We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Ranked #57 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great city hotel! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay!the location is excellent, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The decoration also was very modern. We wish they had bigger vanity kit selection in the bathroom (eg mending set ) and in breakfast eggs and omelets should be included. Big big plus the nespresso machine in the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael R, Director General at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Rania A.

Thanks for your comments.

For us is always great to know our guest enjoy their stay.

We take your feedback very seriously and we are improving our breakfast offer adding more products and variety.

We're looking forward to seeing you on you next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    274
    72
    20
    6
See reviews for
93
381
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were in Madrid for a 3 day City Break and booked this hotel online. This is a very new hotel within IHG Group (3 months old). We were met with a very warm welcome and were allocated a room on the 11th Floor. The room was very modern and had everything you needed but a little on the small side due to the shape. Having said that the space was utilised very well and it was immaculately clean. We did have to phone reception to let them know that someone had left their knickers draped over the shower, which we found amusing more than anything else, but they insisted on moving us immediately to a larger room on the 5th Floor. The roof terrace is very nice and snacks and drinks are served all day and evening (I highly recommend the Pizzas). The only downfall (design fault) is that the swimming pool is situated underneath the sun terrace ledge which shades it from the sun making it freezing cold….just like getting into an ice bucket. I think going forward the hotel might consider heating it as no one could really use it, which is a real shame. The lights in our room were a bit of a challenge to use but this is due to the way the switches are set up. This hotel is still ironing out a few issues as expected with a new hotel, but really felt that they wanted to help and ensure we were comfortable and happy. The beds are large and very comfortable although my partner didn’t like the pillows as he said they were too soft….perfect me though. This hotel is located in a quiet side street, really central, just a few blocks from Plaza de Sol and within easy walking distance to the main areas including the bus stop for the tour buses, which cost 21 euros a day which is well worth it as you can hop on and off at your leisure until 10pm. We requested a late check-out and they organised this for us as IHG members for 2pm, however on the day of check out the hotel was so quiet that I ask if we could extend it to 4.30pm and they arranged this for us no problem. We really can’t fault this hotel and the warmth and helpfulness of the staff. I have already recommended it to several friends and colleagues. We would not hesitate to book this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChampagneLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Champagne,

Thanks for your comments. For us is really important to know your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and really sorry for the "surprise" experienced in your room.

Concerning our pool, in response to guest's comments we have already installed a heater so the temperature of the water is much more pleasant so hopefully you can enjoy it on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed there for three nights. It does the basics well (good location, bed and shower) but in our opinion it fails in some important respects, in particular the roof pool.

Positives:-
1. It's a very new hotel, so the furnishings and fittings are nice.
2. The beds were comfortable and a good size
3. The shower was great.
4. Location is fairly central.

Negatives:-
1. Very few of the sun loungers get much sun and they are hard to get anyway. The pool is mostly in the shade so it is ICE COLD (literally painfully cold - I've never known anything like it!). I wouldn't recommend going here if you want a pool / sun bathing holiday.
2. There is only a small gap between the foot of the bed and the opposite wall. And there is a TV mounted on this wall in a wooden box, which you will bang into as you squeeze past. Both my wife and I scraped the skin off our shoulders. I'll survive, but it still bloody hurts!
3. The air con worked well, but mysteriously seemed not to work in the middle of the night.This could well be user error on my part, but I woke up on all three nights because I was too hot and couldn't find a solution.
4. The hotel gym is closed, but the hotel have an agreement so guests can use a nearby gym. It's an inconvenience, but not the end of the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris-Ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Chris-Ginny,

Thank you for taking your time to review our property. I am pleased to know that you found our shower facility great and location convenient. However, I regret the issues you had with the air conditioning unit and pool facility. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in this brand new, only one month old hotel in Madrid and Loved it! The hotel is located a few blocks from Plaza del Sol in central Madrid. The rates can't be beat this is a great value for the money. There is a roof top bar and lounge along with a pool. The rooms are not very large but very well decorated with bright colors and graphic prints of the old city. The street where the main entrance is located is non descript and narrow however just around the block is the main tourist area and many nice restaurants. We had stayed in a more upscale hotel at the beginning our trip to Madrid and liked this one just as much. This hotel will become very popular once the word gets around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario0355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mario0355,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

The team would love to thank you for sharing this incredible experience with us and we would love to see you back soon!

Kindest Regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is obviously a very new hotel making it look very nice and unworn. Added to its great location just on the Gran-via making it a great choice for most type of visitors, primarily leisure yet business guest will be able to find it comfortable just as much, given the rate is reasonable.
Room was a bit on the small side though didn't feel very tight at least not for me being single person.
Business traveler may find the desk as too small for conveniently working a laptop and this is increased by all the things that are placed on the table: coffee machine (executive room) and phone and desk lamp - I would recommend to hotel staff to look for other arrangement to allow more desk space.
Few bad points to mention: Noise isolation does not seems to be of the best, its not that I've heard any people talking but rather heard pretty clear knocking when the next room was being cleaned as well as doors slammed in the hallway.
In addition, the cleaning staff had its equipment spread across the floor blocking the way even at 4:00pm afternoon which I found a bit annoying. It was cleared later in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Y66,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us!

We really appreciate your feedback and take your comments into account for future actions.

We apologize for the inconveniences caused during your last stay in relation to the noise isolation. Next time, please let us know and we will change your room to a quieter room.

Concerning your comment referencing the desk size and distribution, we have already change the distribution of the stuff on the table giving response to several guest's reviews.

Please, next time you are coming to stay with us, send us and email or give us a call and we will make sure 100% pleasant stay.

Kind Regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a 4 night stay in this lovely new hotel funky hotel. While the rooms were not overly large (with 2 suitcases and other assorted bags we still has room to move around), they were certainly comfortable, especially the beds. The bathroom was also good with a large shower that had options for overhead or side water flow. The size of the room did not concern us because when at the hotel we spent little time in the room and when at the hotel most of our time was on the roof terrace taking in the atmosphere and talking to other guests. The breakfast area was not large and breakfast was essentially a continental breakfast, the types of fruit wa limited to 2 and my wife could not eat one of the fruits offered. The staff were great and attentive to our requests (one of whom also helped us when he had already signed off the day and out of his hotel uniform). Our room had a window facing the side street and not far from the hustle of Gran Via but we were never disturbed by street noise. The curtains were fantastic and virtually blocked out all light. Overall, a lovely hotel that is recommended and made better by its position just off Gran Via.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BeeJayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear BeeJayAustralia,

What a great review! Thank you!

The team would love to thank you for sharing this incredible experience with us and we would love to see you back soon!

Kindest Regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The room was comfortable but quite small. Our room also had no view and was very dark. You had no idea whether it was day or night. The rooftop is great and quiet (you didn't here any noise from the Grand Via). The swimming pool was small and not heated so nobody used it. Service and food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Eric S.,

First of all thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is very important and we take your comments into account very seriously.

We are glad you enjoyed our roof top terrace, it is an unique selling point of the hotel and we are doing our best to improve the guest experience.

Concerning your room, unfortunately our interior rooms are darker than the rest but as you say they are as comfortable as the others.

In response to several guest's reviews like yours, we are installing a heater in our pool in order to warm the water and make possible better guest experience.

Next time you pass by, please do not hesitate to visit us, we will be delighted to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,

Rafael Ramirez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,608 reviews
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#140 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via

Property: Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Address: Calle Silva 6, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing