We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and mileu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #18 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and mileu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived in Madrid after a lovely 5 day stay at a Derby Hotel in Barcelona. The Urban 5 in Madrid is situated in a very vibrant cultural, political and trendy hot bed and the area beams with excitement much of the day. The facility is extraordinary, just remarkable actually. It is a museum and art gallery and cultural haven in of itself. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable. A bit smaller than the one we stayed at in Barcelona, but very nice. The help was good, not great. We had a couple of hosts which were good, some others seemed disinterested and often aloof. Overall I feel the experience was very good and would definitely recommend the hotel, but suggest the parties staying there not expect much from the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    497
    134
    45
    16
See reviews for
200
961
91
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is exemplary of the new wave of hotels that have opened in the past decade, that are affordable, hip and trendy. I booked a standard room, which was well equipped and comfortable in terms of size. The location is what truly makes this hotel, because it truly is at the heart of everything you will want to see during your stay. The people at the front desk and the concierge truly did everything to accommodate any request and gave wonderful recommendations on where to go. Plus, they all spoke and understood english, which may sound trivial however you'd be surprised how many people in Spain speak the bare minimum.
The greatest setback at this hotel would have been the noise. Although the glass, hollow interior of the hotel is stunning, giving it a very cutting edge, industrial look it has the big setback that it helps noise travel. Being a trendy hotel the bar is very busy, particularly on weekends and being on the fist floor, I stayed up all night. If you do decided to stay ask for a room higher up and away from the elevators to avoid noise.

Understandably, most people that visit come to sight see, however, I got sick during my stay, and, forced to stay inside, realized that the only t.v channels in english were BBC and other news channels, which I clearly wasnt interested in watching all day. To be fair, the concierge was kind enough to try and offer to locate a dvd player for me and have someone install it in my room, but it seemed more of a hassle. The room service was also sub par.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathyldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Mafrtin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is located in the centre, next to the shopping area and a big park. My room was on the street side, no possible to open the window due to the noise. Apart from that, all was good. They even give a free welcome drink at there lovely hotel bar :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanFeiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Drear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This review is late - I stayed here last year around this time of year. I am heading back and thought it would be remiss of me not to include a review. In the midst of historic Madrid is this fantastic and modern hotel with Asian art motifs all over. The overall effect is very sleek. I stayed in the top floor rooms where you get an "upstairs" and was very pleased. The hotel is walking distance to everything you would want to see in Madrid and great eating all over. The bar is also a very hip and happening scene. Staff are courteous to a fault and went out of their way to accommodate us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kool bar, reception, doormen, breakfast, roof pool, überfashionable rooms with lovely baths makes this Madrid destination a treat. Generous and international staff, supreme central location and nice junior suites at low rate makes this a bargain.

Room Tip: Contemporary Luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klodrik190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked in here for an extra night at the end of a business trip after having had a drink in the very cool hotel bar. This hotel has all the ingredients for a 5 star hotel but manages to miss the mark in too many areas. The interior design is excellent and the public areas are adorned with excellent artwork and are well kept. The rooms however fail to meet the 5 star standard. The low lighting reflects the hotel theme but masks worn out fixtures and fittings. Stained floor, holes in curtain etc My room was very small but I did see into other bigger rooms. I guess there are different rates but check - this was too small if I'd had my wife with me. All extras are exorbitant - internet especially bad as the free service is useless. Breakfast is 5 star price but really not worth 50+ for two. I little bit of a refurb and a rethink on the extra touches would make this one of the top 10 hotels in Madrid, great location and great architecture - just not a great hotel...

Room Tip: Splash out on a suite - 2 level New York style loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Urban hotel.

All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.

Regarding your comment. I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Urban again. Please give me the opportunity to invite you to try our fantastic and healthy breakfast, I am sure your opinion will change.

I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We could not have asked for a better experience. We fell in love with Madrid and with this hotel. Hotel is central and very cool. The staff are incredible and the room was fantastic. We would go back again tomorrow and I will recommend it as the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carroll_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assintant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing