We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact & bijou”
Review of Hostal Tijcal II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Tijcal II
Ranked #354 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed July 21, 2014

On arriving here I was slightly skeptical that I had chosen correctly. However, as my stay here was to be short and most of the time I would be out and about it served it's purpose very well. The room that I had was very compact, to say the least , but it was comfortable and also surprisingly quiet given that the hostal is situated right in the middle of the bars and restaurants just off Sol. The staff on duty were always very pleasant too. So overall for the price of 74 euros for 2 nights it suited me very well. Also, they give you discounted prices at the restaurant just beside the hostal which served a good breakfast for under 3 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

I think this as a good choice for those on a budget: the location is
quite close to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Major and within walking distance of the major museums. The bed was comfortable and all rooms are en suite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Considering the price I paid, the hotel is OK. I must say that the rooms are quite small, and in the summer can be very hot considering that the air conditioner is additional. Is very close to the center, too bad there are prostitutes around the zone...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank renatoperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

For a hostel of this price we were very happy with our stay at Tijcal II in Madrid. The location was fabulous and the room was clean with everything you need. Take note that air conditioning is €6 extra per night - as you'll need to take this option in the summer! We needed to access the public car park and this was a 2min walk away from the hostel. Note, however, that the public parking rate is actually €31.50 per 24hrs, not the €29 as advertised on the Tijcal website.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brickandpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Exit the station Sol and 7 min walk to the hostel.
The hostel is on the 2nd floor where the reception, and rooms on the third floor. There are many, however, this is a hostel, but have their own bathroom, the room was clean, small, slightly larger than the bed, the bathroom is small, but it's warm and we slept fine. We had no noise, a window facing a wall of the building.
The room is immediately payable. it is a good price, we got a map and tips and we were able to see the city. Although it's getting close, my advice is to take the metro travel ticket for public transport,(abono turistoco) and you will be able to tour the whole city easier and faster. It is also important that the ticket goes to the airport and you do not have to buy a replacement ticket for the luggage, which is required for all other types subway tickets.
It is near everything, as in the city center. It's great for breakfast as part of the hostel there is a restaurant on the street where guests get a discount, and we have used it for breakfast, which was quite good.
In Madrid you will not go hungry and thirsty, because everywhere there are restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: all rooms are OK, we were on last room on floor, it is not noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very clean Hostal in the heart of Madrid. 2 minutes walk from Sol Metro station. Lots of Tapas Bars around the Hostal. Great security with locked doors etc. Don't be duped into making use of the 10% discount if you eat at "their" restaurant as the food quality is not very good. They pride themselves on authentic Argentinian Beef, but the toughest steak I ever ate!!!!. After dinner here, we went around the corner to a super Tapas Bar for authentic Spanish Tapas at very good prices
The room we had, looked out onto a Courtyard and someone's washing line (we had a good laugh at all the pegs that has fallen down onto the roof at our eyelevel)!!!.
Staff very friendly at Reception. Rooms rather small, aswell as the bathroom. Bathroom had shampoo and soap but no hairdryer.
Only negative thing is that the noise from the nightclub / restaurant/bar below was very loud (but it was a Saturday night)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rooms are tiny and lack natural air flow, but it's not all that bad considering the price and its situation in the best part of Madrid, close to many attractions and transportation. I don't really like the fact that they charge you for the use of the air conditioning -Madrid, as you can see if you arrive by airplane, is a bit of a desert, and can get awfully hot in the summer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peronacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 438 in Madrid
223 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#225 of 438 in Madrid
260 reviews
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#216 of 438 in Madrid
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Cruz Sol
Hostal Cruz Sol
#280 of 438 in Madrid
291 reviews
Centro
El Pasaje
El Pasaje
#324 of 438 in Madrid
200 reviews
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#389 of 438 in Madrid
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tijcal II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tijcal II

Address: Calle Cruz 26, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $50 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Tijcal II 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Tijcal 2 is located just 100 meters from the Puerta del Sol and 200 meters from the Plaza Mayor, in the center of the historic city center. 24-hour reception with a template that offers a personalized service in several languages, to facilitate your communication and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Tijcal II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijcal Ii Hostal Madrid Hotel Madrid
Tijcal Ii Hostal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing