We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Acapulco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, B.C.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this wonderful hostal twice this spring and twice last fall, and I hope I can find another excuse to stay here again. The rooms overlooking the square are wonderful (if you want one of these rooms with a view, ask). Service at the front desk is always friendly and helpful. Previous comments have given Javier full credit (and he deserves it), but last fall it was Ana who helped me to get tickets for a Real Madrid soccer game. She sat there patiently listening to the Spanish voice prompts on the phone, translating them for me and pushing the appropriate numbers to order my tickets (these then get picked up at a Caixa bank machine - a fantastic system)!
As is typical in Spain, breakfast is not included. Go to the cafe of the Europa Hotel - it's just down the street, off Puerta del Sol.
So, great location, great service, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    174
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
227
75
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent four nights here in May/June 2013. The Hostal is on the fourth floor of an old building just off Gran Via, but there is an elevator so you're saved having to carry your luggage. We were warmly welcomed. Our room was large, comfortable and clean, although the decor was a bit dated (if that sort of thing is important to you).

The location is fantastic - close to the Metro for transfers to and from the airport or other train stations. However, we rarely had to use public transport as most of the main sites and pedestrian areas were right there, or a couple of minutes walk away. We were also pointed in the direction of a few dinner places within walking distance by the manager and had some memorable meals.

For breakfast, there is a local restaurant downstairs which was handy and served decent scrambled eggs. Some of the staff spoke basic English which was a relief if, like me, your Spanish isn't too sharp before your morning coffee!

I'd definitely recommend Hostal Acapulco to travelers looking for affordable, clean and well located accommodation in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenHazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived early yet our room was ready, really clean and the hostal had a nice, relaxed reception area. The location is fantastic, we didn't even really need our metro card! Nice and quiet for siestas and night time, the bathroom was on the small side but has everything you need. Everyone on reception was super friendly and helpful and the retro lift was always fun to squish into! Cleaning staff were great, the toiletries were always replaced and the room cleaned thoroughly. Great stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma16300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This time we made it to the hotel. Last year we had to cancel due to plane trouble and Javier was terrific cancelling with no cost.

We were determined to get to Madrid and loved the city.

We had 4 of us stay in June. The hotel room is basic: very clean; comfortable beds; good wifi; good bathroom. So why 5 stars? You have to rate a hotel based on what you are paying. For 95 euro a night, for 4 people, a stones throw from the main square, it is remarkable value.

I was going to drop the review to 4 stars because we ran out of hot water and the contact with the reception staff was polite but not very friendly. But this was due to Javier being on a break and when I stupidly left was iPad in the room after departure, they could not have been more helpful.

We found we can easily walk to most sights from this hotel, saving a lot in travel costs.

The big department store nearby has an excellent supermarket in the basement which was handy for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hostal in late April early May 2013 as part of an around the world trip. We booked this hotel based on Rick Steves guidebook information and its price. It was a great deal and was in a great spot.

The room was surprisingly quiet at night given its central location. Room was cozy and very clean. We did not interact with staff much, but found everyone to be pleasant. We would recommend this hotel to others staying in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed over the weekend after arriving from Australia. Found beds comfortable and clean. Location is great with everything you need a few minutes walk. Stayed on the Plaza Carmen side. With the shutters down you don't hear a thing. Fast reliable Internet. Room 47 was great. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay in Madrid. The location is wonderful - close to shopping, the attractions, metro, food, etc... My room was average, but had everything that's needed so I can't complain at all. I stayed in a room with two single beds, but was traveling alone, so it would work ok for couples.
The whole booking process was very easy and upon arriving everything was booked as planned. Javier is a wonderful man and really makes things easy for you. If you're unsure, ask him anything. He recommended some superb places to eat, and even let me know the other train line to take (for free which was included in my AVE ticket that I didn't know about). He'll provide you with a map if needed and recommend places to go and see.
I highly recommend this place!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EzzaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#19 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acapulco

Property: Hostal Acapulco
Address: Salud 13, 4th Floor. Madrid | Plaza del Carmen, Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run place in the heart of Madrid ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Acapulco Hotel Madrid
Hostal Acapulco Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing