We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location.....but not a lot else!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Ranked #46 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Location.....but not a lot else!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If your trip to Madrid is for art and the galleries, then this is where you need to be. Fantastically located for the Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sophia, we found this establishment to be curiously charmless and ordinary. Our advance request for a front facing room was ignored (no explanation given), and we were found ourselves in a dark back room overlooking the high wall of an inner courtyard. Check-in took quite a while, as despite being well after 5.00pm, rooms did not appear to be ready. Facilities were adequate. The room was reasonably sized, the bathroom slightly better. Staff were competent, but lacking any real personality or commitment to customer service, and every approach to the front desk involved significant waiting time. We were so disappointed with this hotel. We would not use it again, and we did not think it worthy of its 4 star rating...or a good ambassador for the lovely city that is Madrid.

Room Tip: Try to avoid overlooking inner walls!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionnuala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    487
    141
    30
    14
See reviews for
210
582
94
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel wasn't listed in the guidebooks we consulted but it proved to be a wonderful place to stay in Madrid. Half a block from both the Prado and the Thyssen and steps away from the Tapas scene on Calle Jesus, yet much quieter and more civilized than the Puerta del Sol scene. Our room was excellent and overlooked the beautiful Neptune Fountain. Everything was clean and well maintained and the staff was professional. Beautiful public areas and a great little gym. All in all, much more than we expected and a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived after long flight from USA and needed a good rest. We got it. Hotel is located on a very busy, bustling square, but our room was quite and very comfortable. Service was very good. There was a misunderstanding about our extended stay next day. We had an overnight train to Lisbon and wanted to checkout later. When we booked the hotel, we were told that we can stay till 6 pm for the additional charge. During check in we were told that the hotel is full and we could not been accommodated. However, after short discussion the Management have accommodated us. Hotel is conveniently located to the museums we planned to attend. As always, Madrid is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mkaplun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall, the stay was adequate although the room was a bit pokey and could have benefited from a new lick of paint. The bathroom was not that great, in that the lovely large shower leaked badly so much so that it flowed under the door onto the bedroom carpet - this was due to a broken and missing seal around the shower door and slow draining drain. Also the shaving mirror was no where near the sink, but over the bidet.
The rest of the hotel was pleasant enough and the staff very helpful.
Location is also very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_UK125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room, although a little small, was clean and arranged very well. The hotel breakfast was very nice, prepared well and catered to a diverse ethnic group. The location within Madrid was great. We did not need a rental car and was within easy walking distance of restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Except for the views the hotel can be missed. But it is not expensive so one may decide in case you are looking for a vallue 4 star deal. My biggest grudge - when I tried to upgrade my room on email they asked for 20 euros plus tax per night. They said it is 10 plus vat on the day of arrival if available and you pay a premium to book in advance and was given an email to that effect.-fair enough- I said I will take a chance- when I reached there they asked for an upgrade and they said they have changed the rates and I have to pay 15 plus vat though they had given me an email saying 10 plus vat. It is only 5 extra per night but it is the principle.

Else well located not the freshest smelling and looking

Room Tip: top floor overlooking the neptune fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepakAhuja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was booked for us through a travel agency. We really enjoyed the location of the hotel: it made getting to Museo del Prado very easy! The staff was very kind and helpful, and the general atmosphere of the hotel was very nice. We liked our room quite a bit, although the bed was a little too hard for our taste (very firm bed). There were nice robes and slippers in our room bathroom, and the view outside was very nice. There is a Starbucks right on the corner, and the double decker tour bus boarding is right across the street. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 436 in Madrid
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#6 of 436 in Madrid
1,500 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Paseo del Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Paseo del Prado

Property: NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Address: Plaza Canovas del Castillo 4 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Gran Hotel Canarias)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Madrid
#31 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#73 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Paseo del Prado 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five-star hotel ideally located in the historical section of Madrid, NH Collection Paseo del Prado is strategically situated in the Golden Triangle of Art comprised of the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia museums, with easy access to many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Paseo del Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Paseo Del Prado Hotel Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid
Nh Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing