We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a less touristy area but still central, value for money, friendly and helpful staff!”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great hotel in a less touristy area but still central, value for money, friendly and helpful staff!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in Artrip Hotel in early September 2012 and had a great time! Situated in the diverse and ethnic area of Lavapies, it was a short walk from the Metro and surprisingly the only hotel in the area which made it easy to identify! The hotel is within walking distance from a Carrefour, small grocery stores, and eating places.The area around the hotel becomes lively in the evenings when restaurants and cafes open up. The owner of the hotel was extremely helpful and was always making sure that we were ok and advising us where to visit, eat etc. You could tell he was passionate about his job and passionate about Madrid. Wifi was free and there were no problems with the connection. Great air-conditioning too.The hotel was barely a few months old and the rooms were clean, stylish and with a white colour scheme. There was a tiny balcony outside our room, which was nice to just step out to and take a look at the area and street below. Beds were comfortable. We noticed that the blankets were quite thin but we were ok as the weather was nice and warm in early September. Both the toilet and the shower are located separately within the room - each separated with a frosted glass partition. After I checked out of the hotel, I realised I left something of value behind and was unsure if it would be gone forever. When I informed the owner, he was very patient with my questions and after some discussion, we managed to sort it out and I eventually got it back in good condition, at the hotel's expense. I was extremely grateful for their great service and being so helpful in helping me return my item! Would love to return here one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Stiletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    267
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
248
669
66
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great modern and brand new boutique hotel in Madrid, location is great because is close to Atocha train station, to the museum route (Reina Sofia, El Prado, Thyssen), the neighborhood is less touristic than the centre of the city (but even a 10 minutes walk) and you can find a lot of options of bars, restaurants and cafes, its a very diverse place and I loved that. The area is very secure is just busy but I never felt unsafe.
The place is beautiful, Miguel the owner, told us that he spent the last 3 years restyling this old building so you will find very simple but nice and cool design in the rooms, we had a very spacious room in the 3rd floor with a small balcony, bathroom is nice and the shower has a special design with the wooden floor that make it different.
Breakfast is really good, the coffee is really good and the best is the machine is available for use the rest of the day.
On top of all is the service and the staff, Miguel and the rest of team are really friendly always willing to help. I really recommend staying here, I would definitely do next time I visit Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaG0mez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has everything you need. It is in a good location and you can reach the centre of Madrid by 10 minutes walk. The hotel is located in a period style building with high ceilings. The rooms are stylish and meticulously clean. The breakfast is excellent.

The only thing I did not like was my pillow. But I guess is it not worth mentioning for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is situated in a multi cultural area in Madrid and is close to a metro. The hotel is clean, has wonderful staff who really treat you with a lot of kindness. The lady who helps with breakfast is a really funny lady which made breakfast extra fun. Breakfast is only 4 euro pppn and is ok, especially seeing as the spanish don't really eat breakfast.
Me and my friends had a room for three with 2 beds and one sofabed. The room was clean, the bed good and firm.
The shower had a regular and rain shower, but we didn't know how to operate the last one. The toilet was good as well. And everything was cleaned nicely
All in all, it was a really pleasant experience in this hotel and I can definately recommend it for people visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucchan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This well presented, modern, boutique Hotel is a stones throw away from centre of the city which gave us the chance to sample some of the less touristy bars and cafes. The hotel is very new, only been open a few months, and the owner, Miguel and all his staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Currently the hotel doesnt have an alcohol license but to be honest, with the hundreds of bars in the vacinity (some just 15 metres away) it gives the hotel a more homely feeling. Tea and coffee facilities are available in the lounge area. Our room was light and extremely clean. Our small balcony opened out above the busy, street below but with the balcony shut, it was remarkably quiet. Excellent air conditioning in both rooms, modern decoration and furniture and a funcky wooden floored shower room just shows how much hard work and effort Miguel and his team have put into this project.
I highly recommend a stay here because if you want style and class but extremely affordable then look no further.
P.s Miguels brother has a restaurant in town.........well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Its worth booking a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFrog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, perfectly located within walking distance of the three main museums and the Metro. Excellent. Tea/coffee-making facilities in the room would be a bonus. Don't know what it is about hotels that they have to have noisy-sounding doors so whatever time any of the other guests are leaving or arriving you hear a racket but it seems to be the same for all of them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandExpects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is just the place if you want a really lovely modernistic, artistic and spotless hotel about 10-15 min walk from the center, amongst real people not just tourists, with Metro on same block, little restaurants all around, wonderful helpful staff and inspired owner. Check out the paintings on the walls. Our room had little balcony overlooking street and that with the clean and serene decor made it a little retreat in a long day. Five euro breakfast was perfect! Nice to stop for quick tapa or beverage right on the street. In the early evening, as we are retired and may not always stay out so late, we hung out w/ many pensioners out together having fun checking in w/ each other. "Diverse" and lively area later at night. We liked that very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 435 in Madrid
441 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#10 of 435 in Madrid
350 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing