We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #112 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“superb service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved our stay at the Palacio del Retiro. Service was excellent and we liked the location that was near a pedestrian street that took us directly to plaza del mayor. Also, it is very close to the museum and there is a big park in front. Rooms were clean and luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    153
    50
    22
    9
See reviews for
93
252
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week in June. It was a great stay. The hotel building is beautiful and the interior design is very chic. The bed is super comfortable and the service is fantastic. The location is also very good. You can walk to all the must-sees in Madrid from this hotel. It is a block away from the Prado museum and it is opposite the Retiro park. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to Plaza Mayor and Gran Via for shopping.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's planning to have a superb time in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor which was a clean, bright and modern with a huge shower and bath. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, advising us on the best places to eat and where to visit to get the most out of our stay. All the major sights are within walking distance and there are plenty of bars and cafes for stops along the way. The Gran Cafe just round the corner is a great place for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emm1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location. A boutique hotel. Although has no executive lounge like all other Marriott premium brands- but it is great. Very effecient, polite and adequate service. High quality amenities. I would surely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubieDunietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As my title states, I guess we had different expectations for a self-named 5 star property. We have stayed at many gorgeous properties throughout the world and honestly, I felt like we had better service and accommodations at a Hampton Inn.

My husband is fluent in Spanish and it was only until he started speaking in Spanish that they level of service improved. I will also state that my husband is a Marriott Platinum member and that did not improve the service either.

The rooms were recently renovated, but I found the materials chosen to be cheap. I get that this hotel is in an older building, but obviously, the workmanship was recent. I love the charm of older buildings. But the contrast of the room to the beautiful character of the building was just off. The floors were laminate, holes in the tiles, TERRIBLE job caulking. Everything was glass in the bathroom, so when using the facilities, your spouse could hear everything. Every woman wants a little privacy, no matter how close she is with her husband.

I guess the reason why the poor workmanship bothered me so much is that we chose the hotel over others for the level of service and accommodations known for 5 star. Seeing poor grout, holes in tiles just reminds me of the work & money we need to do on our basement bathroom....hardly what I call relaxing. Also, it leads to whether the room is safe....as the water could get inside the wall and lead to mold. Just unacceptable.

At around 200 Euro per night, this hotel does not measure up.

Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshewwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great place to stay if you don't want to be in all the noise of City Center, yet still within walking distance to all the great places to see. The bartender was always there when we were ready for a cold bevarage after touring the city. The staff was very nice and helpful.

The hotel is very modern inside. The rooms are big and have all the amenities. I will say that if you are sharing a room with someone that you do not know intimatey, the bathroom situation maybe a bit difficult. I was there with my spouse and so it was not an issue.

The rooms have beautiful views and the hotel and area was very upscale and safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights. We used Marriott points for one night and paid for the other. We were upgraded to a spacious deluxe room. Upon check in, we were escorted to our room by one of the staff who explained all the amenities of the room and made sure that everything met our expectations. The only glitch was that the room lacked a security box. Apparently, the person checking us in was not aware as he had us sign off for the "key". The staff person who escorted us to the room quickly attempted to resolve the situation. Unfortunately, all of the rooms in our category were booked, so we could not move to another room. The front desk staff stored our valuables in their office safe. They sent us a bottle of cava and some sweets for our inconvenience.

The room was located on a side street with a partial view of Retiro Park. It was one of the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in as it had soundproof doors installed in front of the original doors. We were very pleased with the size and comfort of our room.

The location across from Retiro Park could not have been better. It was convenient to everything that we wanted to do. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Madrid.

Finally, as Marriott Gold members, we received complimentary continental breakfast which consisted of toast, fruit compote, some small croissants, coffee and orange juice. The price would have been about 19 Eur per person which would have been way overpriced. We had the option of a fuller breakfast at a reduced amount...originally it would have been about 28 or 29 Eur per person...again, way overpriced.

Again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeraldWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#82 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing