We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating!”
Review of Madrid Segway

Madrid Segway
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.97*
and up
Madrid Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 105 Outdoor Activities in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Turning customers into friends": Come and enjoy with us the segway experience. We are a young leisure & tourism company. We can arrange for private and family tours. C Starting at 25€/60 minutes till the special tour of 150 mins including a paella tapa at San Miguel Market. Be welcomed.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What an experience!! No better way to explore Madrid.
We had a 15 minute tutorial and, although we all felt a bit wobbly and uncertain at first, the moment we were on our way, navigating the Segways became second nature.
Once we got past the pedestrians on the main streets and were let loose in the parks we asked to go to (the company were great at allowing us to choose where we wanted to go) we found that we were driving them at full speed with no hesitation.
Our guide, Frank, worked really hard on his English to explain the points of interest to us and was very flexible with what we did with our time.
Absolutely loved it and will look for Segways on any city break in the future.
If I could have one at home to ride to work on I would!! So easy and fun.
Thanks to the guys who ran the tours and for taking photos for us.

Thank rockworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013
Google Translation

Fue un placer guiaros por Madrid. Esperamos que vuestro viaje de vuelta fuera bien. Un placer conoceros!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 716 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I am not a big fan of traipsing around museums and galleries but I prefer to be outdoor exploring a city. So when I found I could see the city on a Segway, I was very keen to book.

I only had one day in Madrid but this company were able to offer me a personal tour at really short notice. My guide Fran was well informed with a combination of history and upto date politics thrown in! We went to the main places of intetedt including various lovely gardens & the river.

As the city is quite hilly, the Segway was perfect to whizz around around on - not dangerous going downhill but great fun going up - it can build up quite a speed! My guide thought we covered about 12kms which would have left me with very achy feet if we had walked it all.

I would highly recommend Madrid Segway!

Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por tu opinión. Nos alegramos que tu experiencia en Madrid fuera tan gratificante. Un fuerte saludo desde MadridSegway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a very brief holiday tacked onto the end of a business trip to Madrid during the week ending 18 January. Having spent the entire trip in and around two hotels along Paseo de la Castellana we liked Madrid, but were unaware of the range of sites to visit. We had taken a tour of the Bernabeu soccer stadium and also visited the Prado Museum and, while both were very impressive, neither would have tempted me to make a return visit.

On a whim I had booked a Segway tour, having really enjoyed another Segway tour we had taken in Chicago a few years ago.

Segways are fun and are a great way to travel around a big city. You cover a lot of ground and really get a feel for the city (much more than you would on a bus trip). The royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, the Crystal Palace at Retiro Park, and the Debod Temple were particular highlights. Unfortunately, we were unable to actually enter some of the sites, but they were very impressive from outside!

Dori was a very good, informative guide. She really enjoyed the fact that we were having fun on the Segways and Madrid has lots of places where you can enjoy them. Unfortunately, a lot of the footpaths around Gran Via and other streets are not that well suited to such machines and you really have to be on high alert (particularly as the locals have a habit of stepping out in front of you and then coming to an abrupt stop). However, you can't blame the tour guides for that!

My only advice would be to ask the company to ensure that they help people dismount (or ensure that people are comfortable with the technique for dismounting before starting the trip). Unfortunately, I ended up having a very heavy fall when another Segway crashed into mine. Thankfully I fell well and only suffered bruised ribs and some slight muscular damage. If I hadn't been able to control my fall, the outcome could have been worse.

However, if I get back to Madrid, I will be able to know great places to visit because I took this Segway tour. I'd recommend the trip to a friend (and it is a great workout for the calf muscles).

Thank Towser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por vuestra recomendación, muy agradecidos y nos alegramos que el pequeño incidente no fuera a más. Saludos desde Madrid!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Madrid from Barcelona for a football game and we had only 6 hours in town.
Choosing Madrid Segway was the best thing we have done.
Dori the tour guide was absolutely amazing and I can't speak enough good about her. She was waiting for us although we were late and made the tour very relaxing, fun and professional.
Don't even hesitate. You must experience Madrid with Madrid Segway.

1  Thank river w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias, somos la mejor alternativa posible para conocer Madrid de una manera rápida y relajada; nosotros somos los primeros que apostamos por nuestros guías. Fuerte saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an original sightseeing in Madrid. Descovering Madrid on a segway is absolutely fabulous! You feel free and it feels like flying. We had really a lot of fun! The team is really very kind, professional and helps us a lot to feel quickly comfortable with our segways ! We felt so good that we did it for the second time and we will do it again as soon as we will be back to Madrid. Most of all, it is really easy to reserve, we call the number on the website and we had our Tour planed! We really recommend this fabulous experience, where we can have a lot of fun in such a wonderful town! Thanks to madrid-segway.com Team!!!

2  Thank Domenico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are waiting for you! A pleasure sharing tour with you. Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrid Segway also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Madrid Segway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing