We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Location and a very comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #24 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for a night in a suite. I can't fault this hotel in any aspect. Special mention to the staff, especially those on the front desk who were very helpful and welcoming. Noticing we were staying for my girlfriend's birthday, the manager on duty had a complimentary bottle of champagne and some choclate cake with a candle in it sent to our room. We were delighted by the generosity given we didn't really make a point of mention the reason for our stay and assume they spotted the date on her passport when checking in - that's the kind of hospitality that merits repeat business

Room Tip: Try the suite! It has a great spa bath inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

First I have to say the service and quality of the hotel was top notch. The room was well appointed and spacious. I stayed in a regular room not a duplex. Everything about the hotel was great and the staff deserve all the credit for that. From checkin, to maid service to the front door person all provided the level of attention and a true concern for your comfort while I was a guest.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars but there is one major problem and that is the internet service and quality of service. The hotel uses a service called Kubi and they provide free internet in 3 day intervals but the quality of speed and coverage is poor. In my room you would have coverage on one side of the room and then none on the other side. The speed was was slow at .24 mb if even that much. You could of course pay for better speed which would provide 1.5gb but again coverage in the room was spotty. As a high end business hotel I think this should be addressed and it would afford the hotel a 5 star rating from me.

Overall though it is a very good hotel and you could not find a better location for access to everything, not even the ritz or westin have a better location. Again my great and sincere thanks to all the staff for making my stay wonderful and I am sure other travelers will experience the same.

Room Tip: Honestly I felt the regular rooms were great. I looked at the duplex room and aside from having a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice rooftop bar above one of the hippest hotels in town. But on a Friday night at 1am the crowd was youngish but not painfully cool. Nobody needs to feel this isn't for them. If you want to enjoy a drink on a rooftop with some nice - if unspectacular - views over this part of the city, this is a good option. We had G&Ts - perfectly well done, to the sort of high standard you come to expect in Spain, but that leaves the rest of the world a long way behind! About 12 euros each - not cheap but obviously you pay for the location

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family of five stayed in a suite and adjoining room in July 2013. This ultra modern hotel is in a great location, walking distance from the Prado, the park, the palace, major plazas and restaurant areas. Unfortunately, we did not find the front desk staff (they serve as both the reception and the concierge staff) to be friendly or helpful. In general, the young staff and the hotel seemed just a little too hip for their own good. The rooms are very dark, decorated in black and they burned incense in the hallway outside our room. We picked this hotel because of its location and the fact that it had a pool, but the pool is so small it's a joke. At siesta the pool is full of 20-something men standing around and not at all fun for kids. I ordered ice to be sent up to the room so I could ice an injury, and they charged me 6 Euros. We regularly stay at luxurious hotels around the world and have never been charged for ice. I loved the location but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel on the second floor and could hear noise from the street all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Urban hotel

All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.

Regarding your comment on reception staff I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Urban again please contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards


Antonio Martin
Assiostant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in September 2013 and found it to be excellent in every way. Everything about this hotel feels comfortable and we were completely at ease as soon as we arrived. Staff very professional at all times and very welcoming. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAnglersRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hearing you had a fantastic stay and you would stay again Urban.

Thank you very much for your nice comments as it is always interesting for other travellers

We do hope to see you again next time you return to our city

kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love the Urban in Madrid!!!! Found it by doing a search- typed in Madrid, Hotel with pool & the Urban was 1st on the list- researched it & liked what we saw & booked it up & we were off for a nice long weekend in this FABULOUS city!!!! Check in was fast & easy, greeted with smiles all around & complimentary glasses of good champagne up on the rooftop patio. Hotel is very industrial looking- exposed steel beams, shiny stainless accents & gleaming glass panels lead your eyes up through the center atrium to reveal the sky. I loved their collection of statues and ancient artifacts from all around the world- something different at every turn & they softened the look. Check out the little Egyptian museum as well on the lowest level- its worth a look for sure. We were booked in a "loft suite" & once we were checked in they gave us the option to upgrade to a "suite"- we took a look @ it & it was a great room- fabulous jewel box like bathroom- but it was an interior room & on the 2nd floor- it seemed a bit dark to us- but it was a beautiful room. So we stuck with our room. Up to the 5th floor & right off the elevator & into our 2 story suite- Beautiful!!! Beautiful golds & brown colors. Great bathroom with a double marble slab sink, great shower with great water pressure & shower options, separate toilet/bidet as well. One thing though- the bathrooms door didnt close properly- so they may want to look @ the lock in room 534- a small criticism for sure. Room was decorated beautifully, dark, real wood floors that creaked (we liked that- felt like home) great queen sized bed with high quality linens, total black out curtains/blinds & out the window a view of the Spanish Congress that was right across the street. Flat screen TV on the lower level as well as a JBL Ipod dock to play your own tunes. Up stairs was a living area with leather sofa, large bureau, coffee table & wall mounted flat screen TV- skylights let in plenty of light & could be closed with a remote. Mini bar in the bureau was well stocked with the normal. There was a nice niche on the way up the stairs with an 11th century Buddha figurine that sort of became our friend & good luck charm. A very nice touch to spread the artifacts into the rooms as well. Stairs were steep- so if you have mobility issues- go for a 1 level room for sure. The room has MANY switches for lights, dimmers & blinds- we finally got used to them on our last day. A suggestion would be to include a little cheat sheet on how to use the buttons. It wasnt a big issue & we muddled through it.
We were fortunate to be up on the 5th floor right under the roof top bar & pool area- so we just took the stairs. What a great place to spend in the sun & cool off in their plunge pool. Nice, comfortable lounge chairs (there arent many- so stake your claim) ample towels & sun!!! They dont have umbrellas so choose your spot wisely or you will be in shade & then sun or visa versa. Pool isnt big & its not deep- it is though perfect for a dip to cool off. Great bar up on the roof & its the place to be on the weekends- the bar is open until 3AM Fridays & Saturdays. Swanky, hipster crowd enjoying the view over the city, Great music as well- Ahhhh Madrid!!!! We ordered lunch one day up in the sun & it was great albeit spendy- but we expected that- we didnt want to give up our lounges as people were ready to pounce if we left. Keep your eyes peeled for celebrities- we saw one & got a photo :)
We opted to have breakfast included & it was nice- you can do the continental buffet or get a hot breakfast made to order- we did both & they were fine- I did have some very nicely made scrambled eggs- just perfect. The fresh OJ is so delicious- service was good & friendly. Didnt get a chance to have dinner there as we were more interested in being out & about @ night in this food city that was just steps from the hotel.
Hotel is in a FANTASTIC area of Madrid, walking distance to Plaza del Sol (10 min max), the Prado museum (10 min max the other way) & the Thyssen (5 min same direction as the Prado) Plaza Mayor (15min max). The red hop/on hop off bus stop is @ Plaza del Sol or down the hill in front of the Prado- easily to catch & recommended- do both routes.
Hotel Urban is staffed with a professional, happy, helpful, young, hip staff that greeted us with smiles & sincere greetings. They were more than happy to help when I had dropped my wedding ring in the room, it rolled under the A/C unit & into a hole in the floor where the services go to who knows where...... A staff member came up to try to see it in there, took the whole thing apart & just couldnt see it down there. We went out for the day- kinda bummed about it being gone, came back & was told the maintenance guy would go take a look- so I took him to see & pointed to the hole- he gave me a look like- "uh, dude- its gone"- I knew he was right- he stuck his fingers down the hole & came up & said "is this it??" WOW- I couldnt believe my eyes & couldnt thank him enough!!!! Great way to end the trip- I thanked the maintenance guy with tears in my eyes, thanked our little Buddha & we were on our way home. They could have easily been like- "sorry for your loss, please fill out this form, buh-bye" but they were sincerely concerned & its concern like this that makes or breaks a hotel. We will be back to Madrid & we will stay @ the Urban.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room for better natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were originally booked at the Hotel Villa Real, a sister property, but the hotel had A/C problems so put us in the Urban. The staff could not have been more professional and helpful and as we checked in they even gave us a few rounds of complimentary champagne vouchers. The hotel itself is quite modern and slick. there's a great bar off the lobby as well as up on the rooftop. The rooftop also has a small pool, great for a refreshing dip after a day around town but not really a lot of room for sunbathing.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel, the location is perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Asasistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#14 of 437 in Madrid
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#39 of 437 in Madrid
1,805 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $205 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing