We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but seems to be in slight decline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna
Ranked #285 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This year was the second time I stayed in this hotel. The first time I stayed the hotel was still new and of course all was excellent. So this was a great test of management to see how well the hotel had been kept. First impressions are still very good, with the staff still good in their roles. But in the room, there were some small issues. The light switches and other fittings were almost falling off, some of the bulbs were not working and the bathroom could have been much cleaner. Overall though a good hotel to stay at after a drive from Northern England, with a secure underground car park. Would stay again.

Tip: The shop across the road opens till late with all sorts of stuff in, we bought food from there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaberLBekkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director of Sales at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your review, of course we will keep it in order to continue improving our services and facilities. Let you know that we have new hotels in Madrid, Valencia and Barcelona if you decide to come back to Spain! best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 509 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the travelodge, we booked two rooms as there was 5 of us.
Pros: rooms were clean and basic, perfect for sleep and showering, water was hot. Staff were friendly and helpfull and spoke some english, curtains were lined and kept the light out, you could ask for a kettle and tea/coffee. Hairdryers required a 10 euro deposit that you got back when you leave it back at the desk.53 bus ran regularly into sol, you get free wifi onboard and all trips are 1:50(buy a tourist travel pass at metro station) that lets u use bus and metro for 3 days for 18:40 euro and 9:20 euro for children.trips into sol take 25 minutes or so.
Cons: we arrived at 2:10 and check in wasnt untill 3, were we told we would have to pay 10 euro to enter our room early, food wasnt great and took forever to arrive, we went to vips for full english breakfast 5:95euro
Would stay again but wouldnt eat there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newtotravelinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director of Sales at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your review and information for our clients. About check-in time, from 15h is showed in all onlines and confirmed in the booking confirmation in order to inform in advance because there is any luggage room in the hotel. Anyway if you arrive earlier we have a Restaruant-bar were to drink something and with internet connection. Just let you know that we already opened new hotels in Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia, don't hesitate to contact us if you decide to come back! best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked this hotel online from the UK as a short break to Madrid while we were staying in the Murcia area. We drove to the hotel which was ok to find as long as the satnav is working. Parked the car on the street outside the hotel. There is a private car park but it is a little expensive so the street was fine. Parked the car and left it there for 2 days. When we got to the hotel, we had to wait quite a while to get checked in due to a group in front of us. After checking in we went to our room, we had a family room. The room was clean and comfortable as you would expect, also the air con worked well.
Breakfast was fine at 7 euros per adult, typical breakfast for Spain, good and filling. Free wifi for 30 minutes per day but you need to ask reception for the code. The hotel bar is fairly small but adequate.
To get into Madrid you need to take the bus, no.53. At 1:50 euros it gets you into the city centre. The bus was quite regular and takes about 25 minutes. You can get free wifi on the bus if you download an app for it. Having a teenage daughter wifi is so important.
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, slept well and thoroughly enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyhan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director of Sales at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you very much for you review! don't hesitate to contact us directly if you decide to come back on holidays or work to Spain! best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great for a budget stay in the Spanish capital, stayed with grandparents on a 4 night break and at €20 a night, it was one heck of a bargain, the hotel is 10 mins walk to the nearest metro, Barrio de la conception and the number 53 bus to Sol stops right outside which is extremely handy, and takes around 20-30 mins depending on traffic to reach the city centre, the 200 bus to the airport runs approx 10 min walk away too, all in all very convenient. The rooms are your typical travelodge type and fit the bill for a nights sleep and shower in the morning, there are a few restaurants and bars for breakfast in the morning and evening, we tried the pizza place and VIPS, both of which were your average eatery. This was my 3rd visit to Madrid and the travelodge fitted the bill for an overall pleasant stay, will be back again when visiting madrid!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Jetsetkirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director of Sales at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! we always try to give our best available rate with "low cost" services. So don't hesitate to contact us directly if you decide to come back to Spain, we have a new hotel in Madrid and also a new one in Barcelona and Valencia. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the Travelodge as part of a flight /hotel package. Although it's not downtown, transportation to town is easy (five minute walk to the subway). Getting there from the airport is easy (two stops on the 100 line airport bus with a short 5 min walk).

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and the breakfast had some variety. Te biggest negative was the 30 min Wi-Fi. Had to be used at one time. In the big scheme of things it's a small negative.

Will consider staying again if we return to Madrid

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken_McP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director Comercial at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your stay, and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Madrid! as you said Torrelaguna is a hotel easy to get by bus, metro or car from the airport, by bus to city centre and to IFEMA for events, we appreciate your review in order to improve our services! WIFI, with an extra charge, is available in the rooms from all our hotels. Don't hesitate to contact us directly if you decide to come back to Spain! best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is extremely modern. The room I was in was impeccably clean and everything seemed "crisp" ... from the sheets to the decorations, etc. Floors are wooden (not carpet). Ample towels for one person. This hotel is a "green hotel" where you need to leave your key card in the slot to keep the lights on, etc.
The only down side is that it was a bit of a walk to the metro (I would say 15-20 minute walk). And it wasn't necessarily a "central" metro stop -- I had to change lines twice and spend maybe 20-30 minutes on the metro to get to the main "Sol" station.
The breakfast here was also just okay. It was mostly cereals and yogurt or bread (typical European fare). However, they also cooked some eggs and sausage one day when I was there. It wasn't anything exceptional, but it was something.
One thing that was a little annoying was that they offered only 30 minutes of free wi-fi access per room, and you had to be in the lobby area to get a signal. You should know that wi-fi here seemed ridiculously slow (compared to US) and 30 minutes seemed enough to maybe check email and send a few off but not much more than that. You also needed to ask for a code to get on each day because the code changed. I was only here 2 nights, so I just went without internet access for those nights because I was frustrated at the slow speeds and didn't want the hassle.
Other than these minor issues, I think the property as a whole is nice and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanieg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director of Sales at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your review. We hope you com back to Spain and choose one of our hotels in Madrid, Barcelona or Valencia! we try to give the best service with the best available rates, WIFI is available in rooms with an extra charge if you need it for next time!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the first hotel I stayed in in my trip to Italy and Spain. Honestly it was ok the rooms were a bit small but that didn't really bother me that much. It was very close to Madrid city center which was a plus for my group and we got to do more activities because of that. The breakfast that they offered was the classic European breakfast eggs, ham and bread rolls with Jam. The only thing that I didn't really like was their beds they were slightly uncomfortable.

Room Tip: theirs only two elevators and they are small so pack light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luz Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel Travelo... R, Director of Sales at Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu comentario, intentamos mejorar con cada una de las reviews de nuestros clientes. Esperamos que disfrutaras durante la estancia en Madrid y no dudes en contactarnos directamente si decides volver de vacaciones a España! Hemos inaugurado nuevos hoteles, Travelodge Madrid Alcalá y Travleodge Poblenou Barcelona. Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#264 of 438 in Madrid
481 reviews
ILUNION Atrium
#88 of 438 in Madrid
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mercader
#296 of 438 in Madrid
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna

Address: Calle Torrelaguna 69, 28027 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $49 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and functional hotel at Madrid city center. Its excellent location next to the A-2, its proximity to major companies in the area and easy access to the city center makes it the ideal choice for customers traveling on business and leisure. The hotel has 74 spacious ensuite-rooms, a Bar-Cafe open 24 Hours, 30 min free Wi-Fi in public areas, vending machines and concerted parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Torrelaguna Madrid Hotel Madrid
Travelodge Madrid
Travel Lodge Madrid
Madrid Travelodge
Madrid Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing