We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to see Madrid”
Review of Madrid Segway

Madrid Segway
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.80*
and up
Madrid Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 104 Outdoor Activities in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Turning customers into friends": Come and enjoy with us the segway experience. We are a young leisure & tourism company. We can arrange for private and family tours. C Starting at 25€/60 minutes till the special tour of 150 mins including a paella tapa at San Miguel Market. Be welcomed.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a very brief holiday tacked onto the end of a business trip to Madrid during the week ending 18 January. Having spent the entire trip in and around two hotels along Paseo de la Castellana we liked Madrid, but were unaware of the range of sites to visit. We had taken a tour of the Bernabeu soccer stadium and also visited the Prado Museum and, while both were very impressive, neither would have tempted me to make a return visit.

On a whim I had booked a Segway tour, having really enjoyed another Segway tour we had taken in Chicago a few years ago.

Segways are fun and are a great way to travel around a big city. You cover a lot of ground and really get a feel for the city (much more than you would on a bus trip). The royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, the Crystal Palace at Retiro Park, and the Debod Temple were particular highlights. Unfortunately, we were unable to actually enter some of the sites, but they were very impressive from outside!

Dori was a very good, informative guide. She really enjoyed the fact that we were having fun on the Segways and Madrid has lots of places where you can enjoy them. Unfortunately, a lot of the footpaths around Gran Via and other streets are not that well suited to such machines and you really have to be on high alert (particularly as the locals have a habit of stepping out in front of you and then coming to an abrupt stop). However, you can't blame the tour guides for that!

My only advice would be to ask the company to ensure that they help people dismount (or ensure that people are comfortable with the technique for dismounting before starting the trip). Unfortunately, I ended up having a very heavy fall when another Segway crashed into mine. Thankfully I fell well and only suffered bruised ribs and some slight muscular damage. If I hadn't been able to control my fall, the outcome could have been worse.

However, if I get back to Madrid, I will be able to know great places to visit because I took this Segway tour. I'd recommend the trip to a friend (and it is a great workout for the calf muscles).

Thank Towser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por vuestra recomendación, muy agradecidos y nos alegramos que el pequeño incidente no fuera a más. Saludos desde Madrid!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 716 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Madrid from Barcelona for a football game and we had only 6 hours in town.
Choosing Madrid Segway was the best thing we have done.
Dori the tour guide was absolutely amazing and I can't speak enough good about her. She was waiting for us although we were late and made the tour very relaxing, fun and professional.
Don't even hesitate. You must experience Madrid with Madrid Segway.

1  Thank river w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias, somos la mejor alternativa posible para conocer Madrid de una manera rápida y relajada; nosotros somos los primeros que apostamos por nuestros guías. Fuerte saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an original sightseeing in Madrid. Descovering Madrid on a segway is absolutely fabulous! You feel free and it feels like flying. We had really a lot of fun! The team is really very kind, professional and helps us a lot to feel quickly comfortable with our segways ! We felt so good that we did it for the second time and we will do it again as soon as we will be back to Madrid. Most of all, it is really easy to reserve, we call the number on the website and we had our Tour planed! We really recommend this fabulous experience, where we can have a lot of fun in such a wonderful town! Thanks to madrid-segway.com Team!!!

2  Thank Domenico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are waiting for you! A pleasure sharing tour with you. Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a really nice 2.5 hour trip in Madrid that enabled us to discover the city, and were lucky enough to to it under the sun and with the perfect temparature for december.
The Segways we had were excellent and our guide Dori a perfect ambassador for Madrid.

1  Thank Jean-Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks a lot for such a positive review!! Regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We took a 2.5 hours shopping tour, it was really exciting and helpful because it eliminates the walking effort plus the guide man (Fran) knows the street so it made our shopping very easy, we also went to retiro park which we thought it was really amazing. We might do it again one day!

1  Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadridSegwayTours, Gerente at Madrid Segway, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias!! Si, efectivamente, nuestro Shopping tour es lo más. Nos alegra que disfrutarais de nuestros servicios, esperamos veros de nuevo por Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrid Segway also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Madrid Segway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing