We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fragile diamant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Ranked #63 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fragile diamant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bakground: first ever visit to madrid and first time in this hotel chosen based on tripadvisor reviews. The title is unusual because the review is also black and white. Bottom line, we loved this hotel but there were very serious pitfalls that must be addressed urgently. This review is for all audiences but with a small bias to small families with young kids. Madrid is amazing and very different from Barcelona...we saw families outside like nowhere before and just people enjoying each others companies and good food/drink. Someone told me madrid is Spanish while Barcelona is European (and younger). I tend to agree but cities like this can't be described with one word.

THE GOOD: very nicely designed hotel in a very quiet area of madrid. Not the easiest to find but that's details. My biggest praise goes to the girls in reception including the directrice of the hotel. We had a small issue with our rooms at reception but was sorted next day plus breakfast offered.
Balcony room are like the pictures, beautifully designed and hotel is obviously very recent. We had a terrace room which is a bit bigger and the small balcony was a godsend as you can eat outside.
Plenty of places to eat outside and when money is tight or you want a light meal, you have a pizza place, a good wok place for very little price. A nice frozen yogurts place for hot nights and amorino ice cream on gran via. Tagliatella is an Italian chain of restaurant that do descent food. Portion are so big that 2 adults and 2 child's will just need a pizza and one spaghetti carbonara (each one it's plate for meal to share, make sure pasta and sauce not mixed so you do it yourself). Spanish don't eat before 10pm, very hard to believe for us but I understand when it is hot...
Breakfast was good enough but not hotel premises, you have to cross the road. I nearly forgot, the tv s a spectacular big mirror with speaker in the ceiling. Room is indeed very nice but could do with a little bit more closed storage...

THE BAD: let's be clear, we loved this hotel so this section is written with the hope that they will address things because this hotel is a raw diamant in the making, a diamant that can turn to dust very quickly if not taken care of. Toilet are not very private but that was more an issue to the big prude. Toilets are Better isolated in the terrace room for sure.
The biggest issue is the air con, not very good at all and we were lucky the temperature didn't reach the usual 38 during our stay...was hard enough to sleep at 28. This is not right at all and need to be sorted urgently. We had ants in the room twice, very bad for some but also normal sometimes for others. Not the end of the world but they have to watch it more. Water doesn't evacuate fast enough and tend to stagnate. Like I read in other reviews, I just think that they need more stringent daily inspection to keep them at the top. Lots of small maintenance seem not done to the required levek of details.I am hard but we are talking diamant here and don't expect less for a hotel in the top 10 of a city like madrid...being new alone will not keep it there forever...
They have a nice space that they should set up for breakfast tables or simply a lounge worth considering...bed are very nice but I will add an extra layer (10cm ikea style layer) to improve the experience as on the hard side...
Another improvement is a better hotel pack when you get into the room, something that explains how to use the tv (you can change language to English if you press on sound in the remote). You can't be outside all the time and kids want to watch some movies sometimes...
What is seriously lacking is any foreign tv channels and the news...never been to a hotel without bbc or CNN or something similar. This is an absolute must have anywhere...for the rest, just use the change language facility I discovered the last day before we go. The pack is very nice but lacks basic practical information (where to eat, what is close, how do you go to airport, some details, discounts via hotel you don't even think ask for,...) doesn't have t replace the Internet but will be a very nice touch

Finally, an important point about airport. We took a 10 travel ticket from airport. You pay 3 euros supplement for getting to airport per person, some kind of tax (total was 12 euros for 10 tickets plus 3 euros sup per person. Keep this ticket for airport or you will pay supplement twice on return journey). My point is that you have to change 2-3 times and long long journey with luggage or kids. We regretted not taking the express bus that doesn't stop far from hotel and el prado.

Madrid is a great city and this hotel will remain a favourite if they address some basic things...I have been a bit hard in this review but I like shining diamant :-) enjoy your stay in this beautiful city

Room Tip: Terrace rooms all the way for families or space...balcony also good so nothing bad in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldorak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Golgorak72,

We are very greatful for your review, I am sure it will help us to improve the service, and finish a few details of the opening.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us, and I hope you will come next sumer to visit our next hotel In Madrid.
Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    319
    61
    17
    7
See reviews for
117
436
74
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

very nice and calm place.attractive rooms with cool colours.well manage this hotel.this is the best place to visit madrid city.heplful and fiendly staff.outside side the hotel street with lot of restuents and bars,this place value for money..thank you

Room Tip: balcony rooms nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyalferdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Joyalferdi,
Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants. We hope you can visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed at this small hotel for 3 days and it was quite pleasant. I like the stylish reception, free wifi, expresso and biscuits provided. the room was clean and spacious. both nights we walk to the nearby streets for a nice restaurant/bar and it felt like a safe neighbourhood even though it is quite lively.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Nanaginger,

Thank you very much for your comments, The Area is fantastic lively and plenty of good restaurants. We really apreciatte your review about the cleaning we work hardly to offer our best service to our clients.
We hope to see you soon in our Hotel One Shot 23, or in the next One Shot 04!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Newly decorated with stylish design, it has beautiful rooms in white and pristine wooden floors. The girls at the reception are very efficient and well organised.
Smooth check in. Parking for small cars available at € 29/24hrs. Breakfast not at the hotel, so not real selection, but the muffin I chose was just a delight! Within walking distance from anything and just steps from the stop of Madrid City tours main stop, Prado museum and Buen retiro park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgoletta1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Virgoletta 1975,

Thank you very much for your review, it iwas a pleasure for us having you at the Hotel. We are glad to know you had a nice time in Madrid.
Thank you again for the recomendations we really appreciate it.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in a balcony room at the One Shot and thoroughly enjoyed my 4 nights one week and 2 nights, three weeks later. The rooms are clean, airy and well decorated and the showers are great. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a pleasant part of the city in a short walking distance from the Plaza Santa Ana, a family orientated environment with great restaurants and bars to enjoy a Gin and Tonic. I felt very safe walking in the streets at night in the vicinity. The whole area has a great vibe. Once orientated all major attractions are within walking distance from the hotel. I was very happy with my choice of the One Shot Hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Helen D.

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. As you said the showers are special with the rainfall effect. Also the hotel location right in the middle of everything, makes things easier for our visitors.
Thank you again, and we hope to se you soon in our Hotel.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a short Holiday in Madrid, the one shot is a really nice and very clean hotel. Our room was light and airy, we had a terrace which was great for relaxing when back from dinner in the late evenings. The shower was fabulous. The staff very helpful too. We know Madrid quite well and would recommend this hotel and its great location near Plaza Santa Ana and the Paseo del Prado also only 20 minutes or so by taxi to the airport too! be warned though Madrid in August is VERY hot!...

Room Tip: Terrace rooms give you some private outside space to enjoy too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you review, we are happy to know you have a nice stay with us, and you found the terrace room nice and appropiate, we decided to furnished it just a few weeks ago, at the begining of the summer!
We will be happy to welcoming you again in One Shot 23 or in the next One Shot 04 Hotel.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Fl.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a great hotel close to just about everything you want to do in Madrid. El Prado museum is just a few blocks away and there are many wonderful restautrants within walking distance, including the oldest restaurant in the world 'Sobrino de Botin'. This hotel is just in a great location. The staff was really helpful and because it is not a large hotel, we felt like they really took care of our every need. The rooms are super modern and their shower is just the best! Fantastic!

Room Tip: I had an interior room and had no issues with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaMC, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear MSG 15,

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you had a good time with us. It has being a pleasure for us too.
We hope to see you soon in One Shot 23 or in the next Hotel One Shot 04.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#59 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#104 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel One Shot Prado 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Shot Prado 23

Property: Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Address: Calle Prado 23, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Shot Prado 23 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, culture, beauty and creation, are part of the day to day of the hotel, not with added elements, but firmly established in its identity and expressed along the distribution of its spaces, in the design of its environments or for its selected furniture. We are referring to a very unconventional hotel, full of positive atmosphere and always on the move, that will surprise you. The Hotel One Shot Prado 23 has 42 rooms. The interior design is a fascinating and personal interpretation of modernity, born from the interior design study of Las2Mercerdes. Every room is equipped with a 42" Ad Notam Mirror TV , Touch Panel ( Laptop to TV connection ), very special illumination, individual Heating system, Mini - Bar, Safe box and an astonishing rain-shower of 40 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel One Shot Prado 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing