We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Magnificent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #42 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and the hotel was magnificent. The room was spacious and warm. I liked the mystery of the spanish poetry that written on the walls. The lounge area was also very warm and inviting with big glass windows looking out on the crowded street. The only disappointment we had was when we went to the restaurant, the food was very bad, the menu was extremely limited, not to mention very expensive. There was however a great restaurant across Grand Via opposite the hotel not to mention dozens of other great places very close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    517
    94
    42
    23
See reviews for
137
633
92
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I arrived early and my room was ready. The room was large for European standards and had access to a balcony. There were several English speaking channels on the tv and the free wifi worked great. Location is good and is convenient to shopping on Gran Via and around Puerta del Sol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzyjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights - everything was great, room was quiet and very clean, bed extremely comfortable, staff could not have been nicer. Location fabulous, could walk everywhere, metro, restaurants stores, etc. There was even a starbucks within 2 minute walk.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked a reservation with this hotel last weekend from Saturday night through Monday night. My flight to Madrid was cancelled and I called the hotel the second I found out about it to tell them and they didnt refund my stay at all. They charged me the full amount for all 3 nights even though I gave them notice. The representative at the hotel also lied and told my travel agent that I hadn't told them the reason was due to a cancelled flight or else they would have "worked something out". I told their representative about a 100x the reason for the cancellation. I will never recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delasletras, Hotel Manager at Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for your comments because they will help me to explain some questions about the issue you explain:
- When you made the reservation in our Hotel you choose and Advance Purchase Rate. This means than this rate is cheapest than usual (you get between a 15% and 10% of disccount) but the rate is non refundable and non changeable. These are the conditions and you accept them when you pay the reservation in advance, so if you are finally not able to come you will lose the money paid.
- In this case I recommend you to claim to the air company not to the hotel because we didn't take part in the fact you were not able to fly. We can send you the invoice if needed to claim.

Best regards,
MANUEL ANDREU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights in this hotel in mid November, visiting our son in Madrid. Our first stay was for 2 nights, we were leaving Madrid for a weekend and returning to Madrid and booked to stay at another "higher rated" hotel. Needless to say, we cancelled the other hotel and booked ourselves here again. The hotel is in a great location - central to everything. The rooms (we had 2 different rooms) were very comfortable - fairly large, great beds, nice decor and large bathrooms. I will say, the first room we had - 3rd floor facing the street, was loud. With our return, we had an inside room on the 5th floor - very quiet. The hotel bar and lounge area is very comfortable and the staff great. The hotel staff is also wonderful - helped us with lost luggage, restaurant recommendations and any other advice we sought. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Low floor, street side rooms can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmdh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights out of season in November at a cost of 112 euros a night. The hotel is newly refurbish but has lost most of its old charm except in the stairwell. The room we had was a reasonably size, good bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was expensive at 18 euros, even though it had a fair variety of things, so we only had it the first morning.

The internet is free but poor and we ended up logging on to the building across the street. Our room as the back of the hotel was noisy and there's no double glazing.

The location is very central and it's easy to walk to most of the major sights.

All in all, a pleasant experience and to be recommended so long at the rate is reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three days there and I can confirm that everything has been fine.
Clean, good free Wi-Fi and the location is at walking distance to many interesting places.
In the room I liked Ikea's style lights and so much the poems on walls

Didn't tried breakfast nor dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiothefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#14 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#13 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 3,089 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#10 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Gran Via, 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#32 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#41 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via is an avant-garde hotel standing on Gran Via, Madrid. It has the character of a place for literati and seductive services that include informal haute cuisine, guestrooms with terrace whirlpool tub, parking in the area (charge applies), fitness room and Wi-Fi & Walk, among others. Boasting an excellent location in Madrid, the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via makes the perfect base to explore the theatres and musicals on Gran Via, the museums of the Spanish capital and the nooks and crannies in Barrio de las Letras (Literary Quarter). Stay in a special, charming hotel on Madrid's Gran Via. The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via is all ready for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing