is an accessible bathroom in the cellar, that bathroom is actually quite good. If you want a well adopted room, you will need to double check the information given by the Tourist Office.

Another problem is that the hotel is facing Gran Via, one of the busiest streets in Madrid. In other words, there is traffic and lots of people during the night, which can be quite disturbing.

The hotel offers free Wifi access in the room and the service is good In case we return to Madrid, we'll definitely stay somewhere else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zizu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Triball, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thanks for your comments. We are very sorry to hear from you that the bathroom in your room was not accessible for you, since our rooms are homologated as adapted rooms for disable guests.
However it is true that there are some motor wheel chairs which are more difficult to use on our adapted rooms as they are bigger than no-motored chairs.

We really appreciate you take your time writing about your experience at our hotel and we take note about your comments to improve our services for your next time at our city.

Thanks again for your time and king regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    304
    102
    29
    16
See reviews for
278
193
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

When we visited, they were doing some construction and there was some scaffolding by the front. Overall, it was a great hotel. It seemed like it was newly and there was even a laptop in our room. The hotel is located just minutes from the Gran Via subway station and McDonald's. And about a 10 minute walk to Sol. There are a ton of restaurants/cafes in the area including Pan Breads just around the corner and more. Great location to go shopping, literally steps away from H&M, Zara, Lefties, etc... You willl find lot's of these stores through the Sol area! El Corte Ingles is down the road in Sol for all you shopping afficionados!
It was my second time in Madrid, I visited with family. Just a warning however, I saw at least on one occassion a prostitute hanging near the alleyway... and you must buzz to get in. But overall, a pleasant stay. Not sure I would stay here again given that there are other hotels in the area. But I would recommend this for families or someone with a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crys_travels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, online sales department at Petit Palace Triball, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you say, our hotel is in the city center.
We hope see you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is clean and the beds are all right. Service is friendly.
Don't expect much.
They speak English well. We also bought the tour bus ticket on the front desk and they explained us everything correctly.

Really well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FPinto2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I traveled to Spain with a group of students and teachers, and our tour company booked this hotel for us. I was very pleased with the location--very close to metro stops, close to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. Lots to do within very short distance of this hotel, especially shopping. Truly a great location. But, as other reviewers have stated, there is a weird sewage-like smell in the rooms. Rooms are a little tired-looking, too.. Showers are best thing about rooms-- students loved them! Rooms for 4-5 people are crowded. Putting bunk beds in a room not really designed for bunk beds is not a good idea. I think a family would find the family rooms too small. Front desk clerks not particularly friendly. Front doors are always locked. You ring a bell and they buzz you in. Currently, the entire front of the hotel is covered in scaffolding. I thought we would hear a lot of construction noise, but we didn't. Never even saw anyone working. There's a grocery store just down the street from hotel. Breakfast buffet had a good variety of foods on it, and servers kept it well-stocked. If I were booking my own rooms, I probably would not choose this hotel again due to the smell of the rooms and the old furnishings in the room (torn curtains, for example). But if you don't care about stuff like that, the location is fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank she23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Triball, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

First of all, thanks for your feedback. It is always good to receive reviews from our customers in order to improve our services. We deeply regret the incidents that you say. We hope we get another chance to show that we have solved it and you change your mind.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very nicely located this hotel is nothing special but nice for a weekend and very good value for money. The rooms smell a bit weird, I don't know which air freshener they use but it is definitely not the best,however the rooms are spacious and the bathroom was quite ok. Service was not as bad as other reviewers posted though, just basic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here with some friends who I travel with often. I am the one to usually book our hotel stays, yet this time due to time constraints I left it to the others to book. The hotel fit our needs and we were able to fit 4 in a room, something which we do not usually need to do - one reason why we had slim pickings in our choice of hotels. The location was excellent and that was really the best thing about the hotel. Otherwise, I didn't really deal much with the staff except for obtaining a code for the internet. We only stayed for 3 days. Would probably not stay there again as there are many other hotels to pick from for comparable or better prices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

There was a sewage smell so bad in this place that you had to hold your breath in the halls. I think there was a back up or something which was too bad because the location is great...the room was great...the service was great. But OMG the smell was so bad when you left your room that you had to leave the hotel immediately. The entertainment was watching the prostitutes on the corner. They are everywhere but don't worry...they are harmless.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
#147 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Triball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Triball

Property: Petit Palace Triball
Address: Calle Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada 2 | esquina con C/ Gran Vía, 32, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Italia)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Triball 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit Palace triball has been entirely renovated and transformed into a modern 3-star hotel, with the latest services and equipment and the most innovative technology making it one of the best hotels in the heart of Madrid. The hotel, which is both elegantly furnished and well equipped, offers all types of commodities and installations, like hydro-massage showers, free safety boxes, free Wi-fi Premium connection and Free use of Ipad (subject to availability). All rooms are stylish and comfortable, with the latest in advanced technologies. We will be more than happy to attend your special requests (bed type, room views, special bedding for pets...) The staff is friendly and helpful and will be more than happy to inform you on the best restaurants, shopping and places to visit. Amongst other free services, the hotel offers free WIFI connection throughout the building and free bicycles rent (subject to availability). A luminous meeting room with exterior views is available with free Internet connection (please contact the hotel for more details) and two free Internet points are to be found in the hall, making your stay in the Petit Place Triball ideal for business and vacation travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Petit Palace Triball reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Italia Madrid
Petit Palace Italia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing