We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Evening”

Restaurante Campanillas
Ranked #265 of 10,534 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the nearby Tach Hotel and found this wonderful restaurant while taking a walk around the neighborhood. What a find! The food was delicious the portions were generous. Pepe, the owner, helped us to decide what to order, then brought out some additional dishes specially made by his wife. It was a great way to end to a great trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Temuskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selu, Propietario at Restaurante Campanillas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
El equipo Restaurante Campanillas .Barajas quiere agradecer tu visita a nuestro restaurante. Pasamos un rato muy agradable contigo y te esperamos de vuelta lo antes posible para poder volver a reírnos juntos y disfrutar de tu simpatía.
Pepe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    45
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect Last Spanish Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

After 16 days in Spain, Bar Campanilla was the perfect end to our trip. The menu includes mostly typical Spanish foods, but Pepe (and his wife?) are perfect hosts. They made us laugh and treated us like royalty. Pepe demonstrates tableside how to make Sangria and makes suggestions for ordering for the table. Fried seafood platters and Sausage platters seem to be the specialty here and both were very good. Personally, I really liked the goat cheese, raisin, date, and walnut salad. At the end of our meal, they brought us complementary truffles and Pepe gave all of the boys Madrid/spain caps. I am not sure how he does all this and make money. Our huge meal including Sangria was only 48 euros for five persons. I am sure I would have paid this for the hats alone in Madrid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marknbellair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selu, Propietario at Restaurante Campanillas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
El equipo Restaurante Campanillas .Barajas quiere agradecer tu visita a nuestro restaurante. Pasamos un rato muy agradable contigo y te esperamos de vuelta lo antes posible para poder volver a reírnos juntos y disfrutar de tu simpatía.
Pepe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Just across the street from the Best Western on the main street, this unpretentious little place has great food for an excellent price. Very friendly, too. A good pick for our last meal in Spain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selu, Propietario at Restaurante Campanillas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
El equipo Restaurante Campanillas .Barajas quiere agradecer tu visita a nuestro restaurante. Pasamos un rato muy agradable contigo y te esperamos de vuelta lo antes posible para poder volver a reírnos juntos y disfrutar de tu simpatía.
Pepe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“What a sweet little restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

On our last night in Madrid, we wanted a quick bite to eat and nothing extravagant. This restaurant was perfect and the owner was so accommodating and pleasant to speak with. We don't eat meat (beef, pork, or poultry) and so he flexible in figuring out things for us to eat. He even played with our 8-year old son, showing him around the place and giving him a toy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selu, Propietario at Restaurante Campanillas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
El equipo Restaurante Campanillas .Barajas quiere agradecer tu visita a nuestro restaurante. Pasamos un rato muy agradable contigo y te esperamos de vuelta lo antes posible para poder volver a reírnos juntos y disfrutar de tu simpatía.
Pepe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Great food & fun as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Delighted to find this excellent restaurant so close to our airport hotel, serving simple food cooked to perfection. There is a menu in English if you need it. We sampled 4 dishes from the tapas menu - all made from fresh ingredients - all delicious. Especially liked the black sausage and the pork in tomato sauce. The best though was the fish - simply pan fried with home made chips. This very much a family affair and Pepe head of the clan educated us on the ways of Spanish food and drink. He gave us typed instructions on how to make Sangria and a breakdown of the origin & components of all the dishes we chose. All this delivered in a very entertaining "Pepe style". Before we left we were treated to a nightcap of the house - a kinda Baileys with whipped cream and then he gave us a range of presents from cap to key ring. But the best surprise was the final bill. Given what we had had, it all came at a very reasonable low price. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selu, Propietario at Restaurante Campanillas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
El equipo Restaurante Campanillas .Barajas quiere agradecer tu visita a nuestro restaurante. Pasamos un rato muy agradable contigo y te esperamos de vuelta lo antes posible para poder volver a reírnos juntos y disfrutar de tu simpatía.
Pepe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Campanillas also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Campanillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing