We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday Weekend”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #18 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is perfectly positioned for all the sites. The staff were very very helpful, service was excellent and really could not fault the trip. We got upgraded to a suite which was a bonus. roof terrace is great for a little sun catching and in the evening is great for a cocktail on terrace.The breakfast is a little pricey would be my only critical comment. Well done the Urban and if I go back to Madrid I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    511
    135
    47
    16
See reviews for
210
991
92
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I booked this hotel for my boss's hen weekend in Madrid and 6 other people who I did not know so I was really apprehensive on arrival as I was praying I had booked a nice hotel having had these people put their faith in my judgement..I had never visited Madrid before but wow this hotel is a little gem in the heart of Madrid.I came up trumps!!..the service was excellent from the front desk to the waitresses and the food was great (BB), Rooms are very modern and comfortable, were spotless and had everything you need. The decor is stunning. There is a rooftop pool which we used and boy was it hot up there. Luckily we were the only ones using the pool during our stay so it was great fun. Hotel is centrally located for a visit to Madrid and I would definitely book here is I visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I can't say enough about the hotel Urban. The sleek modern lines of the hotel's exterior are impressive, but once you enter you will be equally impressed with the eye popping atrium with its exterior elevators gliding swiftly from one floor to the other. The rooms were ultra modern and super clean. Its location on Carrera de San Jeronomo is excellent, The Prado and Puerto de Sol are only blocks away. The Royal Palace is about a 20 minute walk away but easily do-able. The roof top pool/bar area is super funky and opened until the late hours of the evening (keep in mind the prices are a little much, and it was almost impossible to find a deck chair). The hotel front desk staff were suburb, I was especially impressed with, "Virginia," who took care of many, many needs and always greeted me with a smile. Would I stay here again? In a heart beat. My only complaint, I visited Madrid in August and the heat was stifling. You practically melted walking from one location to the next. Air conditioning in Spain is a rarity, but thank God the Hotel Urban had air conditioning to spare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights on our first trip to Madrid. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent surroundings. Funky decor. Excellent roof terrace, and small but welcome pool, although tough to find a seat or lounger. We had a duplex room which was very nice, just a few minor issues with maintenance like the bathroom door not closing, a broken socket cover, broken electric veluxes, and some wear and tear areas. Very good central location an lots of restaurants, cafes and sights all within easy walking distance. Good aircon too which was needed in the August heat! Overall we would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank GazLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at Urban and recommend the hotel. We do really appreciate.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have traveled extensively in US, Europe and SE Asia; Hotel Urban in Madrid was an outstanding choice and a great value for the money. You never know what you'll experience when you book online, but the people at Hotel Urban--from doorman to bartender to front desk were absolutely excellent: friendly, helpful, accommodating from our first through our final Ola! Exactly what you want when you've traveled far and are visiting the country/city for the first time. The hotel itself is centrally located and an easy walk to the Prado, Royal Palace and wonderful neighborhoods/plazas. The morning breakfast was terrific, as were the hotel bars and room decor. The only negative, and not even important in lieu of this hotel's outstanding service, is that our room had a few very minor maintenance issues (closet doors not closing properly, etc. Maybe just needs a little tender loving care?). We would highly recommend this little gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebo151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel. Small enough to be called boutique and big enough to have all the facilities you may need. The location is perfect in the heart of Madrid, rooms are very comfort and clean and service is welcoming.

Room Tip: Try than suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ophir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Spain which included a 3 night stay in Madrid. We had originally booked our accommodation there at Villa Real. We arrived to be greeted by the manager telling us the hotel was going to start renovations that would disrupt our stay. They had made alternate arrangements at another Derby Hotel around the corner, the Hotel Urban. Although we found it strange we were not notified in advance we did not have a problem with the change after being assured that the Hotel Urban was a step up from the Villa Real (hence the renovation) and most importantly located right around the corner in the same area we wanted to be in. It is located within walking distance to the Prado, the Royal Palace and a number of Madrid's beautiful gardens and Calle Serrano, an amazing shopping street. We could not have been more satisfied - From the moment of check-in to our departure we were taken very good care of. The hospitality and advice of the concierge desk, the waiters, bar tenders, pool attendants, doormen and housekeeping were without fault. The restaurants and Flamenco evening recommendations were fantastic. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and modern. The rooftop pool is tiny and on the cold side but good for a quick refreshing dip and a poolside drink after a day of hot August walking in the city!
The incredible art and statuary collection even stretches to the guest rooms - a very nice touch. Best of all if you like the pictures on the website it is exactly what you get - not always the case with a few places we have unfortunately booked in the past!
A stay at the Hotel Urban will make your stay in Madrid a very enjoyable one. A special thanks to Concierge Patricia who made our stay in Madrid a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We choose a junior suite - very nicely appointed and spacious. Turn down service included chocolates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
964 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 435 in Madrid
1,728 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing