We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alfonso XII Street, 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Paseo del Prado)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #107 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. Perfect location and just the right size. We enjoy staying in hotels with a past. The front desk staff was very attentive and always knew our names as we were coming and going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardTigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    138
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
81
218
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Highly recommend staying here. It's right across the park, with a short walk to the metro. The rooms are not of a stereotypical "European small" variety. Croissant + coffee is included if you're Marriott platinum. Paying full fare for a breakfast is not worth it, however - it's pretty overpriced then. If you walk 5 mins, there is a street called Calle de Montalbán with 4-5 restaurants as an alternative. Cafe Cibeles is really good.

Overall, I highly recommend staying here, very nice, clean, modern hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms seem bigger but they face a wall of a building next to the hotel. Didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LobsterDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here one night at the end of a five-week trip, arriving in the rain and leaving at 6:45 a.m. The young lady at the desk was very warm and welcoming. The porter was gone when we arrived but returned in time to take our luggage to our room. He offered us restaurant recommendations but we did not want to go out. The bartender was very nice, brought us food and wine. Dinner at 8:30 was too late for us as we were very tired, so we enjoyed our snack in the bar which sufficed for dinner. The room was very comfortable, we were awakened as requested, breakfast was brought to our room at 5:45 and we left in time to get our plane to the U.S. The ultra modern decor in the lobby of the historic building seemed jarring at first, but our room was well-equipped, bathroom had separate tub and shower, double basins, all very nice. We will stay at this hotel again if we are in Madrid.

Room Tip: We had room 404 and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love:
- the location, walkable to museums, old town, shopping and just across from retiro park
- the stylish contemporary decoration in a wonderful historical building
- Laura the housekeeper for her great job she did, rooms perfectly neat
- Molton Brown toiletries in bathrooms
- Breakfast buffet with excellent products

I liked less:
- WiFi not free in rooms

Room Tip: corner room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The location is great and the building is beautiful. The staff is very unwelcoming and have no desire to be nice or graceful. There is no concierge, and the staff are clueless of the city, restaurants and entertainment. Asked twice for help with a reservation in a restaurant, after 245 minutes decided to make it myself. The decor of the rooms is like it came from Ikea, good looking, but very cheap. The rug is old and dirty. Fr a four or three star hotel I would have rated it better. But if they claim 5 starts and they charge for it, they should give 5 start service, clean rooms, and good furniture.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monsterloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel ideally situated if plan is to visit old Madrid and local areas. Staff very helpful in recommending where to eat and visit. Rooms decorated a bit too modern given the history of the building but very very comfortable.

Front bar area much too dark and uninviting, feels like it was just thrown in and not planned out and does not match rest of hotel.

Will definitely return

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dudley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in September and although the hotel is lovely in regards to decor and location we had an unfortunate discussion with management regarding customer service. They provide free access to their spa and free wifi in the lobby and restaurant but charge the customer for wifi in their rooms.

We requested free wifi in our rooms as we were staying for a long period and the room was over $300AUD per night and they would not comply. They insultingly offered us one hour free. We have stayed in tiny hotels in rural spain for 35 euro and they could supply free wifi but apparently AS Palacio do not feel this service should be included. Instead every time you wanted to access the internet you had to go downstairs and sit in the lobby or the bar to do so.

Poor service AC, shame on you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRAR6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#8 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Address: Alfonso XII Street, 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing