We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great short stay at Artrip Hotel in late May We arrived around 10 am and were able to check in almost immediately. Sara greeted us when we arrived and was extremely friendly and helpful giving us recommendations in the area.

The hotel is very cute. Our room was clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. The location is great. We could walk to all major attractions.

We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear William P,
First of all thank you for this wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and liked the hotel and location.

I will share your comments with the entire staff, specially with Sara. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    254
    36
    2
    0
See reviews for
240
641
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We just returned from Madrid & Barcelona. We spent 3 nights in this charming boutique hotel. Staff was warm and welcoming and very knowledgeable. Rooms were immaculate and beds were comfortable. Very fast internet connection. Breakfasts were great. Artrip is well located - short walk to major sites (like Reine Sophia & the Prado), but on a quieter street without the crowds and congestion. Would stay there again in a minute.

Room Tip: Attic room is very cozy - tucked under the rafters - yet good use of the space. Small windows look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Melinda H,
Your compliments of the Artrip Hotel are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our staff, location and are very much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for your recommendations and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Enjoyed a fab couple of nights at this hotel during early April. We had a very warm welcome and being my birthday I was delighted to receive a complementary plate of 'cold cuts' and a bottle of wine - a great start. The room was clean, fresh and spacious. Breakfast was a sufficient continental buffet with quality products and great coffee .... that was available free of charge all day. WiFi worked fine.
We really liked the location, close to transport links and nice local restaurants and bars.

.... note to the management - the only comment we have is that the guest room doors tend to slam loudly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evaandmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Eva& Malcom,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you liked the rooms, wi-fi, our location near the Atocha Railway Station and our staff, that it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Thanks also for the point of the doors. We are checking the doors to avoid slam loudly.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,


Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We only stayed overnight, as the next day we took a train to Barcelona. But this turned out to be an excellent, excellent hotel. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Our thanks to both Sara and Jaime for making our short stay a wonderful one. The hotel itself is small, and easy to miss while looking for the entrance. But once inside we found our room to be modern, clean, and spacious. The bath and shower were a sheer joy to use. I like spacious, totally enclosed showers with plenty of hot water, and this fit the bill perfectly. The location was very convenient. Close to the Atocha train station, yet within easy walking distance of the major tourist attractions in the center of town. Despite our short stay, we were able to enjoy a bit of Madrid. We would love to visit Madrid again, and this hotel is where we would be staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuquilloRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear LuquilloR,
Thanks so much for your time to devote some words to our Hotel as this is a gift to us.
Thanks for your good comments again about our location, showers and our Team. But the big win is that you want to come back to us whenever you are in Madrid.

Best wishes and luck from the Artrip Hotel Team (Sara, Jaime, etc..) and hope to see you soon at Artrip Hotel.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

First time in Madrid hotel Artrip location superb staff excellent especially Dani on reception breakfast good value 5 euro each very clean room would not hesitate to come back again May 2014 the Bernabeu tour is well worth a look even if not a big football fan the bus service is very good to get around all in all a great few days break

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Stephan W,
Thank you so much for this good comment. We try to do as best as we can everyday, and when a guest noticed it , we are very happy.

Our location is pretty good near the "triangle of arts" close to our hotel and the main railway station Atocha.

We´d like to see you again in Madrid. From now this hotel is your home.

Best regards from Dani and the rest of the team,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington, ny
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean. Basic but very pretty with an amazing shower and the little balcony was a big plus. Perfect in many ways and down the block from the metro and waking distance to Plaza de Espana. However, I personally did not love it. I was traveling with my ten year old son (would probably be different if I was with my husband). The immediate area is just okay. It's not "bad" but in no way charming or nice and I did not feel entirely comfortable with the people hanging out by the subway station. The restaurants were not nice right there and I was happy when we moved on. In all fairness to the hotel, I just did not love Madrid to travel with my son. Segovia, Seville and Ronda were much more our speed. The hotel had two little chairs in the lobby but no one hung out there. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. It was just my least favorite part of our trip. The hotel was certainly worth the price and we took the metro everywhere.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Stacey327,
We welcome your positive comments about the good value of the Artrip Hotel.
Certainly we are located in the heart of Madrid, surrounded by good Restaurants, the Museums of the city, as Prado and the most emblematic monuments such as the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral and Plaza Mayor.

Our Staff will always help you to find what you need.

We´d be happy to welcome you back at the Hotel.

Thanks and regards.

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked this lovely hotel based on the reviews found in Tripadvisor and was pleased how accurate the reviews were. I was there for only a few nights in mid May, and wished I could have stayed longer. A very special, small hotel with lovely staff. Though some have mentioned that the area where the hotel is found is not very fancy, I loved the area and the location. An area where the people of Madrid live and work. Great streets around the hotel with a wonderful row of tapas bars a couple of short blocks away. Very easy walks to everything and I was able to see many specials sights, plus the famous ones like the Prado. I hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Barry M,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments, but also for your useful remarks about the area and neighborhood. I agree with you totally about the area, a bit bohemian but really safe and not touristic, but artistic.

We are very happy that you liked our location (near everything important in Madrid) and our staff, that it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best regards,


Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing