We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
SD, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of Madrid”
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Very cool hotel, well renovated to preserve the charming historical details, but with all the modern comforts. The location is excellent - within walking district of the Palacio Real, Retiro Park, etc. Staff are very helpful. One note of caution - dinner at the restaurant was good, but very pricey.

  • Liked — Historic preservation with modern amenities
  • Disliked — Narrow single beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Salsera6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    583
    102
    46
    28
See reviews for
185
729
97
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We booked two rooms, a double for the nannies and children and a suite for ourselves at this hotel in February.

We just loved the suite. The hot tub on the roof terrace overlooking the Madrid skyline was simply out of this world--totally unforgettable to be sitting there, the steam rising in a great cloud from the tub, and us swirling around in the hot water in the depths of a cold wintry night...sensational.

The nannies and kids also enjoyed it, and particularly the room service. The hotel was quiet even though it was nearly full. The restaurant was very mod, and we would have enjoyed eating there had we not had reservations elsewhere...

The concierge staff was efficient and helpful, finding the phone number of our restaurant, confirming the reservation, and printing out google walking instructions from the hotel.

We were very happy and quite pleasantly surprised--for an artsy hotel, this represented excellent value for money.

  • Liked — The whimsical design and the hot tub on our balcony
  • Disliked — Reception area is a little small and unwelcoming
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed in the hotel 4 nights. The room was quite small and warm. It had a small sitting area, and nice decor. Air conditioning was centrally controlled and not on during our stay at the end of October. We had a nice small balcony with a view, and could open the doors to cool down the room. The bathroom was nice, and did not flood constantly, like other hotels we stayed in on this trip. The hotel had free internet access in the lower level library, which worked fairly well. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with directions. We had a bad experience in the lounge with very unfriendly, rude service. The location was good, with Metro stops within several blocks on several lines. We didn't like the empty storefront in front of the hotel. It looked rather shabby. Apparently, the hotel will be taking this space over soon.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lounge
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We requested a low floor and got the first. Very positive that special requests are respected. However the window did not open, you needed a special key which the front desk could not give to us and they were too busy to go to our room with us. Front desk staff was under average in any case, very cute but inefficient. The guys were chaotic and helping three people at a time when we were checking in. Hotel is overdone and exterior is more important than quality. When leaving, Gran Via was car-free (for bikers) and we could not get a taxi. When asking where a taxi would be available (Sol or ...), the guy did not know and made not at all an effort for asking the taxi company. Twice the question was asked how many nights we were staying. As if that matters for being able to open a window for fresh air. Does not seem necessary for two nights only. Would definitely not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Sonnets from shakespeare on the walls and one of Madrids best known restaurants across the street...what more do you want?
My 18-year old son loved the breakfast buffet, the free internet, the cool tv and music installation and our terrace with jacuzzi.
I loved the las letras shampoo (did'nt need a conditioner), the comfortable bed, the location (the Prado is nearby) and the library.
In short: very stylish hotel, excellent location. highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Talkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Staying in Madrid was a delight for me and my family….warm and sunny climate, great Spanish architecture and off course our nice Hotel De Las Letras made it a memorable stay….We have 2 toddlers which makes it a little challenging for the hotel staff to cope up with our constant requests and special cleaning efforts had to be put up by the housekeeping staff…But the overall job that they had done, was quite nice. We hired a small car in Madrid to roam around and do the sightseeing with the help of only a map, but after having gotten lost for hours, we came back to the hotel and at the recommendation of the hotel staff, we hired a tourist guide. Getting the very professional and nice David was invaluable and quite a help I must say…Hotel staff was nice and helpful, although at times I did feel that their speed was a little easy….but all the jobs did get done eventually…:) The breakfast was elaborate and nice and gave us the best possible start to our day…the room had a stylish balcony facing the gran via and still not noisy. The Air conditioning initially made us feel uncomfortable, but after a while, it used to get better….its because it was hot in Madrid in July when we were visiting….

Overall I’d recommend this hotel for its great location, service and architecture…!!

  • Disliked — Our bed had wheels which made us roll like crazy at times...:)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UMKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

This is a kind of boutique hotel in an old building. Well located, although at night the neighborhood is not lively.
Nice lounge bar on the ground floor where a copious, yet not spectacular breakfast is served.
Rooms are very stylish with poems painted on walls (hence the name of the hotel). Mine had a small sofa. It seems that all rooms have street view and a tiny balcony. I did not find my room excessively noisy despite the vicinity of gran via.

Bathroom nicely designed with a very large shower and a good set of amenities. Water power was excellent.
Free internet access (either Wi-fi or ethernet plug).

However some problems which need to be fixed:
- Similarly to other reviewers, I could not have the air conditioning work properly. This might be an issue when Madrid is very hot.
- My bed was wheeled, which means that it was moving all the time. I imagine this can be tricky for couples.
- Nothing within the shower cabin to put your soap or shampoo on.

Overall an excellent value for money. I booked my room directly on the hotel web site for 150 euros/night (breakfast included), which , for a stay in mid September, was quite a bargain.

  • Liked — Nice design and convenient location
  • Disliked — Wheeled bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thierry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing