We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location and Price in Madrid!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Ranked #118 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best Location and Price in Madrid!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I visit Madrid frequently and have stayed at various hotels but finding this little gem was a gift. It is located right next to the Puerta de Sol and a couple of minutes from la Plaza Mayor, Cebeles, metros, taxis, El Prado Museum, etc. You get the point, it is a fantastic location. The rooms are always clean the service is excellent. The breakfast is always fresh and a lot to pick from. You have free internet which works very well in your room.

If you are visiting Madrid and want a very nice hotel at a super price this is it. Please remember that is it very centrally located and you will hear the people in the street, but that is what makes this hotel so lively. The rooms are not big but very comfortable. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a large bed or "cama de matrimonio". There regular room have twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BolasdeMadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online sales department at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay. I am glad to read that you were happy with our rooms and our services. Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective.

We hope you will join us again in the near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    345
    124
    51
    25
See reviews for
256
260
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is placed just over the Burger King of Sol (which is the most lively square in the centre of Madrid), so it is very practical. Take into account that this means that there is plenty of street noise. Rooms are modern and very clean; service excelent.

Room Tip: High floor: if you want tranquility Tetuan street or inside rooms; for ambience and views Sol street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our Hotel Petit Palace Puerta del Sol. I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our services and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend trip in the city. Overall, the hotel was just OK.
Bed and shower was clean (most important thing in my eyes!). Room was otherwise quite bland, and it felt like we were positioned in an attic with no windows whatsoever (just a partial window on the roof).
Breakfast was not very good in terms of range and quality.
The location was good though, located on a pedestrian road in the city centre, literally 1 minute from Sol station and only a few minutes walk from some nice sightseeing places like the palace. Overall though, 2.5/5.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalramchandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Gerente at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that our location.

We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late on a train from Bilboa with 6 friends. Too many beggars, solicitors, and street sellers. The hotel lobby tells you everything you need to know. If your a student on a budget it's perfect. The rooms are tiny and ill arranged. Majority of the furniture was peeling from poor ventilation. Wifi is limited to one user per room. I would pass on this if you can make other accomodations.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Gerente at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is just 2 minutes away from Puerta del Sol, and 15 minutes walk from the Royal Palace. Location is excellent - both nightlife and shopping are within walking distance. Also 2 metro stations (Sol and Opera) are just a few minutes away. Good service overall. Rooms are a bit small though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda_985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Gerente at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that our location. We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I were coming to Madrid after walking 500 miles on the Camino de Santiago de Compostela. We'd been changing locations and staying in albergues for 39 days and nights.

I chose this hotel online the night before we left Santiago for it's special rate of a little less than €50.

It's located in the Sol pedestrian section of Madrid, which meant our taxi had to drop us at the edge of Plaza del Sol, and we walked the rest of the way. It was easy to find with the taxi driver's help.

The young desk clerk that evening was extremely nice and very helpful in giving us advice and mapping out interesting things to do in Madrid. After our first walk out that evening we decided to stay another night. Just for the convenience sake until we worked out some logistics the next day.

When we opened the door to our room, we were literally struck by a black satin curtain and a musty smell. The room was tight with two beds, and although this hotel boasts it's a high tec hotel, when I went to turn on the faucet it wasn"t attached to the nice green glass sink! Our sliding shower door was also broken and it took a while to figure out how to get it to slide. I felt like we were still on the Camino, only paying more.

Of course we had a tv, and air conditioning which worked well and is much appreciated in the heat of Madrid.

We had a complimentary breakfast which was more than adequate.

The location was in the heart of a shopping heaven. You could easily walk to Plaza Mayor, the Palace and other sites on this side of town. I didn't notice night noise, but if you wanted a quiet area, this was not it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Gerente at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Best location as you are right in the mix of the city, Comfortable and clean rooms, Staff was pleasant and very helpful.
All the above suggest good value for money. We stayed there for three nights and would definitely recommend it to all types of travellers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Gerente at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that our location. We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#133 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#88 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Londres
Petit Palace Londres
#124 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#96 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol

Property: Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Address: Calle Arenal 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Puerta del Sol is a hotel in the Puerta del Sol of Madrid, with an ancient XIX century facade, perfectly combining innovation and tradition. Relax in a comfortable hotel nearby the Puerta del Sol, Madrid, with a large range of services: Free Wifi, press, breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing