We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel, great location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras
Ranked #49 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After comparing different hotel sites and reading the reviews here on TA, we were excited about our stay at Hotel De Las Letras. My wife and I were very impressed with the hotel and we would not hesitate to stay here again!

Location: It's right on the Grand Via in Central Madrid, which is great area for exploring the city. Puerta Del Sol and Plaza de Santa Ana (which has great tapas restaurants) are just a 10 minute walk away. Calle Fuencarral, with a lot of boutique shops, is within 5 minutes. The hotel is located in between 2 metro stops, although we ended up walking to most places nearby. The hotel is also easy to get to/from the airport via the Aeropuerto Express bus, which stops about 5 minutes away at Plaza De Cibeles. For 5 Euros each, it's much cheaper than a cab ride, and only slightly slower.

Room: The standard room we stayed in was more than adequate for 2 people. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom (with 2 sinks) was perfect. Due to being light sleepers, we requested a room in the quieter part of the hotel. The Grand Via gets noisy, but our room faced a side street and the balcony doors were great at keeping out the noise. The only complaint I had was the room did not have an iron in the closet (true, probably, of most European hotel), and I had to ask the front desk multiple times to see if one was available.

Service: The front desk staff we spoke with all were very nice, and were happy to answer questions and offer recommendations. Each of them spoke English well, or at least were happy to deal with my broken Spanish. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning after our flight arrived, but our room wasn't ready for a few hours. As they should, the staff offered to store our luggage and allowed us to freshen up and change clothes quickly in a nearby restroom.

Misc: The hotel also has a very nice roof terrace bar. It was open during our stay around October 10th, but I assume with the cooler weather coming, it may not be open much longer. As other reviews indicate, it was a great place to grab a drink before starting the evening, or just to go up and enjoy the view. We didn't eat at the restaurant, and opted to find little places for breakfast nearby.

Room Tip: Starting 3 days before your arrival date, check the hotel's website to see if you can get their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skaps21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Located in Gran Via, you are in "the right place". An Old nice building, adapted to hotel with a fantastic interior design. Nice rooms, and a wonderful "terraza". The price, a little bit expensive... "but it´s the market stupid" because it's difficult to find a room. Also the lighting in the rooms is not enough for a comfortable reading.. interior design dictatorship... :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was difficult to give this hotel an overall rating. The room was a 5, with fabulous linens, plush oversized bath sheets, and comfortable beds. We had a room on the street side, which was pretty noisy, even though we were on the 5th floor. The bus for the Madrid Tour had a stop directly across the street, and there were numerous restaurants and shops within steps of the hotel. The unfavorable part of our experience was with the front desk staff. On our first night there, we asked for a recommendation of a nearby restaurant for dinner that was reasonably priced. He asked us for a price range, and we said less than 30 euros would be fine. We were told that 30 euros was not considered expensive - 90 euros could easily be spent for dinner in Madrid, with the indication that we were too cheap to be staying in Madrid. We were given directions to a restaurant about a block away that had main courses from 8-10 euros. My friend's was fine, but I got a salad that was sitting in a bowl of water, and rare veal (I ordered duck breast!). We read all the reviews about the gorgeous rooftop bar and were looking forward to enjoying it. It was closed when we were there. Although it was nearly 80 degrees F outside, we were informed that it was too cold for the outdoor patio to be open. The worst part of the story comes on our last day. We asked for a wake-up call, which we made for 6 AM. When asked if we'd like a second call, we requested 6:15. Neither of the calls came, but fortunately we woke up in time. They suggested we reserve a taxi, so we followed their advice. Although there were 4 taxis in front of the hotel when we left, we were told to wait on the one that had been called. Imagine our surprise when we got to the airport and the charge was 10 euros higher than our trip to the hotel, which was made in afternoon traffic. The explaination for the additional charge was that there was a 7 euro charge for calling the taxi! I expect that money is split with the front desk attendant who insists that a taxi should be summoned. They also informed us that we needed to get to the airport at least 3 hours prior to our flight leaving, when I was planning on a little more than 2 hours. When we arrived at the airport, the Delta counter wasn't even open! We had to wait nearly a half hour for it to open, then the A concourse, where our plan was departing, was also closed, so we had to walk back to B concourse to have breakfast. So . . . The location and rooms in this hotel were outstanding, but beware of the "information" and "help" offered by the front desk personnel.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the Gran Via will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a great conversion of a period building, right in the centre of Madrid, with nice, original, accessible design details. We had a room with a huge roof terrace with a hot tub which was well worth the money. The location is perfect for walking to all the sights, museums and nightlife in the centre of Madrid. The rooftop bar is great too. Overall very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoolsandAbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel was great and they met all of our expectations. The room was cool and quiet (strange for a hotel that's in such a downtown location) - but we really appreciated the quiet as this was our first stop in Spain and we were trying to catch up on our jet lag. We stayed in the Deluxe Terrace/Jacuzzi Suite - had a balcony and jacuzzi which was really nice. We were only one level down from the rooftop deck, but again, no noise traveled down. We also really enjoyed the rooftop deck. Great views of the city. The staff was also very helpful - going above and beyond to try and help us find fun/good restaurants and getting reservations for us. So, we would really recommend this hotel based on the room, the staff, the bar and the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This more than made up for a truly disappointing experience in a far more expensive 'hip' hotel this summer. Hotel de las Letras has not had its historic guts ripped out; its bedrooms and bathrooms are understatedly crisp and modern, while the crimson-carpeted corridors are bright, and retain fin de siecle elegant wrought iron banisters. It was a nice touch to keep the old iron lift on show.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are generously sized. We asked for -and got - a quiet room which had French windows, and looked out onto other historic buildings.

The ground floor bar is attractive with a good ambience, and efficient, friendly service. Easy to see why so many local professionals choose to come here for drinks or snacks. The roof top bar has good views.

We didn't eat breakfast here, simply because Madrid has any number of cafes serving good coffee and croissants for as little as €2.50. Equally, the historic city centre is relatively small, with museums, galleries, parks etc. all within easy walking distance of Grand Via; there is absolutely no point in paying more for hotels that market themselves as having a good location. You’d have to work hard to find a hotel in the centre with a bad one!

Tips:
- Don't be put off by the surprisingly small Reception. Space is where you need it: in the bars, bedrooms and bathrooms.
- If you have luggage, and/or sore feet, take a taxi. They're so cheap, and the rank is right outside the front door.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The Grand Via is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just finished staying at this hotel for four nights in a large corner room overlooking Gran Via. The room was bright, spacious, clean and very modern with floor to ceiling windows. The bed was very comfortable which made for a good night's sleep. However, we had to run the ventilation fan to help mask the street noise. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the restaurant food was well prepared the one night we ate there. Great central location in the heart of Madrid.The only negative was the rather impersonal service from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 438 in Madrid
3,967 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras

Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $157 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via hotel is a boutique hotel that's ideal for guests who seek an enchanting experience in Madrid, brimming with the charm of the city's Barrio de las Letras district. Located on the Gran Via, the Las Letras Gran Via hotel invites guests to enjoy fantastic services such as casual fine dining at its Al Trapo restaurant. Not forgetting, its rooms with a terrace and Jacuzzi, fitness centre, library, accommodation for pets, free Premium Wi-Fi...The hotel is perfect for a tour of the main points of interest in Madrid's city centre, and it's also close to the theatres and musicals on the Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing