We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three days there and I can confirm that everything has been fine.
Clean, good free Wi-Fi and the location is at walking distance to many interesting places.
In the room I liked Ikea's style lights and so much the poems on walls

Didn't tried breakfast nor dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergiothefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel de las Letras back in October of this year. All I can say is "Thank You". The room was super chic and very clean. The staff was super courteous and friendly. We traveled from the states and arrived in Madrid way before noon time, but the front desk staff was able to accommodate us without any problems. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMags09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean & modern. Perfect location for walking to major sights. Great staff - spoke good English and were very helpful with requests or advice. Really nice rooms - great bathroom, but if you're not travelling with your spouse/partner, be aware that it doesn't have a door that closes - just a panel that slides in front of the door frame. Wasn't a problem for my wife and I, but if you were staying with a friend, it might be a bit awkward.

As for Madrid advice:
-Do lots of walking, tons of stuff to see in the city centre.
-Definitely check out the Mercado de San Miguel. Amazing culinary experience.
-Use the metro to get to/from the airport or around town. Frequent trains and tons of stations all over town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We received a warm welcome on arrival at Hotel de las Letras! The lobby/reception area is very small, with an adjacent lounge area, but the staff were very gracious. Our room was on the top floor with a great terrace. The hot tub on the terrace was a nice touch but we would have enjoyed the water temp to be hotter in order to fully enjoy this amenity. Room service breakfast was on time each morning and overall housekeeping was terrific. The guest room bathroom was a bit dark and the water splashes out of the tub on each side (wet floors!). These were minor in the scheme of things. Location was terrific as we had the ability to walk to many attractions around the city. A great stay and we will happily return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemmondd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel, Madrid. I booked online for a standard room and upgraded to a superior room 610 for an additional E20 per night. I had seen this recommended on trip advisor. Thank you. The views were amazing and the upgrade added to the Madrid experience. There was no noise and we slept like tops. Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. We took the yellow airport bus outside terminal 2 and this took us very close to the hotel, stopping at Palacio de Cibeles, and a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Would recommend the bus which is a 15 minute journey cost E5 per person. Loved Madrid. Such a friendly city and the numerous bars meant we were spoilt for choice, Tried VIPs chain - very popular with Spanish and very cheap. Good option for breakfast. Im not a huge art buff but enjoyed visiting the three main art galleries, Prado, Reina Sofia and also Thyssen-Bornemiza, all very different and the last private collection of Thyssen Bornemiza was amazing and my favourite. Didnt need to use the metro as everything was walkable. Great city break and Madrid certainly didnt disappoint.

Room Tip: Definitely 610 is the room to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haggisx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed eight nights at the hotel. I found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was cleaned everyday. The hotel itself is located in a very central area of Madrid. Most attractions were walking distance. If you needed transport there were no shortage of buses, taxis and metro stations nearby.

As the location of the hotel is situated on a main road there is a lot of traffic noise throughout the night. I could hear it from my room which was on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel, although I must admit the noise did not bother me. My room was comfortable although it was on the small side. The size of the room was not a problem to me either, but for an upmarket hotel it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee. In fact the room had no extra amenities at all except for the mini-bar in the fridge. Any items you took from there had to be paid for of course.

The bar and restaurant areas are decorated nicely. There is a nice ambiance in the lounge if you wanted to relax after a day of sightseeing.

To sum up I would recommend this hotel, except, maybe for families, although I cannot be 100% sure on this, but going from my experience I think it would be a bit cramped for families to stay there. Although the hotel was busy with people from different walks of life, I did not notice any family groups.

I had an enjoyable time in Madrid and my stay at the hotel was a pleasure. I would go back to the same hotel again, but first I would check out what other hotels on the same scale has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Found it to be an excellent location on Gran Via - close walking distance to the Prado, Plaza Mayor and Plaza Santa Ana. Also nearby metro station, which was great to get to the train stations for our day trips to Segovia and Toledo. The staff was very friendly and helpful. By agreeing to stay in another hotel for one night they upgraded us to a junior suite with a terrace, which was a nice size room. There are bars and restaurants close to the hotel as well. We never made it to the roof top bar. I would recommend this hotel. Thought it was good value as well - even more so as we booked a special rate of stay 3 nights and get the 4th night free.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLNYC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 437 in Madrid
1,039 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 437 in Madrid
620 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,923 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#10 of 437 in Madrid
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#37 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $161 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via is a boutique hotel that’s ideal for those wishing for a fascinating stay in Madrid, oozing with all the charm of the city’s Barrio de las Letras district. Located on the Gran Via, the Las Letras Gran Via hotel invites guests to enjoy fantastic services such as the informal haute cuisine of its Al Trapo restaurant. There are also its rooms with terrace Jacuzzi, fitness centre, library, accommodation for pets, free Premium Wi-Fi…The hotel is perfect for a tour of the most interesting points of interest in Madrid’s city centre, and it’s also close to the theatres and musicals on the Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing