We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lunch Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Anton Market

San Anton Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.26*
and up
Madrid Gourmet Experience: Guided Walking Tapas Tour
Ranked #55 of 748 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stopped in for lunch while we were walking about and enjoying Madrid. What a fun little lunch! Grab yourself a table and a Clara (Beer and Citrus Soda such as Sprite) and you can walk to the different stalls and order little tapas. We loved it so much we went back the next day for lunch. It was quick, reasonably priced and delicious. There's something for everyone they have a sushi stall, a Greek stall, a duck stall (yup everything duck), a seafood stall, an Italian stall, and of course the bar. Below is the actual market where fresh fish, meat, cheese are on beautiful display. There is even a little juice bar where they make fresh juices of your choice of fruit and a little crepe stand. Absolute must for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    505
    126
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roof top drink in Madrid.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Worth a trip to the roof top bar, to sit and relax with a drink from the bar. Market is relatively small compared to the main food market
Mercado San Miguel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank asc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gourmet heaven.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved the way the food was presented at the market in small speciality stalls. The meats were especially impressive. Went to rooftop bar and were planning to eat out side balmy evening but full of smokers! Couldn't escape stench whilst eating. Changed to table inside restaurant. Many of the dishes we selected were not available and no one really made an effort to assist us in English, just said no very time we selected something that wasn't available. Market worth the visit but don't bother with the restaurant there are so many fabulous places to eat in the immediate chucea neighbourhood.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank perthfamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Charming gourmet food market with a wide variety of fresh seafood, hams and cheeses, pastries, fruit and vegetables, presented with love and respect. A pleasure just to walk around. We also stopped in for a Greek meal and a bottle of Santorini wine on the second floor. Simple and delicious!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
319 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This market was near where we were staying (Chueca) so we explored it the first day in Madrid. It's a great spot to grab a quick bite to eat, all the various vendors offer little tapas that you can eat at the counter with a glass of wine. They've got everything too, butchers and Jamon shops, charcuterie, cheese, bakery, seafood, fresh fruits and vegetables, even some little arts and crafts. It also has a standard grocery store in the basement if you need packaged goods of any kind. They also have a fabulous heated terrace restaurant on the roof that specializes in all things porcine that is really tasty and good for a sit down dinner to people watch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank snoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Anton Market also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to San Anton Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing