We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch service, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Acapulco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Top notch service, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's called a hostel but it's more like a hotel. I had a private room with a balcony overlooking the square. The location was absolutely perfect, only a few blocks from Puerta del Sol.

This is a family-owned hotel, occupying one floor of a building. The staff were probably the most friendly of any I encountered in my month-long trip. I felt great about supporting a local, family-owned business. They will even take care of your laundry (for free!) for stays longer than three days.

I would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Request a balcony--the square below is fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    174
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
227
75
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am a 20-year-old university student who traveled to Madrid on her own! Hostal Acapulco was clean and located in the heart of the city! The people were friendly! Both English and Spanish were spoken. The workers were kind and could answer any travel questions while providing free maps. Drinks were available 24 hours and the price was right! PS- Javier sends personal e-mails and makes you feel like part of the family! Thanks Hostal Acapulco! -Alexa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my sister. The rooms are big and spacious, super clean. The service was excellent. Javier and Marco are super nice. Flu from Barcelona to Madrid and my luggage stayed in Barcelona. Javier, was so nice that he made some calls to the Airport for me and gave the news that my luggage was arriving later that afternoon. The location is excellent. I will recomend this Hostal to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Hostal Acapulco was perfect for our 6 days visit to Madrid this past October. Overlooking the Plaza del Carmen, it's a great location with clean, comfortable and bright rooms, A/C, mini-fridge. Gran Via, the metro, Puerta del Sol are just minutes away. Service was excellent- thank you, Javier, and staff!! The Hostal Acapulco was an excellent value in beautiful Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place, great location, bright rooms, and great service. Stayed there for 3 nights and the place was impecable. If I go back to madrid I will defenetly stay there again. Javier and Marco are very helpful in getting to know what to do.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lissett7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed in this hostal for 13 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean with WIFI and TV and a mini-fridge. The staff were also very nice and helpful, Javier in particular and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a central hostal/hotel as it's a minute away from Gran Vía and 2-3 minutes walk from Callao, 5 mins from Puerta del Sol. Initially I was placed in a room which faced a square which was noisy but on my second night, I asked to move to a quieter room and was given an inner room which was absolutely perfect and couldn't hear a sound.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorcha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

for choosing Hostal Acapulco. Reasonably priced, conveniently located, well-run, safe, clean, it was perfect for us. I recommend this to anyone who values these things in their travel lodgings.
As for the negatives, . . ., there were none. Even the fact that it was up four flights of stairs wasn't a problem-- the elevator worked fine whenever we were too tired to climb the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beobaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acapulco

Property: Hostal Acapulco
Address: Salud 13, 4th Floor. Madrid | Plaza del Carmen, Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run place in the heart of Madrid ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Acapulco Hotel Madrid
Hostal Acapulco Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing