We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Posada de Huertas
Ranked #46 of 403 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you're just seeking for a no frills hostel in Madrid, this could be an option.

It's near to Aston Martin metro, quick check in, rooms are decent for sleeping, security is sufficient and they provide big lockers for your stuff. I can stuff my full 60 liter back pack in it.

It could do more with a faster elevator and more toilets. I didn't really see the kitchen as I just stayed for a night before my flight.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    197
    73
    21
    22
See reviews for
11
15
199
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was one of the most comfortable hostels I've stayed at throughout Europe. From the outside, it appears small and easy to miss, but once inside, the hostel is spacious, brightly-painted, and clean. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and offer free printing of guest boarding passes. There is free luggage storage, a kitchen available for guest use, and free wi-fi in the lobby (plus 4 computers for those without laptops.) Breakfast was basic but decent (corn flakes, white toast, strong coffee, orange juice, milk, and apples/oranges... I would have preferred something whole-grain, but whatever, it was free.) I didn't participate in any of the hostel activities, but it was nice that they offered something every day. Rooms and bathrooms (ours was en-suite) were always clean, and lockers were secure (requiring an electronic key instead of a padlock.) Each bed had a small, bright reading lamp and power outlet. And of course, the location cannot be beat (in the heart of El Barrio de las Letras, arguably Madrid's best neighborhood.) The only negative was that guests had to vacate rooms by 10:30am for cleaning (highly annoying for those wishing to sleep in.)

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This place is pretty nice. Good service, clean, free breakfast, stocked kitchen, close to everything. I would stay here again if I could not geta room at las musas hostel. Which is the sameprice with nicer facilities. Though lasmusas is an extra 4 blocks away from thecity center. Madrid is easy for walking though so not a big deal. Both are near metro, but las musasis closer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adanic48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Great hostel, the location is extraordinary, walking distance to metro station and also to museo del prado and other places such as plaza mayor. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I only spent one night but this hostel surely leave good impression for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This place was my first hostel and it was amazing. After the horror stories I'd gotten from friends about other hostels, I really wasn't expecting much. my friends and I got placed in an eight person room and ended up only having one other person in the room who joined us on our third night. Given, this was because we were traveling in the middle of the week, but it was still lovely. The sheets were clean and fresh, the bathrooms were immaculate, and they had lockers in the room that were personalized to these bracelets that acted as keys to the hostel, room, and lockers. There were four computers with free internet that were pretty accessible, a clean kitchen for common use, and the concierge was great. Breakfast was really just cornflakes, juice, milk and toast with jam, but that was fine with us. Location was amazing, right next to a metro stop and a quick walk to puerta del sol and the big museums on paese del prado. Couldn't recommend this place more!

Room Tip: Might be worth getting the single sex room, just a little bit more expensive but more likely to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This place had a really great location, close to grocery stores, a laundramat and lots of pubs/bars/clubs.
The rooms were pretty standard for a hostel, and the bathrooms were relatively clean. There was no area for getting naked and dressed again in the bathroom, so bring a large towel or bathrobe. And wifi was only available in the lobby.

A great thing about this hostel, whether you're alone or with friends is that they run activities for hostel patrons. There's a walking tour, although I didn't go, pub crawls (awesome fun), a discount flamenco show per week and a couple of sangria nights... and they're all great for meeting people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _sharon_abroad_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I chose this hostel based on location and that it seemed to be the only hostel in Madrid with availability. Location turned out to be great. Two minutes from the metro (Anton Martin), 10 minutes top to Plaza del Sol and 5 minutes more to Plaza Mayor. In the other direction, about 10 minutes to the Prado. You could walk to Atocha but the subway is also an easy ride. Beware however that that streets nearby are loud at night, so bring earplugs. On the other hand, there are tons of bars, restaurants and places to buy food nearby (the veg/vegan buffet a few blocks towards the Prado was a good find for when you're feeling tired of Spanish food).

The rooms were your typical hostel dorm rooms - just beds and lockers. However, each bed had its own light. Very handy and I wish more hostels offered that. I don't recall any night time noise. Decent bathrooms, never really a wait. I don't think the water got all that warm but that was fine. The only annoyance was that the showers were set up in a way that offered no privacy. Unless you got changed inside the stall, anyone walking by got an eyeful (though the bathrooms are at the end of the hallway).

Breakfast was toast, cornflakes, milk, oj, nutella and jam. Computer room/dining room had four computers, but two weren't really functional while I was there. And they seem to lock both areas at midnight. There is also no real lounge, just chairs by the reception area.

Didn't participate in any of the hostel's events, so can't comment on that. The front door staff ranged from slightly surly to ok to extremely helpful. The elderly gentleman who was there at night helped me find my camera which I had left in the computer room (the cleaning people who moved it to a high shelf), while the morning front desk person couldn't care less.

Overall, I was happy with my choice - location was great and I was quite happy with the price. This is probably one of the more no frills hostels in Madrid but that was fine by me. And while there was street noise, I was glad to be not right in Sol.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#26 of 403 in Madrid
817 reviews
Chueca
Hostel Era
Hostel Era
#213 of 403 in Madrid
109 reviews
Huertas
D'Hostel Madrid
D'Hostel Madrid
#99 of 403 in Madrid
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Barbieri Sol Hostel
Barbieri Sol Hostel
#92 of 403 in Madrid
109 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#12 of 403 in Madrid
760 reviews
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#9 of 403 in Madrid
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Huertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Huertas

Property: La Posada de Huertas
Address: Calle Huertas 21, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 403 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Huertas is in an ideal location in central Madrid, situated between the museums and the main shopping and nightlife district. Hostelworld guests have told us 'the location is fantastic; you can walk around to all the attractions if you want' and 'you can get to the heart of all nightlife in Sol in less than 10 minutes' from here. We like that the hostel has events happening nearly every day, with highly-praised entertaining and informative free walking tours and 'enough good common areas and activities to help you get to know Madrid' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your La Posada de Huertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing