We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #24 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband, daughter, and I had two recent visits to Hotel Urban. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and elegantly furnished. We rented a suite and a superior room. On our first visit, our rooms faced the interior of the hotel, and when we returned, both our rooms had street views. Although we preferred the natural light of the rooms with a street view, the interior-facing rooms were cozy and very quiet. The hotel is perfectly located and is within easy walking distance from most of the sights we were interested in seeing. It is also a short walk away from some wonderful restaurants. The front desk staff was very helpful in making dining recommendations as well as reservations. If we have the good luck to return to Madrid, Hotel Urban is definitely where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for spending your time in writing these kind comments about us.
We are very glad about knowing that you loved our location, facilities, and the serviced provided by our personal.
We hope to see you again in Madrid soon,
Kind regards.

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Too bad it was only for one night! My wife had already stayed longer and this was my first time staying there. The hotel is chic, modern, sophisticated and very well located. Just a few blocks from El Prado and walking distance to Plaza Mayor. I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad about your great stay with us. Our intention is always providing our guest the best experience possible.
Best regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I always try to book a hotel that is a "home from home" design wise. This hotel is absolutely beautiful! The design of the hotel is also amazing, centred around a indoor "courtyard". The hotel is very modern in design but is sumptuous also with the rooms kitted out with leather furniture and fur throws. We stayed in a junior suite which was very very nice, with the bathroom separated from the bedroom via a glass panel. Staff are super friendly and very helpful. The location of the hotel is very central also, within walking distance of the main squares and fountains etc. The rooftop terrace and pool area is one of the reasons that I booked the hotel. We were given a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival which was a bonus! The hotel is very chilled and relaxed. So is Madrid. The Ice bar on the ground floor is also gorgeous. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was delicious - would recommend scrambled eggs with bacon, but they cater for a variety of nationalities with pastries, fresh cuts of meat and cheese etc. The hotel is expensive but I feel worth every penny. I'm already looking to book another few days in Madrid next spring and will definitely be staying at the Urban Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positives comments posted in this website. We work hard for providing our guest a great experience, so we are very proud of knowing that your stay with us was so pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in Madrid,
Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The reservation we booked, via expedia, turned out to be exactly one week wrong. Urban said they couldn't help us. Hotels.com/Expedia also said they couldn't help us. Each one referred us to the other, multiple times... each time, however, with the reminder that it was a non-refundable booking. So, they still get our money. We don't have a reservation. We have to make a new reservation and pay them all twice. As you can imagine, we were NOT happy. After the third or fourth attempt, begging for help, Urban came through and said they could at least give us a new booking. Originally they said we'd have to change rooms twice during our five day stay, but then we got one room for the duration. They also said they couldn't refund us (because it was up to the "third party" to do that), but then, after we cancelled the original reservation, they refunded it to us. It was a huge relief and the front desk staff (David) and the reservation manager (Nuria) really made it happen. We're very grateful.
Aside from that, we just love the hotel. The funky bars, the well appointed rooms and it's fantastic location. Everything is walking distance! We can highly recommend it and we'll definitely be back the next time we're in Madrid.

Room Tip: We didn't visit the spa, or eat there, so cannot comment on that. The only advice for a quiet r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,
I regret to know that you had some problems with your booking. I would like you to know that the solution of your problem was checked with your travel agency and our central office in Barcelona because it was an exceptional problem and we are not allowed to refund any refundable rate.
Furthermore, I would like to thank you for your positives comments about our facilities and location.
We hope to welcoming you soon in Madrid,
Kind regards
Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent 3 nights there with a group of 7 friends.
Things did not start out well when we arrived as the rooms we had booked had only double beds, when we had specified that we wanted singles beds in the rooms. We waited 2 full hours for the hotel to get it straight.
Rooms were of very good quality, but extremely small. Not the most important though.
What really dispaointed me was the service. We spent quite some time at the hotel pool on the roof and ordered drinks and food regularly.
It took an average 15 minutes to get an espresso and 40 minutes to get a simple burger, whithout mentionning the fact every time we wanted to order, the waiter looked like we were asking for the world.
On the last day, just after checking out and paying the hotel over 5'000 euros, we went to have a lst drink on the roof. When the food and drinks came, we were asked to pay immediately and not in a nice way... What kind of service is that I don't know...
Overall it has quality rooms and is very well situated, but spend your money elswhere if not for the room, they apparently don't want it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your positives and negatives comments about us.

Our intention is always offering a great experience to our guest, and our personal is the key for getting it.
I regret to know that our service has not been as good as it should be. Please, take sure that all your comments will be analyzed by me and my colleagues in order to improve our service.
I hope to see you again in our hotel for welcoming you personally.
Best regards

Antonio Martín Ortega
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Urban matches fantastic location with superb rooms, service and amenities. Only negative was inconsistent mixology between the various bartenders. if or example the Hendricks GT was prepared differently by each bartender and only once as noted in the menu.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you are sensitive to street noise as it is unavoidable. Black out shades are fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve And-Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments posted in this website. We inform you that your negative comment will help us to improve the quality of our service.
If you come back to Madrid, please tell me so I would like to greet you personally.
Kind regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great position for exploring the city. From here we could walk almost everywhere. Even when we took a cab we realised nothing was too far and walked back.
The staff were very attentive and always trying to please. The rooms are a bit small, and ours on the side was a little dark. Saying that the rooms are very well appointed. Lovely roof terrace for late afternoon drinks (not cheap!). We ate in the restaurant on our last night. Fabulous food served with attentive staff. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We chose not to eat breakfast in the hotel but found some lovely coffee shops around the hotel. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, SZubdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,831 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $200 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing