We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, simple hotel in a great location.”
Review of Hostal Pereda Hs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Pereda Hs
Ranked #316 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, simple hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location that makes it really easy to visit all of Madrid on foot or by metro. It was clean and cheerful and the staff helpful. The rooms were simple but it was great! I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    76
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
21
82
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our two nights stay here. We booked a double room for my husband & myself and a triple room for our two young adult children and their friend. The rooms were very spacious and surprisingly very quiet, as we were very close to the busy main road. The double room had plenty of storage, extra blanket in the wardrobe, a safe, separate lounge, ensuite, balcony, 22" flat screen TV and heating. The dbl bed was comfortable, but the floor boards were quite creaky (old building). The triple room with ensuite was nice and comfy with balcony views up & down the main Gran Via drag. Felt very safe here & I loved the feel and the original features of this beauty. We were greeted by the lovely Senora Lopez, who spoke English and gave us a bit of history about the place. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. Close to the Gran Via metro, beautiful clothing stores and lovely places to dine. You can hop onto the Madrid City Tour bus (stop 7) just two minutes around the corner. Hostal Pereda is the place to stay, great location, value for money and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupastrPocketknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I gather that Madrid hotels and hostals are not of the same standard as say London's are. This was discouraging for my British friends...However, Pereda was rather nice. The location is fantastic, right on the Gran Via and very safe. The rooms have recently been renovated and are quite spacious. My only criticism was that the bathrooms could use a similar updating. However, for under £50 a night right in the centre of Madrid? That's something that can be dealt with. Particularly because I had no other problems with the rooms or hotel. 24 hour reception desk, free wifi in lobby and balconies overlooking the Gran Via. Very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgolob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I visited Madrid with my sister in March 2013 and decided to stay in the Hostal Pereda even though the reviews on Trip Advisor were varied. As students we were on a budget and was planning on spending a four days in Madrid shopping and sightseeing. The hotel was in a perfect location, on the Gran Via, with a great view of it from our balcony and right next to the metro so we didn't have far to haul our suitcases. Unlike some of the other reviews, we didn't see any prostitutes outside the hotel, with most of them seeming to congregate on the other side of the Gran Via so not a problem at all. The hotel itself is really quirky with beautiful old ceilings and some original features like the doors and windows left in, although the laminated floors were a bit of a disappointment. I could really imagine it being an expensive boutique hotel if it was renovated with a bit more care but nonetheless, it had a great old spanish feeling. It's also important to note that 'Hostal' does not mean hostel in Spain. A hostal is a small hotel and that's exactly what it is. We were very impressed and would expect there to be nothing for as cheap a price and such a location in the city. The only downside is the lack of plug sockets, we ended up charging our phones in the bathroom!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyBlake98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent one night in Hostal Pereda, January 30/February 31, in a double room with balcony, and paid 45 eur/night/room.
The hotel is perfectly located at the exit of the metro station Gran Via, on the second floor of one of the monumental building that line the street (entrance is on via Valverde, around the corner of the Sphera shop at the groundfloor). There is an elevator in the building (but for the ones with heavy luggage keep in mind that the Gran Via underground station is an older one and there are some flights of steps where you have to carry your luggage with no elevator alternative). The area is perfect for shopping and one can easy access all the sites using the very extensive metro network of Madrid.
The personnel at Pereda were extremely nice and helpful. We reached the hotel early in the morning (9 am) coming from Toledo); the room that we were supposed to have was not ready at the time, but I asked the reception for a room with balcony (since I am a smoker and my room-mate is not); the gentleman on duty understood our request and found us a room with a balcony that happened to be ready, so we checked-in immediately. The room we had was at the 7th floor, you have to ring the interphone and the reception will unlock the entrance to the hall, then you get to your room.
The room was basic, it included a safe and a hairdryer was provided on request. It had heating (very convenient since we travelled in January), with nice furniture and spotless clean. There was not a breakfast option for the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at Pereda and we will return when visiting Madrid again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia_Aliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hostel is clean and very quaint with buckled hardwood floors and rooms with wrought iron balconies that overlook a busy street. It is right across from the subway which is great for getting around.

However, the entrance to the hostel is off a side street and there were always at least three prostitutes sitting outside the door. Half a block down is an 'erotic sex show' and this area was very seedy. My pre-teen daughters were fascinated by the hookers and watched them furtively from our balcony.

There is lots of shopping up and down the busy street outside the hotel and also lots of restaurants. So this aspect is good.

However, there is no air conditioning, only fans.

Not a great family place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank look4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Galway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was relatively cheap to stay here, considering it's located just off Gran Via with access to everything on your doorstep.
The reception staff was friendly and helpful. The hallways were quaint and like something out of a vintage postcard. There was no aircon but we managed to buy a fan (which made it's way to friends thereafter). The room and bathroom are all very dated but it suits it and gives an antique sort of charm to the place. Would stay again, though may run out of places to store our fans!
Breakfast is basic, but does ok for a snack before getting something in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
#198 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Chueca
Hostal Splendid
Hostal Splendid
#327 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Arosa
Hotel Arosa
#240 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Chueca
Hostal San Lorenzo
Hostal San Lorenzo
#321 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Los Alpes
Hostal Los Alpes
#32 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Pereda Hs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Pereda Hs

Property: Hostal Pereda Hs
Address: Calle Valverde 1 20 Piso | Calle de Valverde Nº 1 (2º Piso), 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Pereda Hs 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Pereda Hs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pereda Hs Hotel Madrid
Pereda Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing