We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas”
Review of Taberna del Chato

Taberna del Chato
Ranked #63 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Huertas
Description: Nice tavern located on the most central and commercial zone of Madrid (walking distance to la Puerta del Sol and Plaza de Santa Ana). Ideal to make a stop along the way to taste its tapas or to have dinner sitting at one of its small rooms. Very varied menu of Spanish portions and bite-sized appetizers. Kind employees. Kitchen open to the public for directly dealing with the chef. Sangría. Cocktails.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Service was terrific, helpful and friendly. We were early for Spanish (8pm) and consequently were the only patrons at the time. Therefore it lacked a bit of atmosphere, not helped by bright lights. The waiter said it got busy around 10 pm. Otherwise fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    401
    108
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best find in madrid!!!!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We came across this fantastic little bar on our first night in madrid, its simply fantastic, the decor the tapas the service everything, its a cute little place, and in our 5 day there we called in at least once a day to either eat or just drink, the staff are friendly and want to make sure your happy but at the same time they leave you alone which i loved i hate being mithered, cant wait to go back and try even more tapas & drink more whilst listening to great music in such a lovley little bar!! Well worth a visit!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Henjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“very good quality for a quick stop tapa snack”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stopped into Chato because of other reviews.
The decor/lighting wasn't as cozy as I like, but the service and food did not disappoint.
We enjoyed the pate, the crispy shrimp and several other tapas as well. The crispy chicken with cornfalkes disappointed, as it seemed to have been fried and refried as the coating was too dark, dried and cold. The croquetas, on the other hand, were probably the best I had in my 3 day visit to Madird and I tried a lot!
The beer was good and my husband enjoyed his wine.
The owner or manager seemed to take pride in his work and our waiter was very sweet.
If you are in the area and looking for some snacks I'd give it a try.
The portions are tiny but the prices were very reasonable. We didn't stay for too long but we enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LLELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good service and simple tapas with modern twist but lacks atmosphere”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The other reviews are not wrong but do not expect too much. Tapas dishes simple and small. Pâté excellent, crispy chicken and prawn nests were slightly Asian and not special. Ambience not great - white walls, harsh lights and black stools. Minimalist but character killing. Service faultless and kind, genuine people. Good value compared to tourist restaurants nearby.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent and welcoming”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We've just had a wonderful meal at Taberna del Chato, we were looking for modern interesting tapas and we found it. The food was great and very reasonably priced. Everything was beautifully presented and very tasty, plus the waiter was super friendly and cute ;).

We liked the pigeon pate, the crispy chicken served lollipop style, grilled octopus, mixed seafood salad and lots more. This time we went a la carte but they have a menu of tapas plus one racion and a bottle of wine for 15 euro per person which looks like a great deal, perhaps we'll go for that next time.

They said they've been open seven months and I'm sure in a few more they'll be even better known. Highly recommended for excellent presentation, high quality ingredients and a warm friendly atmosphere, what more could you want?

I'll be posting some pictures on my blog
http://somuchmoretosee.blogspot.com.es/

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anthropology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna del Chato also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna del Chato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing